We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay here again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Save Saved
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Would never stay here again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had block of rooms for wedding party and many rooms were booked for the wedding. Block of room rate was not given to the Mother of the Groom - even though the room was reserved within time period, but had to redo reservation due to unforseen circumstances (mother was admitted to hospital for broken hip). No empathy and did not try to accommodate and wait to checkin was way too long! The reservation people were not friendly. Overpriced for these small rooms.
Another problem with this place is no elevator - many steps going into hotel and if you don't have room on first floor, be prepared to lug your luggage up flights of stairs!! Towels were not big enough and not at all soft!
There's a wonderful Americinn hotel 1 mile away in Proctor that was great for the second night of our stay - what a difference!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    72
    55
    45
    38
See reviews for
118
50
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel rates are pretty high in Duluth in the fall as everyone is looking for color trip get-aways. Our trip came up at the last minute, and so we were happy to find a room here at a very reasonable rate. The room was nice. The hotel was full, but the hotel was quiet. We would stay here again. It is close to the tourist information center which was very, very helpful too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My experience with this hotel started when I was put on hold for 8 minutes-- I should have known better. The rooms are smaller than average, there are way too many stairs, the price was much more than the product deserved.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Apparently maid service was too busy after our first night. Not sure anything done to room (such as making the bed, running the vacuum). Only adequate cleanliness. Small rooms. ................................................................................

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

An overall nice value. It was the most reasonable, but it had no elevator, a small breakfast area, very crowded. Great breakfast. The beds were very uncomfortable. If you don't mind saving a few bucks for the sake of comfort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Strange entry with stairs, stairs to the room, no elevators, sparse furnishings, the shower will get you wet if you have the time to stay in long enough. Breakfast was a disaster as far more guests than space or food, could not even get a cup of coffee because they were out. The worst was the front desk. Two pm and one am clerk that did not want to be there and didn't want anyone else there either. Noisy halls late at night and early in the morning. Won't be back.

Room Tip: Here is a tip about choosing a room, just don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The entrance into the hotel is strange and crowded. The first thing I noticed was the multiple stains in the carpet and the dank musty smell. Our room was small (nothing like what the picture online showed), and the bathroom was the size of a broom closet. The bathtub creaked whenever you moved, like it was going to fall through the floor at any second, and the shower head is shorter than I am! I'm only 5 feet 9 inches tall and I had to bend my knees and awkwardly lean backwards just to wash my hair. And come on.... I've used dinner napkins larger than those towels. The fitness room was locked every time I tried to go in, so you can forget about your morning workout. Another thing I found odd was that the hot tub/ sauna area was located in a completely different room located down the hall from the pool. Parents won't be able to relax in the hot tub and let their younger kids swim at the same time. Worse yet, the hot tub/ sauna room has a cheap, see through, wooden gate as the door, and the entire wall was lined with large windows looking out into the hallway. Any creep casually strolling by on the way to their room can see you. All of this would have been tolerable had it not been for one reoccurring issue: The key cards DON'T WORK!!!!! My two sisters and I were locked out of our room a total of six times in our three day stay. Six times! That's ridiculous. Thankfully, two of those times one of us was still inside the room to open the door. Every time we had to go back down to the front desk we had to wait in line for ten minutes just to have our key cards reactivated. It wasn't just our room either, but the entire hotel! A couple staying a few rooms down from us actually checked out early and found another hotel because of it. If the key cards are that big of a problem, why wouldn't you have some one come in and fix it? The $350.00 we spent for our stay was not worth it in the least. Overall, our experience wasn't bad, and the staff was always friendly, but I feel a Super 8 Motel was probably more worth our time.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the second floor (where the front desk is located) so that way when you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.