We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for a quick one night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good for a quick one night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Overall accommodations were probably average. Bathrooms are tight, but otherwise the hotel was comfortable and quiet. Front desk service was good and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you found our hotel comfortable and that your stay was quiet. Our front desk staff tries to make every guests’ stay at our hotel as pleasant as possible. They are always willing to listen to any comments or concerns as are the rest of our staff. We hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    77
    65
    48
    42
See reviews for
129
56
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I chose this hotel because I wanted a place that would provide easy access to St. Mary's Hospital but not be in the middle of town. From here to St. Mary's is only about 6 miles straight down I-35. This is a very family friendly hotel and the view is great! There were lots and lots of kids but yet it was one of the quietest hotels I've ever stayed in. If they would allow dogs the hotel would be perfect. :-( If you need to travel with your dog you will have to find another place. I will definately stay here again. Oh, the beds were very comfortable! In room mic, fridge, & hairdryer. TV had more channels than most hotels provide.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a handicapped person make sure you get a room on the second floor near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving us this great review. We are happy that you were so pleased with your recent stay at our hotel. Our location on 4 acres of land is desirable for anyone who wants to visit Duluth but still stay in a country-like setting. We work hard to ensure our guests of all ages enjoy their stay here at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn. Our goal is to exceed every guest’s expectations and we are glad that you found your room very comfortable and quiet. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Minnesota, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

the rm had a very small bathroom. no microwave, no fridge. the beds were hard as rocks. the pillows were terrible and it had a funny smell. the pool had 2 much clorine and it was a pain to carry our suit cases up 3 flights of stairs. the room was 2 much money for what we got.

Room Tip: the bed was hard as rock. the pillows were terrible. the pool had too much clorine. the rm didnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are sorry you weren’t satisfied with your recent stay at our hotel. The room you had was one of our standard rooms. We offer 8 additional room types which all include a microwave and a fridge. If you had brought your concerns about the bad smell to the front desk staff we may have been able to move you into a different room. The chlorine levels of our pool are tested each morning before the pool is opened to make sure the levels are normal. Once again, we are very sorry you weren’t satisfied with your stay but we hope you will give us another try in the future, possibly in a different room more suited to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have stayed at Best Value brand before. This Inn was better than others of the brand.
Staff was friendly. Breakfast was exactly what I expected. Pool and game area was a plus traveling with kids. Perfect for a quick trip to Duluth.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you were pleased with the friendliness of our staff and that our hotel exceeded your expectations. Our hotel is very family friendly and we want our guests of all ages to enjoy themselves whether by relaxing in our hot tub and sauna, or enjoying some excitement from our pool and game room. Thank you again for the great review and we hope you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Average hotel in an average location offering average amenities. Great for a quick overnighter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
That you for taking the time to leave us this review. We pride ourselves on being one of the best economic lodging choices in the Duluth area. Our award-winning hotel is in a great location on four acres of land with easy access to Duluth as well as Spirit Mountain. We are glad you were satisfied with your stay and hope that you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

staff was great rooms were very clean. A very nice simple hotel im coming back to stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for the review. Our staff works very hard to make sure all guests enjoy their stay and that the hotel is clean and comfortable. Our housekeepers are very efficient in making sure the rooms are clean. We take pride in our hotel and its location, and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Parking could be a little tricky at this hotel (not really accessible if you have limited mobility) since it's up a hill--I arrived there at 10 p.m. and available spaces were limited. The rooms were average for this type of hotel, the breakfast unremarkable. My main issue is that they offer a CAA discount--when you register on-line there isn't a way to add this. I made the booking anyway assuming that they would be able to give me the discount at the time of check-in. They couldn't (wouldn't?). I was told that I would have to speak to a manager (who was not in), and when I emailed the hotel after my stay to rectify the situation (and possibly book a night there on my way back) they told me that you can only get the discount overy the phone (or in-person check-in), and no offer was made for a credit. The few dollars that I would have saved isn't the issue, but my lack of CAA discount is why I'm rating this hotel as average rather than very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us this review. We do offer a CAA discount valid Sunday – Thursday. We cannot apply the discount to your room if you book online, however, which was the issue in your case. In the future all you need to do is call our hotel directly when making a reservation and we will happily apply the discount for you. On busy nights our closer parking spaces do fill up quickly, but there are two doors on the end of the building by the far side of the lot that you can enter using your key cards. We have recently added new items to our breakfast menu including apples, oranges, and yogurt on the weekends. We hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future and we will definitely apply your CAA discount if you mention it while making the reservation over the phone with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.