We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are NOT the customer here...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Ifalls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You are NOT the customer here...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is the 2nd time I've had to stay at this hotel for work/sports, and this last time was the last straw. Firstly, whoever owns this place is as selfish as they come. You cannot cancel a reservation for a month in advance, even if you are diagnosed with CANCER and have surgery ,(they require a doctor's note)---never in all my 25 years of travel, have I heard of such a thing. Secondly, the location is ridiculous, on a hill, no parking at all; we all tripped and fell trying to go up and down the slipper stairs and hill loading things in and out. Joke! :(

Thirdly---FALSE ADVERTISEMENT> They claim to have WiFi, but 2X staying I've not had WiFi. After calling each time, the front desk manager has said the same exact thing over and over: "Oh sorry maam we must need to re-set our router from the overload of guests". The first time I was there, we were the only guests in the whole place. All of our teammates staying there were having trouble with WiFi, and I had work to do.:( It never did work all weekend. Their excuses went on and on, truth is, they don't have it!!

Lastly: Yest as other reviews, dirty rooms, loud, no lobby, and breakfast was a joke. Nobody there to refill a FULL hotel of people trying to eat in a 10x10 space, so sad for the price: Pay the extra $20 and stay across the highway at the Country Inn & Suites or anywhere else but here. You are NOT the customer here, they are.

Th

Room Tip: You are NOT the customer here; they are and demand YOUR service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    87
    77
    52
    53
See reviews for
146
65
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Embarrass, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have found this to be a comfortable place to stay, as it is very close to medical facilities in downtown Duluth. It is conveniently located by a gas-convenience store, and right off I-35. Our room was spacious and very clean, and the complementary breakfast was sufficient for our needs. The staff was friendly and helpful with all of our needs.
The evening we checked in there was also a group of teenager (skiers) checking in, and we were doubtful our stay would be as peaceful as our first night's stay, but we were pleasantly surprised. There was absolutely no noise in the hallway, or banging of doors. Our reservation was for a non smoking room, and contrary to some of our hotel lodging experiences, there was not a trace of cigarette smoke in our room or in the hallway. We certainly plan on using this hotel for all of our lodging needs while visiting Duluth, in fact, we have already made a reservation for our next Duluth trip to assure availability!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This place is a DUMP! Extremely dirty, hair in the room, hair on the bathroom floor. We even found hair in the sheets that were suppose to be clean. I would akin this to a cheap motel that is way over priced. We were surrounded by noisy obnoxious drunk guests - we literally couldn't fall asleep until 11PM because of the noise. Our kids were exhausted the next day. This hotel literally ruined our weekend. If you try to complain the GM and staff will put the blame right back on you. What a joke.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel is a great value close to Spirit Mountain. Our room was clean, the complimentary breakfast was fine and the staff was great! They were helpful in recommending restaurants and made every effort to be personable and friendly. They were especially understanding in helping us to reschedule a reservation due to a weather/event conflict. We will continue to make this our go to hotel in Duluth.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have stayed here on more than one occasion. It is our new go to location for Duluth. The breakfast was very good and the rooms are very homey and comfortable. It is a convenient location right off the 35. However the toilet in the room was not clean and there carpet in the room was dirty. The sheets on the bed were too small and we woke up in the morning sleeping on a bare mattress. Overall we do really enjoy this hotel and I would reccomend it regardless of these inconviences.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We came back to the hotel about 10:30 after shopping and having fun. We could not find a parking spot because trucks and trailers were taking up the closer spots, we had to park way away from the hotel in the dark because the street light kept going on and off plus some street lights did not come on at all. We could not get on the wifi, the steps were steep and slippery, one of the doors was broken so it was hard to get the luggage through the door, the room was bad and needs to be updated. I did check in at about 5:00 to the room and went back out, the one that checked us in was nice. I went to the front when we got back at 10:30 to complain about the parking and the first thing that she asked if I have four wheel drive and I don't. When I told him the other issues and that I would like a discount and he said that we can't do that but we can credit your account and you can go somewhere else at 11:00 at night, he says that other hotels will have rooms but it was a busy weekend. I found a room across the street and I saved 1.35. I will say if you want to stay at Bates motel stay here but if you want to get treated well go across the street to Best Western Plus.

Room Tip: Duluth has better places to stay but not here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msp
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Don't bother getting a poolside room, waste of money. Door is 4ft from small pool area and hot tube not on same side of hotel. Breakfast is ok if you like your waffles in scraped off chunks because the worker won't give up the spray bottle so every other waffle has to be scraped off. When asked if she could leave the spray she ran away with it and said " I wish I could". They discouraged using your own cups for juice and drinks also. Needless to say breakfast took a long time and was probably under surveillance cameras. Had a nice hang out area (meeting room) but lots if rules.
Definitely only a place to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
6.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#5 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.