We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   909 Cottonwood Avenue, Hwy 53 North & Hwy 194, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Thunder Bay ON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

We went to Days Inn back in August 2008 , for Labour Day .
Well , very nice place indeed! Well kept and very clean enviroment , with an amazing breakfast available.
The location is great too, very close to the Mall and other big retailers.
Definetely worth staying here.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    231
    116
    20
    18
See reviews for
179
176
46
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

This Days Inn was very clean and neat. If only all Days Inns were as good at this one!

The only negative, and the reason I am not giving it five stars, is that the room safe charge is $1.50 , and they won't take it off the bill until check out if the safe is declined. These room safes are a cash cow for motels

  • Liked — very clean and neat
  • Disliked — the $1.50 room safe charge. That's the only negative, but caused my rating to be lowered 1 *
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

We stayed at the Days Inn over the weekend. We booked 2 queen bed rooms. The rooms were a bit small, however it did have a table with chairs and was just what we needed. The hot tub was big and provided a nice spot to relax. The hotel was located by several good dining places (ie. Applebee's, Old Country Buffet...) and a grocery store.

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful! Upon arrival they quickly checked us in and called up to the room to make sure everything looked good. They also helped us with directions to Spirit Mountain, taxi info and estimated price (It's about $10-$13 to Canal Park +tip).

The continetal breakfast was good for the price we paid to stay at the hotel. Bagels, english muffins, bread, muffins, and cereal along with milk, juice and coffee. I was pleased to see bagels and cream cheese! Thier soda machines were priced fair as well at a $1.25.

Overall we would definately stay here again. If you're looking for something simple and cost effective Days Inn is for you!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftsbury, Vermont
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2007

This Days Inn is your typical Airport Hotel. It is a very easy drive from the airport right near several basic restaurants, and across the road from a shopping mall. It’s a boxy brick building, with a no frill exterior, but there is a lot of parking set up in such a way that it is all close the door to the lobby.

Check in was fast and easy. The staff at the front desk was helpful and friendly, greeting you each time with a smile. I will say that the lobby could use some updating, or at the least a whole new remodel to get away from the walking into a prison feel you get. It’s cold and stark in looks; think high school hallways.

The rooms however were wonderful. They seem to have been decorated fairly resonantly, with pleasant colors, and new bedspreads. The beds were quite comfortable, and there were plenty of extra pillows, a big plus for those of us who read in bed. The room was quite, I never once heard any noise from outside, and the coffee maker in the room was a plus first thing in the morning. I will say that the bathroom was rather tiny, and the shower head must have been installed for the use of children only. I am only 5’4” and I looked over the top of the shower head, washing my hair required that I bend over.

Don’t waist your time with their free breakfast. The only thing it has going for it is speed. No choices, and the milk for the cereal was warm the day I was there. It may be a free breakfast, but I’m sure it was worth even that cost. Don’t worry the ladies at the front desk will direct you to several nice restaurants near by, with good food that you will actually want to eat.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel when we moved our daughter into UMD. We stayed in a ground level room, which was clean, with the exception of a urine stain on the base of the toilet, and a stained bedspread. At 3:30 in the morning, we awoke to someone standing outside our window, pounding on the window of the room above us. I would try this hotel again, but would request an upper level, and would do a thorough room check upon entry. The continental breakfast and convenient location were great, especially if you like Starbucks and shopping!

  • Liked — low price, convenient
  • Disliked — small, dark room
  • Tips/Secrets — Do a thorough room check>
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnneapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2006

We stayed in a room with a queen bed, while the room was not large it was clean. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast choices were bagels, english muffins, toast , two kinds of cereal, coffee, tea, apple and orange juice, and milk. Only 5-10 min from downtown duluth and right across from a shopping mall with many resturants close by. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2005

I have stayed possibly some ten times in this hotel on business trips with durations of just overnight to up to a week. Comfortable, clean and spacious rooms with friendly staff. Walls a bit thin, so your neighbours alarm clock will wake you up unless yours has woken them up first ! Breakfast is continental variety, so you help yourself. Can get busy if you eat at peak time. Situated directly across the road from a shopping mall with various eating places to try. Hotel is set back from road so traffic noise not a problem. Particularly good $$ value outside peak holiday periods. Not much for children to do.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall

Address: 909 Cottonwood Avenue, Hwy 53 North & Hwy 194, Duluth, MN 55811
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn Miller Hill Mall is located just minutes from major recreational areas and the stunning north woods beauty. The all new beautifully decorated interior and superb customer service will make you glad you chose to stay at the Days Inn Miller Hill Mall. Located one block north off the junction of Highway 53 North and Highway 194, the Miller Hill Mall is just across the street and is the largest retail mall in northern Minnesota. Duluth is Minnesota's largest city outside of the Twin Cities area. With its lakeside setting and an incredible array of things to do, Duluth offers both excitement and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Duluth
Days Inn Duluth
Duluth Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.