We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deplorable Room Apathetic Staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview

Save Saved
You added Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 West Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings of 20%
Ranked #28 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Deplorable Room Apathetic Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Duluth, MN Radisson between January 17 and January 19. 2014. The magnitude of the negative impression this hotel left us with, not only impacts our view of the Duluth location but that of the Carlson Rezidor Hotel Group.

After struggling to find parking in the undersized lot for this towering hotel, we checked in around dinnertime on the 17th, dropped off our bags and met family for the evening. We returned to the room late to find a handwritten note on hotel scratch paper simply stating “PRESS FIRMLY”. It was laid atop the remotes for the sleep number beds. We found this to be very awkward and intrusive. There was no signature from hotel staff or maintenance nor an explanation of why they felt we needed that information.

It was only when we awoke the next morning that we realized the deplorable room conditions we had just slept in.

1. The pillowcases and comforters were stained
2 The carpet was dirty and not vacuumed
3. An outlet was broken (the top had no power to it and the bottom heated up our charger so much that it was difficult to handle in a matter of minutes)
4. Our Guest services book was missing all pages behind “Hotel Dining” – we had no idea if room service was available, what was available, what hours, etc
5. The stopper in our tub was pulled out of the drain unusable and was corroded
6. The bathroom ceiling was stained with what looked like mold
7. Our toilet waterline had a dirty ring around it
8. Wallpaper was peeling from several places in the room
9. The exhaust fan in the bathroom did not work and was caked in dust and dirt
10. The heating unit was filthy and also corroded

These were just the things we could see. Just the thought of what we could not see makes me physically ill.

As we returned to the hotel that night (just before midnight on the 18th) we could not find a single parking spot available. My husband went in to ask about additional parking and was directed to a lot across the street. The lot we were directed to had a sign that read, NO OVERNIGHT PARKING, No Hotel Parking, Parking for only (and then listed two other businesses). We went to the front desk after parking and spoke to someone who said he was a manager. We relayed our frustration only to be told that all of this information was on the blue slip of paper we were handed when we checked in. You will see from the attached copy that there is no specific mention of where to park, only that we should, as we did, speak with the front desk for direction. As an aside, this lot was not plowed well and we had to cross an icy street on a hill and walk the length of the block to get back to the hotel. Not very convenient or safe for your guests.

We then relayed all of the above items to this ‘manager’. His response was simply “I am sorry to hear that”. He never offered any solutions. He did not offer to put us in a new room, get a cleaning crew into the room or apologize and offer us a discount for the atrocious conditions of our room.

When we checked out the next morning, the front desk clerk never asked us how our stay was and seemed put off that we wanted a receipt.

This hotel is a hazard to guests. Mold, electrical issues and staff that clearly are not committed to the safety and well-being of their guests make this a disaster waiting to happen.

Do Not Stay Here!

Room Tip: The Lake View is not worth the risk of booking ANY room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ally S, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Crittrlvr,

I sincerely apologize about the issues you encountered while staying at our hotel. I appreciate your feedback, as it helps us in the future to make necessary changes to please our guests. I have spoken to both my Housekeeping and Maintenance Managers and I assure you we will have these things corrected right away. We also will be trying to ensure the road is plowed for the safety of our guest walking over from the overflow parking lot. We are hoping to be underway with a full remodel within the year. I do hope that maybe you will give us another chance so in the future we can exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    76
    93
    114
    65
See reviews for
111
133
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bagram, Afghanistan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Unfortunately, the Duluth Radisson has entirely too many aw craps.

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years.
First the attaboys:
The rooms seem to have had some maintenance done to them and are getting better. They're clean and have the amenities you'd expect to see at a Radisson, including sleep number beds. The harbor side rooms have a good view of the lake and downtown area. The rooms on the other side give you a good view of a dirty hillside business and residential area. The hotel has easy access to a ground floor sports bar, with a fairly responsive staff and decent food. There is also an overpriced, mediocre restaurant and lounge on the top floor that rotates. I believe this also provides the room service and food for the sports bar.
Now the aw craps:
The hotel is cramped into a tight downtown area. This is great for getting to Canal Park and the downtown stores, BUT it also means that the extreme lack of available parking can't be remedied. There's an overflow lot across the street that was also completely full during my most recent stay. Also, their snow removal service must have had the week off during my last stay since the main lot could have served as a motocross track with all the packed mounds of snow/ice on it. I learned this the hard way when a combination of a cold snap and snow mound tore the air dam off my car for a total of $2600 in damage. The overflow lot had the snow removed but it's on a slope and was sheer ice. There were several cars that couldn't make it from one (downhill) side to the other (uphill) and 4 wheel drive trucks were spinning. If equipment couldn't get in there to clean up the lot, management SHOULD have had people out there with shovels and scrapers to take care of it. Getting back to the rooms: the bathroom and sink area is packed in a small area like I would expect in a mid or lower range hotel. Another issue is the exceedingly busy elevators which sometimes take several minutes to pick you up. An apparent cost-saving measure is putting the vending machines on about every fourth floor. Not a big deal in itself, but if you're standing there waiting for an elevator just to get to them it gets aggravating. I've done the stairs on many occassions rather than wait.

Bottom line: I feel for the staff, who usually does their level best to make the most of the situation, but this hotel is not up to expectations from a Radisson.

Room Tip: The harbor side rooms have a good view of the lake and downtown area. The rooms on the other side g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was a disaster from beginning to end. The room was not as advertised. The hotel is old, run down, nothing was clean. The elevator wouldn't even stop on our floor...after 3 - 4 attempts we finally got off one floor below or above and walked the rest of the way. We wanted to order food after 9 pm but couldn't find any room service info, and the menu for delivery options was so outdated some of the numbers were no longer in service, and all the pricing was wrong. We chose the hotel for the proximity to the hockey arena - and we were happy the arena was within walking distance as the hotel shuttle was out of service. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Specialist, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best “Yes I Can!” service.To discuss your concern further, please contact Corporate Customer Care..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crookston, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The highlights of this hotel are its staff and its JJ Astor restaurant. The staff was very attentive and accommodating. We needed towels and they were delivered in less than 10 minutes. We also needed a plastic bag to take home some damp swimsuits and the housekeeping staff was very helpful. JJ Astor's is the restaurant on the top floor. It is a revolving restaurant, so you get great views of the harbor as well as the hillside. The service was impeccable and the food tasted as good as it looked. Downside would be that this property is dated. The door to our room took some muscle to open and the doors to the other rooms could be heard opening and closing. Lots of mirrors, but not very good lighting. The beds were fine, but the pillows were absolutely awful. The kids used the pool area and said it was sufficient. We have stayed here before, but may look elsewhere in the future, to see what else is available.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

They gave us a great deal for our swim team to stay, and we all were happy. We had a great room with a view of the lake. The pool area was nice and big, and accomidated our group nicely. The front desk staff was very nice. I was very concerned after reading all the bad reviews, but then was very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It was nice and very conviently located.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becca R, Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I am glad to see that your swim team had a great stay at Radisson Duluth and that our facility and location accommodated your group well. I hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Duluth. Good luck with the remainder of your season. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roseville, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've given your hotel an Average grade. For me, your hotel loses points for it's room issues but saves itself with customer service and location. With the exception of the lobby, the hotel is, in fact, quite dated. I was happy to hear that the property is expecting to begin full renovation in 2014. This is great news to us, because the hotel is perfectly located for access to the convention center and the main drag of downtown Duluth. Having stayed in countless hotels in my life, I know that not all properties can be brand new. One thing that is easy to control, and boost a guests experience, is level of customer service. When we brought issues to the attention of staff, we were met with quick and appropriate responses. Then, after check-out, we were quickly contacted by Director of Rooms to make sure that our issues were fixed to our satisfaction. They were. You can't always be the newest hotel in town, but good customer service will always shine through. We'll be happy to see what this hotel looks like after renovation in 2014.

Room Tip: Don't like the room? The lobby is very cozy for catching up on work or reading!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca R, Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of Radisson Duluth Harborview. I really appreciate your comments regarding our staff and I am very glad that they were the highlight of your stay. I hope that we will see you back after our renovation. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waconia, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was the 2nd time that we tried to stay at this hotel and it was terrible again! Room was terrible dirty, hadn't been cleaned, we found random garbage everywhere and it stunk like cigarettes even though it was a no smoking room. The entire building needs remodeling and for the amount of money that you spend in a night one would think that it wouldn't be that hard of an undertaking to do. Worst hotel we have ever had the misfortune of booking with and that's coming from someone who once stayed at a budget inn. Do yourself a favor and do NOT stay here!

Room Tip: No room is worth the stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becca R, Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Anna K,

Thank you for your recent stay at Radisson Duluth Harborview and for your review. We appreciate all guest feedback.

I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness or condition of the hotel.

We are in the beginning stages of planning a full room renovation that we expect to begin in 2014.

Please accept my sincere apology for your disappointment and feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your stay.

Sincerely,

Becca Richards
Director of Rooms
(218) 727-8981 ext 4001
becca.richards@radisson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview

Address: 505 West Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and newly renovated fitness center. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in the newly renovated lobby. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.