We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value....great staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Good value....great staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

we were in town for a youth hockey tournament, so we needed affordable rooms. it was much better than i expected for the price, and the staff was very friendly and accomodating, even with the young boys from the team! it could use a deep cleaning, and i heard that the pool was frigid, but i didn't go into it myself.
overall i was very satisfied with the stay--the staff was great!

Room Tip: top floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for leaving us this nice review. We are very happy to offer great rates for groups such as your hockey team. We’re happy to have exceeded your expectations of our hotel and that you found our staff to be very friendly. We believe that every guest of every age should have a great stay with us and we are happy to be of help. Our hotel is currently going through renovations in some of the rooms, with exciting redecorating. Our pool is tested daily to ensure it meets all state mandated guidelines. Thank you again for the nice review and we hope that you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    83
    69
    51
    45
See reviews for
136
59
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brainerd, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We thought the hotel was great for the price. Beds were comfortable and the room was fine. Nice staff at the desk. There is a major safety issue with the pool though. They seem to have recently painted it and the new paint job is extremely slippery. Both my kids fell on it just trying to walk and I almost fell myself. I had to hold their hands anytime they wanted to walk with wet feet. I wouldn't find it hard to believe them getting sued when someone breaks a bone or cracks their head. The second night we just avoided it. The walls and floors do little to dampen any noise and there is not a continuous fan mode on the AC/Heat unit so I'd bring a fan next time. All in all it's a great hotel for the price just avoid the pool if they still have the shiny paint.

Room Tip: There is no elevator but the top floor would be your best choice to avoid the foot noise on your cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for leaving us this review. We are glad that your enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and found our staff to be friendly. We did recently paint our pool floor and, similar to any tile flooring common in other pool areas, when wet it can get a little slippery. Our floor is still safe as long as everyone abides by the rules and does not run in our pool area. Most of our Air Conditioner/Heaters do have a thermostat setting, which can be adjusted higher or lower to keep a continuous flow of air coming from them. Thank you again for this review and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennock, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at this hotel. The employees are friendly, the hotel is easy to get to, close to downtown and canal park. The rooms are clean and comfy with plenty of room to move about, and they have a good breakfast in the morning. All at a reasonable price. We will stay there again when we are back in town.

Room Tip: The rooms on the East side look out on the lake, woods on the West side. Parking is a little tricky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice review. We are very happy to see returning guests, and we are glad that you find our hotel comfortable and our staff helpful. Our entire staff works very hard to make sure that every guest has as good of an experience at our hotel that you had here. It’s great that you enjoyed our deluxe continental breakfast and that you found us to be reasonably priced; we strive to be the best economical lodging choice in the Duluth area. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Nichole and the whole staff do an excellent job! We feel welcome and comfortable. It is a perfect location if you want go be close to everything , but not in the middle of it. Great value for the money!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this nice review. Our entire staff works very hard to make our guest’s feel welcome and taken care of, and it is great to see that we succeeded in making your stay enjoyable. Our location is very nice, minutes away from all Duluth has to offer while still in a more natural setting. We strive to offer the best rates in the area, and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

kinda hard to find first time, the girls at the front desk were very nice, they up-graded us to their suite and it was SWEET and very large!! Beautiful hot tub, also very clean. Only thing to complain about was the Saturday evening noise above us...........couldn't sleep! Other than that we will stay again. $58.00 a night using the coupons we had. Great deal!!!

Room Tip: ask if someone is above you or bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving us this nice review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be very friendly. It is our goal that every guest enjoys their stay with us and we are glad you were happy with our suite. We are sorry about the noise during the night; always know that if you contact the front desk about any issues you have we will do our best to address them whether it be quieting a noise complaint or simply getting you an extra pillow or some more shampoo. We are here to make your stay enjoyable while still offering affordable rates. Thank you again for the review and we would be very happy to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Linens on beds dirty.I asked for clean sheets and someone brought me the linens and left them. We had to put the linens on the beds after the weddingwe were attending. Room reaked of smoke,No sprinkler system and we were on the 3rd floor.The tub was dirty so we opted to shower at home. The only redemming part of that experience was the NICE BREAKFAST. Would not stay there again!!!! Buy the way had to sleep with window open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I am very sorry that your recent stay with us was unsatisfying. Our hotel is smoke-free but sometimes guests smoke in the rooms even so; I know that the Guest Service Representatives went to your room while you were gone to try get rid of the smell and I am very sorry they weren’t able to freshen your room completely. I apologize if some of the linens were unclean and that the Guest Service Representative did not put the sheets on for you while you were gone. I have spoken to all the Guest Service Representatives about this so that next time they will know to put the sheets on for guests that need new ones, though it is a rare occurrence that our housekeepers miss changing used bedding. If you had let our staff know about the dirty tub they would have definitely cleaned it for you. The room type you booked is on our third floor, and though we do not have a sprinkler system we do have a fire alarm system that sounds throughout the hotel in case of an emergency. I’m glad you enjoyed our breakfast, but apologize again for your unsatisfying experience at our hotel. I hope you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is way over priced ($150 per night), and it was dirty. There was a couple of sunflower seeds on the carpet from previous people and the pillows were dirty. They also wouldn't honor any discounts (AARP...etc). When I complained at the front desk they jotted a couple of notes down and didn't really want to say any more about it. Also the fire alarms went off at 1:00 a.m. and the front desk couldn't explain it until the next day when we asked. The floor was very squeaky above us, so you could hear every movement that the people upstairs made.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are sorry that your recent stay at our hotel was unsatisfying for you. MEA weekend is one of the busiest weekends in the fall and due to very high demand for hotel rooms, all hotels in the area are more expensive those nights. We pride ourselves on being the best economical choice in the Duluth area while still offering great amenities to our guests like use of our pool, hot tub, sauna and a complimentary deluxe breakfast in the mornings. Though we do not accept discounts on Friday or Saturday we are more than happy to apply them Sunday through Thursday.
If you had alerted us about the sunflower seeds in your room we could have cleaned them up for you or tried to move you to a new room. We would have gladly given you clean pillows had we known about that; unfortunately when we find out concerns such as these at check-out there is nothing we can do but make note of the situation so we can take steps necessary to correct it in the future.
It was very unfortunate that the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night. We are sorry for the inconvenience of it and the potential stress it caused. Right when the alarm went off our overnight Guest Service Representative set off to look into it. We apologize that we were not able to have answers immediately, but there was no fire and no danger to our guests. If there had been an emergency we would have quickly enforced an evacuation of the building. We are sorry again for the inconvenience, but we are happy that our alarm systems work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.