We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite satisfactory” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   909 Cottonwood Avenue, Hwy 53 North & Hwy 194, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Thunder Bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quite satisfactory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Nothing fancy but well located for our purpose (shopping and getaway trip to Duluth from Thunder Bay) and very good value. Will stay at hotel on future visits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    229
    115
    20
    18
See reviews for
179
175
46
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

from the front desk staff throughout, a very pleasant and comfortable stay. If you prefer quiet take a room in the back away from the street. We found the breakfast quite substantial and the afternoon popcorn is a nice touch, cookies at 8 pm make it just like home.

Room Tip: could use an extra chair in the room , available if requested .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Caney, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

stayed there for 2 weeks, had no microwaves in room, had to walk down to lobby to heat up my food. I travel for work and usually stay at places for weeks at a time, therefore I shop for groceries and expect to have fridge and microwaves in the rooms, however I find this to be more and more unlikely....however, the staff was friendly, and the rooms were clean, didn't eat the breakfast so can't comment on that...

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Days Inn Duluth is very conveniently located right across from Miller Hill Mall, very close to other shopping and restaurants. It has a convenient and fairly-well stocked continental breakfast with fresh waffles, cereals, baked goods, toast, english muffins, fruit, yogourt etc. I just don't understand why it cost $149/night + tax. There is nothing that great about it. The building is ugly, the rooms are VERY basic and the bathrooms are tiny.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel was older, with dirty carpet, and a strong cigarette smell. The beds and other furniture looked newer, but we discovered bedbugs at 2:00 in the morning and had to pack up and leave. They refunded the room charge, but were booked up, so we couldn't change rooms.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluthmanager, General Manager at Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We take the recent incident concerning bed buds very seriously. We did in fact have bed bugs in one (and only one) room recently. We immediately called our pest control agent and they came in and used the most advanced method available, which is heating the room to 140 degrees and keeping it there for five hours. That is followed by an additional chemical treatment. The heat process guarantees 100% success in elimination of the pests. It is very important to understand that when a hotel discovers bed bugs, they way they got there is people (guests) unknowingly bring them in. That is why this can happen at any hotel, any time, whether it is a five star hotel or an economy hotel, it can happen anywhere. The problem in the one room we had has been eliminated. The staff at ALL hotels must be very diligent in being on the lookout for this problem, and we will as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed one night at the end of our Lake Superior circle tour...nice hotel with an ok breakfast! Very convenient too as they are located across from the big mall, Kohls, Target, etc. room was clean and comfortable and desk staff were friendly. No real complaints! I have stayed here many times over the last 40 years!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful in finding a good restaurant.
They served a good breakfast in the am; popcorn in the afternoon and cookies in the evening. This was a very nice touch for travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall

Address: 909 Cottonwood Avenue, Hwy 53 North & Hwy 194, Duluth, MN 55811
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn Miller Hill Mall is located just minutes from major recreational areas and the stunning north woods beauty. The all new beautifully decorated interior and superb customer service will make you glad you chose to stay at the Days Inn Miller Hill Mall. Located one block north off the junction of Highway 53 North and Highway 194, the Miller Hill Mall is just across the street and is the largest retail mall in northern Minnesota. Duluth is Minnesota's largest city outside of the Twin Cities area. With its lakeside setting and an incredible array of things to do, Duluth offers both excitement and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Duluth
Days Inn Duluth
Duluth Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.