We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick mini vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Quick mini vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We found this hotel when we decided to take a quick trip to Duluth to visit relatives. The location is right of the highway and easy to find although it is in a commercial area and the noise from Semis is quite loud. The rooms were comfortable and beds were great. There was a reception in the evening which was nice - hot dogs, chips, etc. Great addition since we were going out for a late dinner. The breakfast in the morning was great - the ladies there were constantly refilling and cleaning. I would stay here again for a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    86
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
68
68
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Muskego, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

What a lovely hotel. The Staff is the first attraction to the hotel from the moment that we made our reservation through our stay we were treated with outstanding hospitality. Wonderful facility with a great room, pool, hot tub, evening bar and a breakfast that is continually refilled with fresh food. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you for your review! It is so great to hear you had such a nice time as our guest! Your comments give us such motivation to keep providing a great stay experience to each and every person who stays with us. We're so glad to hear we've earned your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again. Amanda Kasie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crookston, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel was super easy to find and access from the interstate. Staff was friendly and check-in was quick and efficient. The room was spacious and sound quality was good. Comfortable beds and linens. The room was clean and everything worked. The complimentary breakfast offered a good variety of choices from eggs and bacon to waffles and assorted breads, as well as fruits, cereals, yogurt and coffee. Check-out was also quick and the staff was friendly. The kids enjoyed the pool area. Would stay here again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel was an unpleasant surprise! The room almost knocked us over with the smell of cigarette smoke as soon as we opened the door. Friends traveling with us had the same problem with their room! Of course the hotel was booked solid and we just couldn't be moved to a different room even though it was only 5:30 when we arrived. The desk clerk said the only option available was to run the sanitizer machine in the rooms and since all other hotels in the area were booked, we didn't have much choice. The process would take 1/2 hour for each room and we could not be in the rooms while the machine was running. So we waited in the lobby area for an hour (1/2 hour per room, only one machine) which was not unbearable but annoying. Luckily the machine took care of the problem for the most part.

One wonders why the rooms aren't checked for such things prior to the guest's arrival? The manager did give us a discounted room rate after several minutes of discussion the next morning and 1000 points on our Comfort Inn loyalty card, but as I said it was an unpleasant surprise. And one we'll remember next time we select a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the unpleasant odor you encountered in your room. Our goal is to ensure each guest has an enjoyable time in Duluth and at our hotel and I am disappointed we were not able to provide you with the experience you expected. Occasionally, we do have other hotel guests who choose to smoke in our smoke free facility. I will follow up with the housekeeping staff to ensure they are following proper procedures when this happens. Thank you again for your comments. I hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a more positive stay experience. Amanda Kasie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was a very nice hotel. Located right off 35. Easy on and easy off. The front desk staff was pleasant and I was greeted right away. Rooms were nice and clean. Pool area was clean also. Huge lobby area that served a big free breakfast in the morning. They had a nice happy hour and they also served up hot dogs and chips that night. That was a pleasant surprise considering eating out with a family of 5 on vacation can get a little expensive. Overall this was a very nice hotel and we got a lot of bang for our buck. The one downfall was the soda machine was out of Mt Dew in bottles so I had to settle for a can.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We spent a night here at the end of our trip to Duluth. Just off I-35S and minutes from the Canal Park entertainment district. Quick check in with a friendly young lady. Our room was good-sized and quiet. A safe is provided which we didn't use but paid for anyway. Ample parking. Neighborhood is nothing to get excited about, mostly commercial and industrial. The indoor pool looked nice, but we didn't use it.

Only real negative was the high price for the room, almost as much as being on the lakefront downtown, but we needed a place to sleep. A good hot breakfast was provided, which we've come to expect from Choice Hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid being near the elevator, because the ice machines near there are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel over 30 times the past 3+ years. The front desk staff is consistently friendly, with quick check-in/out. I have always made my reservations thru choicehotels.com, which has to do with their efficiency and preparation.

The room is always clean with a comfortable bed. My last trip included a 20% off coupon for a local restaurant "G.B. Schnieider's" which is close and had great food.

The breakfast is always plentiful, good quality in an adequate space. Although, just off I-35 and 40th Ave. W., I have never had a problem with traffic noise. This facility is only 5 minutes from the Canal Park Exit downtown and unless you want to be in the middle of the tourist action so you can walk to local attractions, this hotel is a great deal and quality off the beaten path.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.