We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Save Saved
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Farmington, Minnesota
1 review
“OK Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

In Duluth for a youth soccer tournament.
Pros: Very friendly staff. Clean. Good location. Very comfortable beds.
Cons: Loud. Terrible WIFI connection had to call down to front desk very often to reset. No shampoo or toothpaste in room. No TV channel listing in room. Rate of $150 per night was not worth what we got.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding the wi-fi connectivity. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    73
    59
    46
    39
See reviews for
122
51
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

No lobby! Breakfast had no eggs, pancakes and no room to sit for a hotel of that size. Felt like cattle trying to get breakfast. Wi- Fi was unstable and wasn't worth using. Hot tub was cold and no place to sit by pool! Bathroom was tiny! Very loud with kids running up and down the halls! First and last time that place will see my credit card!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding your stay including the noise and breakfast area. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The staff at the Duluth Spirit Mountain in were GREAT! The place was booked solid for a local marathon and a kids' softball tournament, yet the staff did everything we asked of them to accommodate our needs. The hotel itself isn't a 5 star joint. The walls are a little thin so the loud 9 and 10 year olds running around made a little more noise than I was hoping for the night before a marathon. But nothing we couldn't deal with. The room came with a fridge and microwave, which were serviceable. Beds were comfortable. The pool and hot tub were in different rooms, which was a bit odd. Both were clean. Their main business is the winter ski season and it showed a bit. All in all, it was an OK place. I'm giving the value a low score only because we had to pay so much above normal price because of the marathon weekend - everything in town is booked, which raises the prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding the noise during your stay. And thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple grove
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a swim meet. The kids slept horrible. The floors above them squeaked from the people above them all night. You can hear everything! The toilet lid closing in the room next to you.. Talking.. Tvs.. The housekeeping staff deciding to clean and run the vaccum very early. Not pleased and we wouldnt stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding the noise during your stay. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Towels are thin and scratchy. wall are thin you can hear others walking on top of you. you are charged for safe even if you do not use it. you have to look over your bill to make sure they don't charge you for the safe. I would not stay there again. door to my room screech. they sprayed something on the door, the next day it was screeching again. the AAA rating should be taken down. one side of the bed didnot have springs

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Traveling from Iowa, we didn't have time to go all the way up the North Shore for the Memorial Day Weekend. So, decided that we would go just as far as Duluth and explore the city that we usually by-pass. The motel was just before coming into Duluth and we had a distant view of Lake Superior. Check-in and out were fast, the breakfast was good (even waffles) and we had a couch, fridge and microwave in our room. The carpeting was a little worn, but everything was very neat and clean throughout the motel. I did have an issue with the towels, which were thin and very scratchy. Otherwise, a good value for the inexpensive price. Easy on-off access to I-35. You even get coupons for discounts on gasoline.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sliding doors to private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.