We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another mis-leading advertisement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Save 15%
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another mis-leading advertisement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I agree with the other person who said Mis-leading advertisement. This hotel advertises at $69.99 and I booked the hotel 3 days in advanced and was charged $121.00 plus the taxes which came to around $133.00. I met a woman in the pool area and she had booked her room the same day she came and only paid $74.00 for her room and that included the patio and mine had no patio or balcony. The room reaked of stale smoke and it just felt dirty to me and my kids and fiance. I want to know why some are charged more for a room with less amenitys than others who call on the day they are coming and get a cheaper room with more amenitys? I feel I should be refunded the extra amount paid due to false advertisement. Also, went to breakfast the next morning at 9:00 and almost everything was gone. This should be stocked to feed people through 10 am when breakfast ends. I don't see myself returning to this hotel unless it's my last option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just needed an over night stay. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. There was a small hiccup. The lobby was full when we checked in and there was a customer who wanted to change her room at the same time we were checking in. We both ended up in the same room. Well we came in second so we needed a new room. Customer service was excellent. We were upgraded for free and the hotel employee who was helping us was very apologetic and even carried my bag for me to our room. Breakfast was the typical waffle cereal etc and we were lucky to beat the rush. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The desk staff was extremely helpful with all our needs! They exceeded our expectations with excellent restaurant recommendations etc! The room had a very cute rustic outdoorsy feel with the cabin like decor :-) and everything seemed clean and well maintained. We would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather1464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here in August. I chose it for a simple overnight because the sign outside advertised a room for $69. They actually charged me $121.59 plus another $15 for misc taxes and fees. When I questioned the charge, her reply was "Oh that's our winter rate." In August - really? So I paid $136.25 for a room by the pool which was very noisy - not what I had requested at all. I would definitely not go back and would recommend you ask for the actual price of the room rather than trust their outdoor signage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ETL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked this hotel based on previous good experience with this chain.
On arrival the entry and stairs were dirty. Our room smelled of cigarette smoke, called the duty manager who arrived and announced he was a smoker and couldn't smell any smoke. Shortly after he left the room he called to advise should the room smel of smoke when we checked out the hotel would charge a $250 clean up fee - needless to say we had a dialogue about that!
Linen was threadbare and HBO didn't exist.
Next morning we again could smell cigarette smoke and on doing some checking we could see a couple having an early smoke on a balcony directly under our room.
It was lucky we had only booked the one night as the best experience was checking out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I chose this hotel for its lower price. It was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. We spent time in the pool, which was also clean. The pool area has nice seating if you are not swimming. I was disappointed, however, that the hot tub and sauna were in a different room than the pool. You have to walk down the hall from one to the other. The service was friendly and helpful, and we didn't eat their breakfast so I can't comment on that, other than the breakfast area was very small. My only complaints are that the pool and hot tub are in separate locations, and that the hallway floor on the second level felt spongy, hollow. I felt uncomfortable walking on it. It made me think the building was cheaply and poorly built.

Room Tip: Get a room with lake-facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy2Camp2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here 1 night and that was more then long enough. When we first checked in the first thing we noticed is that it smelled in the lobby like one of those pine scented car air fresheners. We were told to go to the end of the building and use that door which was a security door but looked like it had been pried open at one time with a crow bar. The hallway leading to our room was very dark. After walking into the room one of the beds had a huge lump in the center of it which ended up being the blanket bunched up. The fan in the bathroom didn't work. The pool and the hot tub are not in the same room so if you have plans on relaxing in the hot tub while your children are swimming forget it. 10 and under are not allowed in the hot tub. Breakfast was the only plus side of staying here. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
6.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
6.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing