We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bewareif you are a non smoker” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Save Saved
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bewareif you are a non smoker”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked this hotel based on previous good experience with this chain.
On arrival the entry and stairs were dirty. Our room smelled of cigarette smoke, called the duty manager who arrived and announced he was a smoker and couldn't smell any smoke. Shortly after he left the room he called to advise should the room smel of smoke when we checked out the hotel would charge a $250 clean up fee - needless to say we had a dialogue about that!
Linen was threadbare and HBO didn't exist.
Next morning we again could smell cigarette smoke and on doing some checking we could see a couple having an early smoke on a balcony directly under our room.
It was lucky we had only booked the one night as the best experience was checking out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    71
    52
    42
    34
See reviews for
113
48
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I chose this hotel for its lower price. It was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. We spent time in the pool, which was also clean. The pool area has nice seating if you are not swimming. I was disappointed, however, that the hot tub and sauna were in a different room than the pool. You have to walk down the hall from one to the other. The service was friendly and helpful, and we didn't eat their breakfast so I can't comment on that, other than the breakfast area was very small. My only complaints are that the pool and hot tub are in separate locations, and that the hallway floor on the second level felt spongy, hollow. I felt uncomfortable walking on it. It made me think the building was cheaply and poorly built.

Room Tip: Get a room with lake-facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motley, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here 1 night and that was more then long enough. When we first checked in the first thing we noticed is that it smelled in the lobby like one of those pine scented car air fresheners. We were told to go to the end of the building and use that door which was a security door but looked like it had been pried open at one time with a crow bar. The hallway leading to our room was very dark. After walking into the room one of the beds had a huge lump in the center of it which ended up being the blanket bunched up. The fan in the bathroom didn't work. The pool and the hot tub are not in the same room so if you have plans on relaxing in the hot tub while your children are swimming forget it. 10 and under are not allowed in the hot tub. Breakfast was the only plus side of staying here. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We got a good deal on this hotel at the last minute, so I can't really complain because it served the purpose. However, the room we were assigned looked out onto the pool, not the outside (where we would have had a fabulous view of the waterfront), and the pool area was teeming with kids and very noisy. Once the pool closed, things were much quieter and we had a good sleep on very comfortable beds. Unfortunately, there are no restaurants close by so we had to drive to find somewhere for dinner. We did not have breakfast there, but the eating area looked very small and crowded. I'm not sure this is "America's Best Value"; if we had paid full price, we would have been very disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

II checked several hotels and decided on this one. The location seemed good for us. The price seemed reasonable, comparing it to others. Michael and Carolyn; the desk staff were outstanding and very friendly and knowledgeable in helping us find things and answering questions. The other desk staff was also courteous. The hotel had stairs no elevators, I considered this a good opportunity for exercise. The room had two beds that were comfortable, a refrig, TV, internet access and a safe deposit box. The bathroom was okay. The room looked clean and smelled fine. The dining room was on the small side but you could take your breakfast to your room or use another room to eat if it was full. The breakfast was on the smaller side, Waffles, toast cereal and fruit, coffee and milk and juice. The pool and hot tub were okay. We used the pool one day. The game had a few games and selections' would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are average and the pool was big enough.The hottub was in a different spot than the pool and it was warm.There was a nice wood sauna that I went in alot.The arcade was pretty decent with different games.The breakfeast area was small but had good stuff.The hotel was pretty nice I would go again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

First, this hotel is 3 stories with no elevator. 17 steps between each floor, and 17 from the main parking level down to the office. There is parking with a ramp to the office level, but a sloping ramp and tough to park on that side. Strong recommendation for older folks to stay away.

The hotel only looks to be clean: I noted a bloodstain on the bed cover, and the bathroom had a definite not-nice odor. Only other serious negative is being 10 min away from Duluth proper.

The staff were friendly. The room was quiet. The beds were reasonably comfortable. The room had a microwave, small frig, safe, and sink w counter away from the (quite small) bathroom. Reasonable 32" flat screen tv, and free wifi. Pricing was on the lower side for Duluth (although still pricy in our opinion). The pool is reasonably sized; nothing special, but good for kids (there were a lot of them). The whirlpool/sauna was in a separate, nice room, but on the 1st floor; 34 steps away from our 3rd floor room, so we decided to skip it.

The hotel probably is a good place for young families. Our recommendation to all others is to stay away.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is office level, and the only one reachable without negotiating many steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.