We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doubtful to Return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Doubtful to Return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I am a Value Club member with the America Best Value Inn motel chain. With that, you are supposed to get 15% off room rate, free room upgrade if one is available, plus later check-out time. I reserved online, with member number, and got a confirmation email, with discounted price. Upon checking in on Friday, I was informed by service desk employee that Club rewards aren't valid on weekends, and I would be paying full price and no upgrade. After some discussion, employee agreed to price I was emailed in the confirmation.

Walls and ceilings on rooms are THIN, and you can hear everything! Both nights, I called front desk to complain about noise levels of a group that the motel had put my wife and I in the center of. This was well after quiet time. Quiet times simply aren't enforced.

To conclude, this was the worst hotel stay I've ever had in my life. Proximity to Spirit Mountain is great, but not even close to worth the trouble.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    83
    68
    51
    45
See reviews for
135
59
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The property was GREAT and we truly enjoyed it. It has everything under one roof. Breakfast, a pool, a sauna and a hot tub and they are all wonderful! My only suggestion would be to keep the hot tub area opened a little later as we are night people and since its in a private area, it could be enjoyed by responsible people without disturbing others, It was GREAT and we just loved staying there. We highly recommend it to anyone near the area and the prices were good also. Special thanks to Carolyn and Nicole for their courtesy and hospitality.

Room Tip: Get a room with a frig and microwave if possible. Otherwise enjoy enjoy the property as it truly has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. If you are a hockey team and want to stay up after 10:00 p.m. this is not a place to stay. You have to walk down a flight of stairs with your luggage to enter the hotel. Lots of rules!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

If we go to this city again we will consider staying at the motel. The staff was very accommodating and the motel offered significant discounts at area attractions. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Fitness center was better than most but one of the machine may not have worked correctly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We've stayed there several times, and this past week was as good as ever. The only downside was that the front desk did not seem to understand the ABVI upgrades. When I asked about it, they said it was already figured into the reservation - but the room type we were assigned to was the type of room I had reserved. Since we had two rooms, and had asked to be somewhat close together, I did not push it. The pool was comfortable, the room there has had the doors improved. The whirlpool there is large, but that room could use better ventilation.

The breakfast bar was good, they had fresh apples and oranges along with juices. I would like to see English Muffins as an option with the bagels, along with wheat bread for toasting options.

Overall, it's an excellent value for the price, and we'll be there again.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise, try to get to the ends of the building. The structure will be sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Worst stay I have had here. Only a few channels came in on the tv. Noisy!! There was hardly anything for breakfast, because the attendant just stood there and watched instead of refilling.
Heating system was VERY noisy!!!

The front desk manager who checked us in and out was very friendly but they should at least ask how the stay was.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our family spent the last 5 nights at this hotel. We chose it because of its excellent location, across the hwy from Spirit Mountain. The staff was very welcoming and friendly, the rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and the pool/sauna/hot tub were great to have. The building does indeed have thin walls and was rather loud, but most of the noise could have been avoided if parents were a bit responsible in supervising their children who kept running the hallways. Complimentary breakfast was convenient but needs much improvement. The coffee was "brown rain water" and after staying for 5 nights we really got tired of the waffles. There was no variety and very few choices. The skim milk was tasteless and a few bananas would have been nice, instead of apples/oranges daily.Overall a good value for the price paid ($60/night fees included).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.