We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, front desk girls were super!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Hancock, Michigan
1 review
“nice, front desk girls were super!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

kinda hard to find first time, the girls at the front desk were very nice, they up-graded us to their suite and it was SWEET and very large!! Beautiful hot tub, also very clean. Only thing to complain about was the Saturday evening noise above us...........couldn't sleep! Other than that we will stay again. $58.00 a night using the coupons we had. Great deal!!!

Room Tip: ask if someone is above you or bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving us this nice review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be very friendly. It is our goal that every guest enjoys their stay with us and we are glad you were happy with our suite. We are sorry about the noise during the night; always know that if you contact the front desk about any issues you have we will do our best to address them whether it be quieting a noise complaint or simply getting you an extra pillow or some more shampoo. We are here to make your stay enjoyable while still offering affordable rates. Thank you again for the review and we would be very happy to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    78
    65
    49
    42
See reviews for
130
56
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Linens on beds dirty.I asked for clean sheets and someone brought me the linens and left them. We had to put the linens on the beds after the weddingwe were attending. Room reaked of smoke,No sprinkler system and we were on the 3rd floor.The tub was dirty so we opted to shower at home. The only redemming part of that experience was the NICE BREAKFAST. Would not stay there again!!!! Buy the way had to sleep with window open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I am very sorry that your recent stay with us was unsatisfying. Our hotel is smoke-free but sometimes guests smoke in the rooms even so; I know that the Guest Service Representatives went to your room while you were gone to try get rid of the smell and I am very sorry they weren’t able to freshen your room completely. I apologize if some of the linens were unclean and that the Guest Service Representative did not put the sheets on for you while you were gone. I have spoken to all the Guest Service Representatives about this so that next time they will know to put the sheets on for guests that need new ones, though it is a rare occurrence that our housekeepers miss changing used bedding. If you had let our staff know about the dirty tub they would have definitely cleaned it for you. The room type you booked is on our third floor, and though we do not have a sprinkler system we do have a fire alarm system that sounds throughout the hotel in case of an emergency. I’m glad you enjoyed our breakfast, but apologize again for your unsatisfying experience at our hotel. I hope you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is way over priced ($150 per night), and it was dirty. There was a couple of sunflower seeds on the carpet from previous people and the pillows were dirty. They also wouldn't honor any discounts (AARP...etc). When I complained at the front desk they jotted a couple of notes down and didn't really want to say any more about it. Also the fire alarms went off at 1:00 a.m. and the front desk couldn't explain it until the next day when we asked. The floor was very squeaky above us, so you could hear every movement that the people upstairs made.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are sorry that your recent stay at our hotel was unsatisfying for you. MEA weekend is one of the busiest weekends in the fall and due to very high demand for hotel rooms, all hotels in the area are more expensive those nights. We pride ourselves on being the best economical choice in the Duluth area while still offering great amenities to our guests like use of our pool, hot tub, sauna and a complimentary deluxe breakfast in the mornings. Though we do not accept discounts on Friday or Saturday we are more than happy to apply them Sunday through Thursday.
If you had alerted us about the sunflower seeds in your room we could have cleaned them up for you or tried to move you to a new room. We would have gladly given you clean pillows had we known about that; unfortunately when we find out concerns such as these at check-out there is nothing we can do but make note of the situation so we can take steps necessary to correct it in the future.
It was very unfortunate that the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night. We are sorry for the inconvenience of it and the potential stress it caused. Right when the alarm went off our overnight Guest Service Representative set off to look into it. We apologize that we were not able to have answers immediately, but there was no fire and no danger to our guests. If there had been an emergency we would have quickly enforced an evacuation of the building. We are sorry again for the inconvenience, but we are happy that our alarm systems work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

First impressions and customer service are important, like asking for early check-in when making the reservation, calling to confirm early check-in, arrived to find the room was not ready after carrying all the luggage down the 10 or so outside steps to get to the front door. I was told it might be 15 min. to an hour to clean it. I checked in and decided to take my things back up the steps to the car and pick up the keys later in the day. The room was OK, not at all what I'm used to for a hotel room in Duluth but was going to make the best of it anyhow. Went to sleep around midnight and was woken up with the sound of the fire alarm. It would go off and on for 30 min. or so. Guests were in the halls trying to figure out what was happening. I called the front desk and asked if she would explain the noise. She said she was going to check it out. I asked if there was a fire and she said she didn't know but the problem was coming from the pool area. After another round of the alarm going off again an hour later, I might have gotten 2 hours of sleep. Upon check out, I asked to be compensated for the disturbed nights sleep. The young man didn't seem to know anything about the fire alarm. The girl asked him if he forgot what to say about it, then went on to explain that due to the weather, the fire alarm gets triggered off at this time of the year. I told her that was really not my problem and when I asked if there was a fire, the person said she really didn't know etc... Anyhow, nothing was done about my bad experience and I was going to let it go until I received an email 2 days later inviting me to write a review. So, my advice to anyone who finds their favorite hotels filled, DO NOT STAY AT THIS ONE. They charged 157.00 a night. I wouldn't pay 70.00. Thin walls and freeway noise were other complaints along with poor choices for breakfast. One more thing... be cautious when driving in and out of the property. The signage is poor as many missed the driveway to get there and as you're leaving the propety there is a chance you could drive right over a large size hill because there is no guard rail or reflectors directing you away from it. Would be dangerous in the winter as would be the steps down to the front door..

Room Tip: I really don't think any other room choice would have made a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are sorry that you were unhappy with your recent stay at our hotel. We can never guarantee an early check-in or a specific room type due to unforeseen issues that can arise. We do our best to satisfy guest requests but sometimes it is beyond our control. We would never let a guest check-in to a dirty room. If you were unsatisfied with something about your room we ask that you let us know right away because we may be able to do something to accommodate your needs. If you were unhappy with your room facing the freeway we could have tried to move you to one facing our parking lot.
There was no fire in our hotel that night and we are very sorry the alarms kept going off. It is still comforting to know they work, however. The Guest Service Representative working that night did not immediately know the cause of the alarms, therefore could not give you an answer until she was able to look into it. It was very unfortunate that the alarms went off and that all the guests staying at our hotel that night were affected by it. The way our system reacted was out of our control, and we cannot offer any discounts for things we have no control over.
If you have any issues with our main driveway please note that we do have an upper driveway out of our parking lot which is shorter and leads onto Boundary Ave. Rest assured as well, during the winter we adamantly keep on top of snow removal from our steps as well as salting them. We apologize again that the fire alarms went off during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Unable to find a hotel in Duluth on a very busy weekend. Was able to stay here...wonder why it was not booked? If you like hair and scum floating in the hot tub, bad decore through out the place and listening to the fire alarms all night long then this is the place for you. When complaining about the fire alarms in the morning was told sometimes when the weather changes they will go off. Here's an idea get them fixed. People were evacuating the building durning the middle of the night. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy...or my trailer park trash neighbors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are sorry you were unhappy with your recent stay at our hotel. We take cleanliness very seriously here and are very sorry that there was hair and scum in the hot tub. On very busy weekends when our hotel is full many people use our pool and hot tub which can accumulate dirt more quickly. They are cleaned in the mornings. If you made our staff aware of the issue they would have been fast to respond and clean it up for you. Though décor tastes will always differ between people, we have been doing some painting and remodeling throughout our hotel and the overall reaction to it has been very positive.
We are very sorry that the fire alarms went off during the night of your stay. There was no fire and no danger to our guests; it was a problem with our fire alarm system. We followed all the necessary procedures during the night to identify the problem and to ensure that our building was safe. We are sorry again that you would not recommend us to anyone based on your experience here. It was out of our control, but we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great place to stay on a budget. The property has some pretty nice ammenites for the price. Really nice pool, sauna and hot tub. The building isn't new but it has had some remodeling and the upkeep is pretty good and the decor is nice. Beds were not plush but they were ok for a nights stay. Walls were a little thin but again for the price it was a good choice. It's a little ways from downtown Duluth but it is only a $10 taxi ride. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving us this nice review. We take pride in our hotel and the amenities we have to offer such as our pool, hot tub, and sauna as you mentioned. Our goal is to give our guests a great stay while exceeding their expectations. We also pride ourselves on being a great economical choice in the Duluth area. Recently we have been renovating some of our rooms as well as updating our breakfast area; we are glad that you like our décor! We do have a great location, close to Duluth yet not right in the city. Thank you again for the nice review and we hope that you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aitkin, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The women who greeted us to check in was wonderful! Our room was clean with comfortable beds and a GREAT VIEW. I drink a "blend" in the morning and was so happy to find cappuccino, coffee and cream. My husband had the coffee and my daughter had the cocoa, which we enjoyed while we made waffles. Had a great weekend in Duluth. Warning - When we came off the exit to the hotel we went right back onto the freeway, please tell me someone else has done the same!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Response:
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this review. We are very happy that you had such a great time at our hotel and enjoyed our breakfast in the morning. Our staff works hard to ensure that every guest has a great experience, and our housekeepers do an excellent job getting the rooms clean and fresh every day. Since the entrance to the freeway is so close to our road it can be a bit tricky for anyone not familiar with the area to navigate, so it has been known to happen. Thank you again for this review and we hope that you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.