We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what you get” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Save Saved
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I ended up scoring an okay price on this hotel for Labor Day weekend (Thursday night). That "okay" price was $77 including tax and I STILL felt I overpaid.

The thing is, we stayed here to extend our stay in Duluth by one day, before moving on to our hotel in Duluth proper. We also stayed here for nostalgic purposes, as I was traveling with my sister and we LOVED this place as kids when we did our annual ski trip to Spirit Mountain.

But you know how things change when you look through it via adult eyes? Yeah, that's kind of what happened.

This hotel is located in Proctor, right off I-35. It overlooks the highway and the Little Store gas station (which we walked to from the hotel to pick up some soda. That gas station is very shady at 10pm!) So if you're thinking of staying here and plan on spending your time in Duluth, just know that it's about a 10 minute drive into the city.

The worst thing about this place is that there is no elevator. You're going to have to haul your luggage up and down the steep steps. Not fun when you are tired from driving!

Other people noted the noise. We did not experience this, and the hotel was packed. However, we were on the third (top) floor.

The room was basic, clean and did NOT smell like smoke. It was fine for one night.

Breakfast area is TINY. They shut 'er down at 9am, which is far too early. The area is BUSY but the selection isn't that bad.

The hallways are kinda dark and depressing. The

This place is filled to the brim with kids. When I've stayed here before (as a kid, no doubt), I never batted an eye -- of course, because *I* was a kid. As an adult with no children, this was irksome, as they are running around unsupervised in the breakfast area, the pool, game room, parking lot and adult-only hot tub.

It's also filled with questionable adults. In the breakfast area, I placed our newspaper on our table to mark our spot. While we were making our waffles, someone stole our newspaper (that I purchased) right off our table! I told the front desk clerk and she happily gave me a new one. Also in the breakfast area, the waffle irons are constantly in use and rude people abound. There's no taking turns. It's a free-for-all.

I will say though that the staff is very kind.

Final thoughts:
You can tell this place is a no-frills, family-friendly ski lodge catering to skiers (duh) who just want a spot to rest their head. Which is exactly what we used it for when we came up here as kids.

The last time I visited here was in 1996, so well over 15 years ago. I swear, outside of the carpeting in the hallway and the paint job in the pool area, IT LOOKS THE SAME. So, it's definitely in need of a makeover.

For $77, I still thought that was too much for a Thursday night in summer at a 2-star hotel well outside of the city proper.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel. We pride ourselves on being a family hotel and want guests of all ages to enjoy their stay. We enforce our quiet hours starting at 10:00 PM but any time before that it is the parents’ responsibility for the general behavior of their children. If you notice any unsupervised children, we appreciate if you let our staff know so we can look into the situation.

Our hotel is older so we do not have an elevator but our staff is very willing to assist with carrying luggage for our guests. We also work very hard to make sure our hotel is clean and inviting. Our breakfast area is quite cozy which is why we offer additional seating in our meeting room. We are not responsible for the behavior of the other guests in the hotel, but if at any time you feel threatened or uncomfortable we ask that you let our staff know and we can take the necessary measures to placate the situation.

Though our hotel is on the edge of the Duluth we are right next to the freeway which leads directly down to all of Duluth’s attractions within minutes. Thank you for the compliments on our staff; we strive to give all our guests excellent service. We are sorry you weren’t completely satisfied with your stay here but we hope that you choose to give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    74
    60
    46
    39
See reviews for
123
52
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a 2 queen room. It was nice and clean. The carpet in the room was clean which is big thing for me. The beds were clean and comfortable.The bath room was a bit small, but not too big of a deal. The walls are thin, I heard lots of noise through the night. The hallways were a little dark.. I was expecting a more "cabin like" decoration in the room and through out the hotel. The pool was nice, and the outside deck off the pool room is really nice and relaxing. The breakfast was good and the staff were very nice! We go to Duluth a few times a year and we normally stay in our camper, but will keep this hotel in mind for shorter trips up there. Over all good place to stay- we booked in advance and got a good deal, but would not pay over 100$ unless you book the jacuzzi suite!

Room Tip: Book in advance, not last minute. Some of the rooms on the first floor have walk out patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you were pleased with your stay and found our hotel to be clean and inviting. We are updating our décor and amenities a little at a time, but the log furniture in our rooms receives a lot of compliments. Our pool deck area is very popular and we are glad you got to spend some time relaxing during your stay. It’s our goal that all of our guests have a great stay and we are happy that you experienced just that. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Normally rooms are priced at $79. No rooms in the Duluth area and they charged over $200! The room was worth $79 but nowhere near $200. Old, outdated, dirty and no elevator! The bathroom was small with the sink Placed by the entrance door!Don't stop - keep driving!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we are sorry you weren’t satisfied with your stay. During the summer, weekends are the busiest nights for hotels in Duluth. When the entire area is sold out the demand for rooms is extremely high and the prices are high in reaction to this. Our standard room for one adult is $79 on Sunday-Thursday in the summer; weekend prices have always been different due to the higher level of demand. We have an older building but our staff works extremely hard to keep everything clean and working properly, and we have recently updated all the rooms with rustic log furniture. If you notice something that seems dirty we appreciate if you let our front desk staff know so they can take care of it right away. Hopefully you will give us another chance in the future, perhaps on a less busy night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here on a Wed night when taking our son to college. This hotel is just like it says on their website. Nothing fancy, but clean, and the breakfast satisfied us just fine. The beds were comfortable. The front desk staff could not have been more friendly. During skiing season this would be a very convenient place to stay if skiing at Spirit Mountain. We would stay here again when visiting Duluth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you were happy with your stay here and that you found our beds comfortable. Our staff works hard to keep our hotel clean and we all do everything we can to make sure our guests are satisfied with their stay. We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast, and if you choose to stay with us during the skiing season know that we do offer ski package deals and discounted lift tickets to Spirit Mountain. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I felt a little mislead by what the internet showed me and the reality of what it was. I thought it was going to be a cute, cabin-like hotel nestled in a hill and surrounded by woods but in reality it was an old hotel with few decorations, little ambience, and a view of the loud highway and a gas station sign.

I'm not hard to please but for $150 it truly wasn't worth it. For $70-80 I would say we got what we paid for, but $150 was the cost of our Saturday night trip away. The towels, both in the room and pool, were crunchy and old and need to be replaced. We were on the end by the parking lot door which slammed every 30 minutes throughout the night. We could hear everyone walking upstairs as we were in this "basementy" type lower level.

Although staff was friendly and it was relatively clean, the price simply needs to be lowered for the quality of hotel you are getting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are sorry that you feel misled by the internet about our hotel. We have log furniture in all of our rooms providing a cabin-like feel, and there are trees enclosing our 4 acre property on the parking lot side of our hotel. The view facing the highway also shows the lights of West Duluth mixed in with trees and water on the edge of Lake Superior and St. Louis Bay.

Saturday nights in the summer are the busiest days for any hotel in Duluth. The prices reflect the demand for the rooms and we have been sold out nearly every weekend this summer. Our rates are lower Sunday through Thursday and we accept discounts on weekdays as well. We get rid of our old towels when they get worn; if you had brought this to the attention of our staff we would have been more than happy to replace them for you. We have since gone through both our pool and bath towels and removed the ones which were worn out. We appreciate if you let our staff know about any noise after our quiet hours; we want all of our guests to have a restful night and look into any noise complaints as soon as we receive them.

We thank you for the compliments on our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel. We hope you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rush City, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was impressed by how Nicole, Pamela and the staff went out of their way to accomodate our need to check in a large block of rooms early, they exceeded our expectations and were very friendly along the way. Nicely done! Breakfast was very good, rooms were nice and clean, nice hot tub, customer service was excellent. Nice view

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for our hotel. It was our pleasure to work with your group and we are happy that we could get you checked in early. We always try to best accommodate our guests and our goal is that everyone has the same great experience at our hotel that you were shown. Our staff is very friendly and we all work hard to keep the hotel clean and comfortable. Thank you again for reviewing us, we enjoyed having you here and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aitkin, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was reasonably-priced place to stay in Duluth. It is clean, and had a pretty good breakfast. We stayed on a Wed. night. All was well until we tried to sleep, the beds are old and make a crunch noise everytime you roll over, the pillows were the worst, not soft just lumpy. During the night we could hear people outside talking and smoking. (ok we were tired and went to bed early), heard a baby crying at some time too and of course the ice machine. Needless to say we didn't get much sleep. Oh yes there were so many stairs it gave you a workout .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you found our hotel to be clean and enjoyed our breakfast. We are sorry you didn’t find our beds to be comfortable; we are working on updating all of our amenities in our hotel, which is why we appreciate when guests let us know the problems that they have. We also have a couple different types of pillows and extras are always available at the front desk. When it gets later in the night we take noise complaints very seriously as we want all of our guests to be able to relax and have some quiet time. As long as you let us know of the problems that you have we can do our best to fix them. We hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.