We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Decor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Save Saved
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Decor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

So my favorite thing about the hotel was the decor. The room was very clean and had a cozy feeling. And the beds...sigh...were so comfortable as were the pillows! The showers had great water pressure and the towels were good cpmpared to some hotels. The hot tub was awesome and clean, so was the pool. I think the pool is also a salt water pool. But it's very big so is the hot tub. The sauna was a good size too but we never used it. I didn't have any problems with the place what so ever. And the breakfast was great plus they have a cappuccino machine!! Stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    71
    52
    42
    34
See reviews for
113
48
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Room smelled musty when we first walked in. TV picture was poor extra blanket...itchy rigid army blanket caulk around sink loose and peeling mechanics under the sink exposed tub not supported and made noise like you might fall through when taking a shower whirlpool area had black mold near floors and doorways paint peeling off trip in doorways noisy room with someone told that our room was theirs at 2 a.m. water stains on ceilings in hallways breakfast area just plain nasty was way too small/crowded and person working there couldn't even clean off tables or keep coffee made. I wouldn't taken pictures of this disaster if I'd thought of it. All for $159.00. Rip off of the year!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from this motel. Wish I'd taken photos.... :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I agree with the other person who said Mis-leading advertisement. This hotel advertises at $69.99 and I booked the hotel 3 days in advanced and was charged $121.00 plus the taxes which came to around $133.00. I met a woman in the pool area and she had booked her room the same day she came and only paid $74.00 for her room and that included the patio and mine had no patio or balcony. The room reaked of stale smoke and it just felt dirty to me and my kids and fiance. I want to know why some are charged more for a room with less amenitys than others who call on the day they are coming and get a cheaper room with more amenitys? I feel I should be refunded the extra amount paid due to false advertisement. Also, went to breakfast the next morning at 9:00 and almost everything was gone. This should be stocked to feed people through 10 am when breakfast ends. I don't see myself returning to this hotel unless it's my last option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just needed an over night stay. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. There was a small hiccup. The lobby was full when we checked in and there was a customer who wanted to change her room at the same time we were checking in. We both ended up in the same room. Well we came in second so we needed a new room. Customer service was excellent. We were upgraded for free and the hotel employee who was helping us was very apologetic and even carried my bag for me to our room. Breakfast was the typical waffle cereal etc and we were lucky to beat the rush. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The desk staff was extremely helpful with all our needs! They exceeded our expectations with excellent restaurant recommendations etc! The room had a very cute rustic outdoorsy feel with the cabin like decor :-) and everything seemed clean and well maintained. We would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here in August. I chose it for a simple overnight because the sign outside advertised a room for $69. They actually charged me $121.59 plus another $15 for misc taxes and fees. When I questioned the charge, her reply was "Oh that's our winter rate." In August - really? So I paid $136.25 for a room by the pool which was very noisy - not what I had requested at all. I would definitely not go back and would recommend you ask for the actual price of the room rather than trust their outdoor signage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked this hotel based on previous good experience with this chain.
On arrival the entry and stairs were dirty. Our room smelled of cigarette smoke, called the duty manager who arrived and announced he was a smoker and couldn't smell any smoke. Shortly after he left the room he called to advise should the room smel of smoke when we checked out the hotel would charge a $250 clean up fee - needless to say we had a dialogue about that!
Linen was threadbare and HBO didn't exist.
Next morning we again could smell cigarette smoke and on doing some checking we could see a couple having an early smoke on a balcony directly under our room.
It was lucky we had only booked the one night as the best experience was checking out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.