We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview

Save Saved
You added Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 West Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings of 20%
Ranked #28 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and kids during a visit to Duluth for vacation. It's not in Canal Park but it is in the downtown area and overlooking the park. If you want to walk around in Canal Park then I'd chose one of those hotels. If you have a car, this is a cool hotel to stay at. We really enjoyed ourselves here at the Radisson. The hotel is unique and the service was excellent. I'd stay here again and I think the value is good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Our hotel is centrally located and is very close to most of the area attractions. We do offer a shuttle servicethat is complimentary to our guests until midnight each day as well! Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review! Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    86
    98
    125
    73
See reviews for
128
145
21
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenora, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Online price through hotwire was great $82 tax in. Service was great - we booked a room with a fridge and upon checking in our room was lacking in that department - front desk staff upgraded us to a king suite no additional charge, beautiful room, comfy bed and pull out queen for the kids to stay on. Very clean, updated and downtown - stay on the fourth floor of tower, quiet and nice view. Will stay again next time in duluth.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower - nice view, rooms are recently redone
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Our hotel prides itself in being the top provider of "Yes I Can" service in the city. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Hearing comments like that, makes us look forward to coming to work every day. We hope to see you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We went to Duluth in a blizzard during hockey tournament season - it was a zoo. However, the hotel management was excellent. They had trouble with some of the hotel rooms being heated, so we did not get our reserved king-size bed, but we got two queens and a discount and two free drink coupons. We ate at the revolving restaurant, J.J. Aster, and it is fabulous - the food, the view and the service. And if you've never tried out a "sleep number" bed, this is the place you'll be able to do that. And did I mention the view was fantastic?

Room Tip: Ask for a upper-level floor - the views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you so much for posting a review regarding your recent stay with us! Hearing reviews/comments like this is what makes us look forword to coming to work each day!
Thank you again! We hope to see you back here again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

My family and i stayed one night. We got there at 5pm check in was at 3 and room still wasn't ready. Room was not cleaned very well, beds were unbelievably uncomfortable, and there was a dog barking in next room half the night. Will not stay again....

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I actually love this hotel, but it has significant problems, and some really wonderful pluses. We would definitely stay here again, assuming we got the right room.

PROS:
1. Our online price was great at $82 with tax. Also, there's free parking.
2. The restaurant on the top floor is an upscale place with really good food, a late night happy hour, and best of all, it rotates so you get an amazing view. But its pricey and they turn off the rotation at 10 p.m. It was also very empty on Saturday night.
3. Rooms are large, TV is large with pay channels, good water pressure and there's a coffee maker in the room.
4. Beds were bed bug free!

CONS:
1. Sleep number beds did not work. Both double beds in our room (1108) lost air and the controller did not show the accurate setting. Also, both beds were lumpy though we could each find a flat spot and sleep fairly comfortably.
2. The NOISE was incredible. I wear ear plugs and I was still woken up twice during the night due to the neighboring fire department. The alarm was in the fire station, meant to get the guys woken up and out the door. So, it lasted a really long time (at least 10 minutes both times) and it didn't fade away like it would have if it were attached to a truck. Our room was facing the hill side and the fire department was slightly south. Try to book a room facing the lake side and slightly north. Of course, having a lake view is a plus too.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a lake facing room, not just for the view, but because they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed one night during a snowstorm. The first 3 rooms we took all had to be replaced because they all had leaks at the windows facing the lake and their carpets were soaked. They eventually moved us to the 7th floor with a hill view. No issues there. I told the friendly, helpful service oriented clerk "Nikolai" to make sure he informed both the manager and maintainance department to fix the leaks and inspect for mould (who knows how long this had gone on for). Beware of staying here unless you ask if this was addressed.

Room Tip: Right now make sure you don't take a lakeside room unless they prove to you there's no mould...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This hotel stay had a number of issues, the first being on a Thursday night, there was NO PLACE to park in the ramp next to the hotel, so we were told to park in a lot across the street and to put a hotel-given paper slip in our windshield, presumably so we wouldn't get ticketed or towed. The next morning, our vehicle was still where we left it, but there was a not-so-nice handwritten note under our windshield wiper. Hopefully it was only b/c the person neglected to pay attention and (s)he was having a bad day.

#2 issue: Radisson touts the Sleep Number beds.....we could go the rest of our lives without sleeping in another one. Since our room was a blind-bid purchase, we did not a premiere view of Lake Superior. The city view was not bad, though. However, we had two double-beds instead of one queen bed. Each of us took a bed and tried out the Sleep Number. The remotes did not work well; It started at 100 which was the firmest setting, but deflating it down to 25 (which was noted as average/most popular), it was too soft. Even after further adjustment, it was not a completely restful night.

I would only stay here again if there was a special savings deal on the room rate. Otherwise, it is not worth the effort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that you had a difficult time parking, and that you had a "not so nice" note on your windshield. It is a common practice for our guests to park in the overflow parking lot, and it is known and accepted by the parking lot owner that hotel guests park there. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Our sleepnumber beds are loved by most and hated by others. We do have some rooms that do not have the sleepnumber beds that you can request upon making your next reservation.

We are in the process of renovating our guest rooms, and are making great progress!

Please come and stay with us again when travels bring you our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview

Address: 505 West Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and newly renovated fitness center. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in the newly renovated lobby. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.