We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 West Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 20%
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Fort Calhoun NE
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Needs an update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is in need of an update. We were in the small unit behind the main hotel and the room was very old and tired. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Bathroom was good size and was clean.
Just stayed one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    110
    125
    146
    93
See reviews for
155
176
23
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel in just 1 word is DIRTY. Once you are past the lobby the clean ends there. I was on several different floors in the hotel all hallway carpets are stained. Our room the carpet was so stained and I would not walk on it barefoot, the sheets were inside out on our bed and let us not forget about the mold spots in the shower area. For the Radisson name and the cost of the room it is not worth paying anything to stay there. If I was not there for a wedding I would have stayed elsewhere and asked for a refund. Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Corporate at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We are looking forward to renovations at the end of this year or beginning of next year. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Staff is all very nice. The address brings you to the front of the Hotel but no signs as to where to go to sign in. Wondered around through the front door no signs once inside asked a guest getting onto the elevator where the front desk was he directed us one floor up and to the back of the building. The Hotel is very old and out dated. The sleep number beds are not comfortable at all. You couldn't lower below 50. The best part of the Hotel was the pool and the revolving restaurant. Don't park on the top level of the parking as it's not handicap accessible to inside the Hotel and they don't tell you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My colleague and I were booked at this hotel for one night. Upon arrival we walked into the lobby smelling of strong room freshening citrus odor. This was only on the main level in the lobby. The plaster on the wall was literally falling off all over the hotel.
We went into our room smelling of must. The bedspread was smelly and OLD and the sheets were stained. The floor was full of dog / pet hair. The bathroom wall was covered in mold. Floors were stained. This was filthy.
We were moved to a room down the hall. The carpet was not stained as much as room 1 but the sheets were stained, room smelled musty, bathrooms had mold on the walls, etc.
We called every hotel in the Duluth area to move but everything was full. We spoke to management who told us that we could move to the new building across the street. This room had a king bed and a pull out couch. There was a white clean looking down comforter on the bed, no stains on the sheets and no mold in the shower. The manager said if he had known we complained of room 1 he would not have sent us to room 2 because he knew it was in the same condition as room 1. Room 3 was acceptable for the night but only because there was nothing else available.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Corporate at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future as we are hoping to undergo renovations at the end of this year or beginning of next year. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Booked this hotel through Priceline, so perhaps that has something to do with the service and room quality that we received, though it's difficult to be sure.

On check in, the clerk was clipped and unfriendly. Our floor needed some serious TLC in terms of updating the decor and repairs. When we were ready to go to bed we discovered an apparent lack of sound insulation anywhere in the room. Every door opening and closing sounded like it was right in the room. Any time a toilet or shower was used in adjacent rooms we knew about it. When a fire engine went by outside, it sounded like it was right outside the window even though it was closed (and we were one the 10th floor!). The duvet cover was stained. I will say that the beds were comfortable enough, but the sleep number business just seemed like a gimmick to cover up the lack of decent mattresses.

This hotel wasn't even worth the $60 we paid to stay here - I can't imagine how I would have felt if I'd paid anywhere near their regular price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Corporate at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the accommodations during your stay and thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulda
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I thought this would be a great romantic get away hotel but it was kind of dumpy. The elevators take forever to get you anywhere. The roof top restaurant was cool and I knew it would be spendy but it was very spendy. No live jazz last weekend due to budget cuts.

The bed was OK and the room lay out decent it’s just all old and tired. The hotel is not smoke or pet free so watch where you stay. Over all it was overpriced for what it is and I would stay at a B&B or farther out at a Country Inn or something for a much better value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here on business for just over 3 weeks. I was put in the annex across from the main hotel, although there is an interconnecting bridge. Obviously going across the bridge enabled you to go back in time, as the decor, feel and look of the annex was from the 1980s. Perhaps retro 80s is your thing, but this certainly was not to the radisson standard that you would get in the UK. V disappointed. The room had a musty smoke smell, which as a non-smoker was all too obvious. The final straw was the family walking down the corridor with a couple of dogs. Great, if you are stopping on a trip for a day or 2 with your beloved canines, but not on business. Thankfully there was room in the main hotel and after simmering for 3 days, I moved.
The main hotel rooms are slightly smaller than the annex, but they were cleaner and the decor was brought forward to the 90s early noughties.
There was a new trainee on the desk and sadly he was left on his own and appeared clueless at times.
The hotel is well away from the main drag, although it does have the skywalk and you can stay under cover to most of the town.
There are no room safes and you have to use the reception, if they have a spare drawer for your valuables, not really good if you are an international traveller and have passports, cards, cash etc.
The best thing about the hotel is the bar downstairs, really friendly staff, a good selection of beers and if there's a crowd in, then good atmosphere. Also, the revolving restaurant, that I had breakfast in for +3 weeks also does good food in the evening.
There is so much potential for the hotel, but sadly, it is the wrong end of town and needs a lot of TLC if it is to live up to the radisson standards that you get in Europe. It's ideal to come off the freeway on a weekend break, but no more than a 2 day stay. Definitely not for a traveller on business.

Room Tip: Go for the main part of the hotel in a twin with a high room facing the park or bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview

Address: 505 West Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and newly renovated fitness center. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in the newly renovated lobby. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.