We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Families OK, others stay away” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Families OK, others stay away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

First, this hotel is 3 stories with no elevator. 17 steps between each floor, and 17 from the main parking level down to the office. There is parking with a ramp to the office level, but a sloping ramp and tough to park on that side. Strong recommendation for older folks to stay away.

The hotel only looks to be clean: I noted a bloodstain on the bed cover, and the bathroom had a definite not-nice odor. Only other serious negative is being 10 min away from Duluth proper.

The staff were friendly. The room was quiet. The beds were reasonably comfortable. The room had a microwave, small frig, safe, and sink w counter away from the (quite small) bathroom. Reasonable 32" flat screen tv, and free wifi. Pricing was on the lower side for Duluth (although still pricy in our opinion). The pool is reasonably sized; nothing special, but good for kids (there were a lot of them). The whirlpool/sauna was in a separate, nice room, but on the 1st floor; 34 steps away from our 3rd floor room, so we decided to skip it.

The hotel probably is a good place for young families. Our recommendation to all others is to stay away.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is office level, and the only one reachable without negotiating many steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    86
    73
    52
    52
See reviews for
143
63
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were late in deciding to book a hotel for a one night family trip to Duluth to see the Thomas & Friends train exhibit with our two young kids. This was the only hotel we could find in town that had a pool. It was about 10 minutes or less from Canal Park/Downtown Duluth which was okay with us. The pool was nice, heated to a good temperature for our 2 year old to swim. There were other families swimming and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. We also went to the hot tub which was also nice. The front desk staff was very helpful, courteous, friendly and genuinely enjoyed their jobs which was the highlight of our stay. Rooms were nice and had everything we needed. The perk of staying at Spirit Mtn America's Best Value is the on-site pizza that they cook. A good value and our 2-year old loved the chicken alfredo pizza! We make a trip to Duluth nearly every year, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The only drawback is the walls were pretty thin so we could hear hallway noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were charged $340 with tax for a substandard room. We will never return. Accomidations were terrible. Would never go back or stay at any "Americas Best Value" Motel. We understand that the re was an event at the docks, but double the price for a notty pine room with a view of a parking lot really stinks. I have never reviewed a motel in my life, but this one took the cake!!!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Spirit Mountain Inn. The staff was very courteous and upon arrival I told them we needed a room with a fridge and microwave and they provided this at no extra cost. The rooms were clean and my family enjoyed the family pool and hotub. For the price of $85.00 we paid we suggest this as a great deal and value for a hotel and even though it is a little bit away from Miller Hill Mall or Canal Park it is only a 10 minute drive from anywhere in Duluth. Add in a decent continental breakfast and this place was a steal for the price we paid. We will be staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nothing special about this hotel. Quite a ways out from downtown Duluth. The rooms were average. (very short shower heads.. Had to bend over to wash my hair.) Paid quite a bit of money for this stay. Probably would not return for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Expected more for the cost if the room. The rate was double the normal rate because of an event in the area during the week then tripled on Friday and we were not aware of the increase until we checked in. Had to book for a minimum of 2 nights but that seemed to be standard for the area, don't know if it was just for this particular time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our stay was a mixed experience, some of the staff were helpful but one was not! When we arrived there had been a mix up with our booking so we had to move rooms for the last night of our three night stay. When we finally got to our room there it was a bit run down, the air con unit was half falling out of the wall and rattled badly. The room had a balcony but the sliding door didn't close correctly so there was a lot of road noise coming through, it seems there is no noise insulation between rooms and the door did not close tightly so we were able to here every word spoken in the hall and in the adjacent rooms. The bathroom had a strong smoking smell and when I went to reception to complain I was told that "no one had been smoking in the room" as the staff member pointed me to a sign stating NO SMOKING.
Bottom line, good value if your a high school sports team. If your wanting privacy and a good nights sleep do yourself a favor and look for something better.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.