We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Save Saved
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
“We enjoyed our time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

II checked several hotels and decided on this one. The location seemed good for us. The price seemed reasonable, comparing it to others. Michael and Carolyn; the desk staff were outstanding and very friendly and knowledgeable in helping us find things and answering questions. The other desk staff was also courteous. The hotel had stairs no elevators, I considered this a good opportunity for exercise. The room had two beds that were comfortable, a refrig, TV, internet access and a safe deposit box. The bathroom was okay. The room looked clean and smelled fine. The dining room was on the small side but you could take your breakfast to your room or use another room to eat if it was full. The breakfast was on the smaller side, Waffles, toast cereal and fruit, coffee and milk and juice. The pool and hot tub were okay. We used the pool one day. The game had a few games and selections' would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    71
    52
    42
    34
See reviews for
113
48
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are average and the pool was big enough.The hottub was in a different spot than the pool and it was warm.There was a nice wood sauna that I went in alot.The arcade was pretty decent with different games.The breakfeast area was small but had good stuff.The hotel was pretty nice I would go again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

First, this hotel is 3 stories with no elevator. 17 steps between each floor, and 17 from the main parking level down to the office. There is parking with a ramp to the office level, but a sloping ramp and tough to park on that side. Strong recommendation for older folks to stay away.

The hotel only looks to be clean: I noted a bloodstain on the bed cover, and the bathroom had a definite not-nice odor. Only other serious negative is being 10 min away from Duluth proper.

The staff were friendly. The room was quiet. The beds were reasonably comfortable. The room had a microwave, small frig, safe, and sink w counter away from the (quite small) bathroom. Reasonable 32" flat screen tv, and free wifi. Pricing was on the lower side for Duluth (although still pricy in our opinion). The pool is reasonably sized; nothing special, but good for kids (there were a lot of them). The whirlpool/sauna was in a separate, nice room, but on the 1st floor; 34 steps away from our 3rd floor room, so we decided to skip it.

The hotel probably is a good place for young families. Our recommendation to all others is to stay away.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is office level, and the only one reachable without negotiating many steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were late in deciding to book a hotel for a one night family trip to Duluth to see the Thomas & Friends train exhibit with our two young kids. This was the only hotel we could find in town that had a pool. It was about 10 minutes or less from Canal Park/Downtown Duluth which was okay with us. The pool was nice, heated to a good temperature for our 2 year old to swim. There were other families swimming and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. We also went to the hot tub which was also nice. The front desk staff was very helpful, courteous, friendly and genuinely enjoyed their jobs which was the highlight of our stay. Rooms were nice and had everything we needed. The perk of staying at Spirit Mtn America's Best Value is the on-site pizza that they cook. A good value and our 2-year old loved the chicken alfredo pizza! We make a trip to Duluth nearly every year, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The only drawback is the walls were pretty thin so we could hear hallway noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were charged $340 with tax for a substandard room. We will never return. Accomidations were terrible. Would never go back or stay at any "Americas Best Value" Motel. We understand that the re was an event at the docks, but double the price for a notty pine room with a view of a parking lot really stinks. I have never reviewed a motel in my life, but this one took the cake!!!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Spirit Mountain Inn. The staff was very courteous and upon arrival I told them we needed a room with a fridge and microwave and they provided this at no extra cost. The rooms were clean and my family enjoyed the family pool and hotub. For the price of $85.00 we paid we suggest this as a great deal and value for a hotel and even though it is a little bit away from Miller Hill Mall or Canal Park it is only a 10 minute drive from anywhere in Duluth. Add in a decent continental breakfast and this place was a steal for the price we paid. We will be staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special about this hotel. Quite a ways out from downtown Duluth. The rooms were average. (very short shower heads.. Had to bend over to wash my hair.) Paid quite a bit of money for this stay. Probably would not return for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.