We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Averaged hotel. Good for one night stay while traveling” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Averaged hotel. Good for one night stay while traveling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Hotel staff was amazingly helpful and cheerful. Hotel room was average however it was disappointing to discover that our room did not include a fridge or microwave. Also the wifi was shaky and the television (which looked to be new) was snowy. Comfy bed. Did not use the pool but the hottub room was very enjoyable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding your stay. But thank you for your kind words for our staff. We will use your comments to help our operations in the future. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    80
    67
    51
    45
See reviews for
133
58
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We booked at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn because of a great deal on the price of their rooms. We found that it only applied to rooms with 2 double beds; other bed configurations were more expensive. It was quite a good value!
The room was comfortable and fairly quiet. We would have enjoyed a small refrigerator and a comfortable chair in the room. The furniture was cabin style wooden furniture, no cushions on the chairs.
The breakfast was quite ample, with waffles, a variety of bread items, cereal, juice and coffee. If you like gourmet coffee, check out the gas station right next door for Caribou Coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms facing I35 would be noisier. Some rooms facing I35 have small balconies, which would have a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is the best American Best Value hotel we have ever stayed at. It is similar to a Marriott Fairfield Hotel at a lot lower price. The breakfast is almost as good -- no yogurt and seating is limited. Be aware there is no elevator and several steps to clime.

Room Tip: We were on the side away from the highway and it was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Its a beat up motel, I can not believe I paid $200 a night for a Friday/Saturday night when the regular rate is $69. Such a rip off. Old tacky room, window AC unit couldn't cool the room. Staff was ornery. Breakfast was a waffle maker, Fruit Loops and bagels. Not what we expected for that kind of money.

Room Tip: here's a tip, stay somewhere else if you have to spend that kind of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding your stay. We will use your comments to help our operations in the future. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We arrived at midnight and had to leave early in the morning for a game. Would have liked to have gotten a late check out to come back and shower but didn't want to have to pay for the late check out. Regular check out time was 10 or 10:30 am, this is a bit early. The bed had some kind of plastic covering on the mattress and every time I moved I heard it. Also I would like to note that I can see how easy it is for the hotel to charge for the use of the safe even if you don't use it. The safe was in a very inconvenient place and was annoying to have to be careful walking by it or you could easily have kicked the door closed. Then you get charged. It easily could be placed in the closet space vs the chair they had sitting there. The customer service was largely lacking. I didn't feel welcome at all. Also the parking was terrible. Had to park a ways away and walk- around midnight it wasn't the best feeling. In closing I would probably stay again if I get the room cheap enough.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding your stay. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Canada, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at the Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn- America's Best Value for my sister's wedding. Hotels in the area were full, including this hotel. Upon arrival, we inquired about possible early check in. The front desk staff seemed annoyed at the request and informed us that they were short staffed and running behind. When we did check in, the room was minimal. No bath tub, dated decor, and there is a slight odor to the entire hotel. We received the room next to a relative who had also stayed the night prior. The relative informed us that our room was being cleaned when they left for breakfast early in the day,several hours before our request for early check in was denied.

The front desk staff were generally rude throughout the weekend, especially the woman who checked us in. Staff scoffed at requests for towels and were clearly annoyed at our request to purchase a pizza (which is sold by the hotel). Some staff openly complained to one another about guests while behind the front desk, stating "they all want early check in, if they want early check in, they should stay somewhere else".

The breakfast area is extremely cramped and could not accommodate even a fraction of the guests in the hotel. We waited in lines to make toast or waffles and had to climb over chairs to claim seating and table space.

The rooms offer a safe, the hotel will charge you if you lock it, but remove the charge if you notice it on your invoice and request that it be removed.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel because the customer service is horrible. Kindness and a customer centered approach would go a long way for this place.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding your stay. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.