We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean, but.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Save Saved
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Isanti, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Clean, but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were travelling with a group/team highschool event. The hotel was "chosen" for the group. It was very clean, staff was courteous, continental breakfast was very good. House keeping came through and cleaned everyday - I love having that service without asking.
Check out took about 20 minutes, because the 1 person at the desk did not know how to help a guest in front of the line, and had to call someone for help. There was a line of 10 of us waiting at 7am - competeion was about to begin!
The only major downfall to this hotel is there is no elevator and lots of steps. Being on the side of a "mountain" you go down about 30 steps to go into 2nd floor and check in - our groups rooms were on 3rd floor so then up steps. And the pool and party room on 1st floor ...... So not handicapp accessible by any means. But if you don't mind steps. I would recommend staying here, well worth the cost.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    72
    52
    42
    34
See reviews for
113
49
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Hotel and staff are great with students. I brought 19 this time and we all had a great trip. Great meeting room for visiting in the evening. pool and hot tub are clean and great for the kids. Breakfast was awesome with a wide variety of foods for all to enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We usually stay in the Canal Park area but everything was booked so we found availability at this hotel (and I can see why). Rates are listed from $69 but we were charged $116 per night. We asked for a cot and they charge $13 and it's a blow-up mattress (seriously a blow up mattress?) We asked if we could get a late checkout which almost every hotel I stay at allows and were told we could get a late checkout but there is a $10 charge for an hour and $35 for 2.5 hours. When we checked out, we noticed a charge on our receipt for a safe rental. It was only a few dollars but we were already a bit upset. We questioned the charge and were told they charge everyone and you are expected to ask them to remove it....fine, but maybe put a sign up or something. The room was ok but pillows and mattresses were pretty bad. I would put the value of the room around $50, definitely not $116.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel due to price and location. Upon arrival we were pleased with the look of the room and cleanliness. It was when we tried to go to bed that the issues began. I know I am different than many people in that I actually like the firmness of most hotel beds; however, I would be the first to say that sleeping on concrete is not my thing. The pillows were not much better either. My son wanted a snack and went to the vending machine. He came right back with nothing when he saw a candy bar cost $2! The candy bars at the mall of America were were 75 cents cheaper! Yes there was a terrible snow storm when we were there, but they were really not proactive about clearing their parking lot. Many of the people staying there were quite upset and one car driving up the driveway in front of us slid most of the way down backwards. Thankfully we waited for them to get up first. There was an easier side entrance, but that way was not plowed at all. Also the stone area around the hot tub is very painful to walk on. The sauna did feel good though after being out in the cold and the kids loved it after snowboarding. We stayed a total of three nights and I was glad to get back in my own bed. During our stay the maid service continued to get worse each day. It got bad enough that our daughter even commented on the poor job they did. They did not touch the kids bed at all. I'm not sure if it was due to my children having an extra blanket of their own and stuffed animal on the bed. This has never been an issue before at other hotels though. Their comforters are sewn to fit the corners of the bed and they didn't even put ours on strait. They do a quick vacum job around the furniture and leave anything that might be under the chair by the table. This hotel will give you what they need to get by, but does not seem to care to take an extra step to satisfy their guests. It is probably worth paying a few extra bucks to stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Really enjoyed the visit. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful as was most of the staff encountered. Trip was strictly R&R and met my needs plus an upgrade to a jacuzzi tub. No families so no noise on this trip, a huge plus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Like all wood frame hotels, you hear people walking the floor above you until everyone goes to sleep. Located just a few miles from downtown Duluth for a quieter newer facility makes it well worth the drive. There is a rail track behind the building so, you may hear the rumble of the engines as they pass but no whistles as you hear nearer to Duluth. I would definitely return again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ifalls
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is the 2nd time I've had to stay at this hotel for work/sports, and this last time was the last straw. Firstly, whoever owns this place is as selfish as they come. You cannot cancel a reservation for a month in advance, even if you are diagnosed with CANCER and have surgery ,(they require a doctor's note)---never in all my 25 years of travel, have I heard of such a thing. Secondly, the location is ridiculous, on a hill, no parking at all; we all tripped and fell trying to go up and down the slipper stairs and hill loading things in and out. Joke! :(

Thirdly---FALSE ADVERTISEMENT> They claim to have WiFi, but 2X staying I've not had WiFi. After calling each time, the front desk manager has said the same exact thing over and over: "Oh sorry maam we must need to re-set our router from the overload of guests". The first time I was there, we were the only guests in the whole place. All of our teammates staying there were having trouble with WiFi, and I had work to do.:( It never did work all weekend. Their excuses went on and on, truth is, they don't have it!!

Lastly: Yest as other reviews, dirty rooms, loud, no lobby, and breakfast was a joke. Nobody there to refill a FULL hotel of people trying to eat in a 10x10 space, so sad for the price: Pay the extra $20 and stay across the highway at the Country Inn & Suites or anywhere else but here. You are NOT the customer here, they are.

Th

Room Tip: You are NOT the customer here; they are and demand YOUR service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.