We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappionted” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 West Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings of 20%
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Savage, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappionted”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had reservations for a few months for a wedding. Booked three rooms and asked specifically to have them next to each other. All 3 reservations were noted with this. I called the day before and they assured me they would be able to accommodate the request. We arrived and low and behold, we were on different floors. I was basically disregarded as an elite member who stays at Carlson Hotel properties about 80+ nights/year. The sleep number beds (only in one room) didn't work. Only one of the rooms had a fridge. The TV's in our room were still from 1995. We were unable to hook up a dvd player for the kids. Overall, the entire facility needs updating. The few bright spots include the location, shuttle service and the JJ Astor restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Specialist, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay and we also apologize that your rooms were not in your desired locations. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    94
    105
    131
    84
See reviews for
135
157
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We met up with family and we all stayed at the Radisson Duluth. We were very pleased and satisfied with our stay. The hotel is older yet iconic to the Duluth skyline! We found the hotel clean, comfortable and loaded with services! The hotel staff was great, they were all friendly and going out of their way to make sure we were satisfied with our stay. The restaurant was delicious and I was very impressed with the views at the revolving restaurant... breathtaking!!! We enjoyed a cocktail at the restaurant bar downstairs before we turned in on the sleep number bed in our room. I travel quite a bit and I have blown away by the accommodations and services. My family and I will stay here again and we recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Duluth. Thank You to the Radisson Staff for making our trip to Duluth a memorable one!

Room Tip: Ask for the view of Lake Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. We appreciate hearing from our guests. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Duluth is a gorgeous city and we take pride in being right in the heart of the city for you to be able to enjoy the great views from the hillside to the majestic lake. I have forwarded your kind words on to the staff and higher management. We look forward to you coming back again.

Aaron J. Peterson
Guest Services Manager
Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Booked on Priceline so the sting was not as bad. As a 100 night a year corporate traveler I see a lot of different hotels, we are led to believe that all hotels or restaurants that carry the same name are of the same quality...not so with any chain...This Radisson was adequate but not what we expect...outside and lobby experience, set us up for a room letdown...don't get me wrong it wasn't missing anything....view was lakeside and great...room was decorated about 15 years ago...it was clean and had a comfortable adjustable bed. I checked in late and left early so it covered my bases other than being more like a Howard Johnson's than a Radisson...Every employee I encountered from check in to the maid was friendly and helpful....positive notes are great beds and shower..I stayed on 14 th floor..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. The feedback it greatly appreciated and helps us to pinpoint exactly how to improve our Hotel and its services to you. The Radisson Hotel Duluth is recently under new ownership and management and we will be planning updates and renovations soon. The Radisson Duluth has been serving guests for over 40 years and we are proud to do so. Check back with us soon to find out more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Hotel is old and outdated. No fan in bathroom. Extremely hot water (Burning). Not all rooms have sleep number beds as advertised. Elevators are slow. Staff was friendly and changed us to a new room the next day.

Room Tip: Ask for view on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron P, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review.I am very sorry about your recent stay. I have forwarded this information on to our new management company and owners. The Radisson Hotel Duluth is now under new ownership and management. Expect big changes and new remodels and renovations to happen soon. Our Hotel has proudly served guests for over 40 years and we plan to bring it back to level of standards that many people fell in love with in the past. Check back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I booked a room on a third party website for a two day stay. Upon arrival we could not get keys because the system was down. Don't be fooled by the way the updated lobby looks. The elevator and entire third floor smelled like an ashtray. So much for smoke free. The room was out dated and dirty. Popcorn on the floor, visually dirty carpet, dirty walls, plaster crumbling by the elevator, mildew on the shower curtain. We would have checked out if we hadn't prepaid on the third party website. Very poor service I was questioned on why I wanted more pillows and towels. We were there to see Duluth and tried to spend as much time out of the hotel room as possible. I didn't feel comfortable at all. Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHONDA H, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We have been serving guest for over 40 years. It is our goal that each and every guest has a great experience. We apologize if perhaps we fell short on your recent stay. We always love to hear from our guest and take each and every comment to heart. We appreciate you letting us know and we assure you that we are addressing the items that you mentioned.

Sincerely,

Rhonda Hausman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We came here after staying somewhere else one night and were very pleased. The front desk person was very welcoming and checked us in quickly. The hotel has a cool mix of age and modern remodeling. The location is great for downtown too. I'm sure it's not as nice as other Radissons but my wife and I enjoyed out stay and will be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHONDA H, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. We have been serving guest for over 40 years and always enjoy hearing from our guest. We have a great location, great value, and an amazing hotel family to serve you!

We look forward to having an opportunity to serve you and your wife again!

Rhonda Hausman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We booked out reservation thru hotels.com, not sure if that made a difference, but our room was old, outdated and noisy. We thought since we were just in for one night, we would make due. Big mistake. Our room was on the 3rd floor, close to parking lot. All night we could hear people talking outside. The walls in this hotel were so thin I could hear a person coughing all night. Someone tried to break into our room, I had to put the chair up against the door because every time someone would close their door, ours would rattle. I complained to front desk at check out. The person didn't seem to care about our stay. From what I can see we didn't save that much by going thru hotels.com. Would not stay here again anytime soon

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Customer Care at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
We sincerely apologize for your experience at our Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview. Providing a good night of sleep in the best possible accomodation is a trade mark of the Radisson brand and we deeply regret if we were unable to meet your expectations. We would like to discuss the issues you experienced further and will appreaciate it if you can contact our corporate office at your earliest convenience. We look forward hearing from you.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview

Address: 505 West Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and newly renovated fitness center. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in the newly renovated lobby. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.