We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value on the West side!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Eau Claire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Value on the West side!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've been a regular guest at another hotel further to the west which recently changed to another franchise. My move to this location has been not been a disappointment. Very friendly people, clean rooms, very nice breakfast and Lobby areas as well. Great pool area and considerably more common areas than most hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the extra time to review our hotel! I have shared your great comments with the entire staff and they join me in thanking you. Our goal in hospitality is to provide the great things you mentioned. I hope we have earned your business and will see you on your next visit to the area. Amanda Kasie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    99
    10
    11
    5
See reviews for
83
76
6
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Giving this a 4 rather than a 5 due to the room's location -- right next to the stairs. As well as the noise from the hallway.
The stairwell is open and peeps traipsed up and down and down and up over, and over, and over... boom! boom! boom! And then the yelling would ensue in the hallway. Guess I can't blame the hotel for that other than to say better sound proofing would be in order. Close the stairway after 10pm or so.
BUT! we did so love the beds, pillows and sheets. Oh so comfortable - truly a comfort inn. I'm thinking of calling and asked what sheets/pillows/mattresses they use I liked them so well.
The place was very clean, nice layout, good parking area, welcoming front desk people.
Only the noise was an issue.

Room Tip: Stay AWAY from the stairs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I’m sorry to hear you encountered noise from guests during your stay. I agree that when the hotel is busier there can be more traffic throughout our hallways and stairs and with that, more of a chance for noise to travel. Unfortunately, due to fire code, we are not able to close them at any time. Soundproofing is a great idea. I will mention it at our next budget meeting. It is fabulous to hear you loved the beds! We have a new bedding package and it’s great to know we lived up to our name. We are planning an update with our guest room beds so I hope you get a chance to return and try those out too! Amanda Kasie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

There were some great things about this hotel. The room was quite clean, except they forgot to wipe down the top and inside bottom of the closet unit. That may seem trivial, but there was so little storage space, that we needed to use those surfaces. The room was spacious, as was the bathroom, but there was only 1 tiny towel rack suitable for hand towels, with no place to hang bath towels, which made it quite difficult with 3 in the room. They served a nice breakfast, daily, and the workers taking care of breakfast did a wonderful job keeping food available and surfaces cleaned off. The folks cleaning the rooms were pleasant and helpful. One of the workers at the desk, (N), was just wonderful and helpful. That ends the positives, sadly. There was only toilet paper on the dispenser, but no extra roll in the bathroom, so we asked the person at the front desk for another roll. Her first response was why we needed another roll. Really? Did she want an explanation? She did finally provide the TP, but we could hardly believe the initial response. Most other interactions with that person were equally offensive. The pool was not cleaned properly, and the chlorine level was so high that it bleached out the swim suits, even though we rinsed them out immediately after use. Also, one of our party came back to the room after swimming feeling like his skin was numb and like he had received gas at the dentist's office. He was light headed and very uncomfortable, including very sensitive skin on his side and back. Chlorine poisoning??? The overnight noise was super difficult. I would recommend being on the top floor, if you decide to stay here, because the builders and designers cut every possible corner, making the building absolutely NOT sound proof in any way. The people on the second floor were running, stomping, and slamming things until well after midnight. When we went to the front desk to ask for some help getting those on 2nd floor to quiet down, the person first told us there wasn't anyone in the room above us. When we challenged that statement because of the noise, she then said she would call the room. The next morning, we stopped by the desk to thank them for making the call to quiet down those above us, and we were told that those people were checking out, so there wouldn't be a repeat of the problem. Dishonest? What was the motivation to lie to us in the first place about the room above us being empty? Did she believe we would get up very late just to make up some fake noise? Did someone allow buddies to have the room without paying and keep it off the records? The dishonesty didn't stop there. When we asked them to review the video of the hallways because of someone pounding on the door later in the evening, the claim was that there was nobody in the halls, at all. That was, of course, totally untruthful. Again, what was the motivation for the lies? The bottom line is that we will never stay there, again, and we just cannot recommend this place to anyone. While we certainly understand that some guests in hotels just don't have the manners to care about the comfort of other guests, it is how things are handled to solve any problems that comes into question, that those solutions are the total responsibility of the staff. When there is even 1, but in this case, 2, members of the staff who act inappropriately, it will ruin it for all those who work so diligently to have a clean, comfortable, and pleasant facility. I rate the service as poor ONLY because of the attitude and behavior of 2 at the reception desk, but not all. I rate the sleep quality as terrible because of he noise. I rate the rooms as average only because of no sound protection and no place to hang bath towels or wet swim suits. I rate the restaurant as average mostly because there really wasn't a restaurant. They served breakfast and snacks. I rate the kids' activities as poor because of the problems with the pool (very dangerous).

Room Tip: Rooms on side toward highway noisier. Top floor room quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
On behalf of the entire staff, I would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. Our mission statement is to "Provide an Extraordinary Experience to Every Guest, Every Day" and we have failed to do so with you. I have shared your comments with the entire team and taken action researching each of them. Amanda Kasie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We like Comfort Inns and this one was no exception. After reading other reviews, we stayed here one night on our way up the North Shore. The staff was about the friendliest we have encountered. Whatever the management is doing to keep them happy is working. While not in the downtown area, the location is convenient to most of Duluth easily via the Interstate. The hotel offers several things we have not seen in a Comfort Inn before, including a Happy Hour with munchies and reduced-price drinks. They also had cookies, which we forgot to sample. While the hotel is not new, it is very clean and well kept. Our one complaint is the mattress. This one should be changed, as it sagged towards the middle. Since it was a king, we found the 'low spots' before we ran into each other but it was not as comfortable as some. Even though it is near the highway, the room was very quiet. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good value and don't feel the need to stay right on the water.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
I would like to thank you for your review. Your comments truly mean a lot to myself and the entire staff. It's great you were able to take advantage of the extras such as the weekday hospitality hour-which is a fun thing for us to offer our guests! I do want to apologize for the condition of your room mattress. Providing our guests with a great night's sleep is at top priority and along with the new bedding, our mattresses must be just as comfortable. I have since placed an order and have tested out other beds in the hotel to ensure they are up to our standards. I hope to see you again on your next visit to Duluth! Amanda Kasie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel on June 8th-June 10th and had a five star experience. The room was clean, had a large bathroom and a clean jacuzzi tub. The hotel staff was exceptional in accomodating any requests we had. The breakfast buffet was fully stocked and the food was great! The hotel has a nice charm to it that made you want to return to it after a full day of exploring the city. We both look forward to returning next time we take a trip down to Duluth.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
I would like to thank you for sharing your comments and writing this wonderful review. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time in Duluth and had a "five star experience" with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon. - Amanda Kasie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Booked on Hotwire after staying many times elsewhere in Duluth, and not being sure where else to try. What a good surprise we got with the Comfort Inn West! We had a queen room and the beds/pillows were very comfortable. The location is nice and quiet with little to no outside noise coming in. The washroom was very large and had all the necessary amenities, and then some extra shampoo on top (and no low-budget shower heads in this hotel)! Overall the room was very clean and the lobby/breakfast area was very warm and inviting. The breakfast is great... waffles, bacon, eggs, and the usual continental breakfast items. We will be returning - no questions asked!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Isn't it great when surprises are a good thing? I'm so glad to hear you chose us by chance and will now be returning again! The hospitality business is all about providing the things you mentioned in your review and it's so great you shared your thoughts - THANK YOU. We can't wait to see you again.-Amanda Kasie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel is clean, rooms large, and provide the level of service expected from a Comfort Inn. The sheets, pillows were good. The bed comfortable. The towels were a bit thin and worn. The staff were efficient and polite. Overall, the hotel is fine and it is convenient to the highway. The rest of the neighborhood as nothing to offer as it is in adjacent to the highway and industrial properties.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, General Manager at Comfort Inn West, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about the Comfort Inn - West. Although your review was positive, I would like to apologize that we didn't STAND OUT and give you an exceptional stay. Our goal is to WOW our hotel guests and I am truly sorry we missed out on the opportunity to provide you with that extra special something! I truly appreciate your business and hope you'll stay with us again so we can make it right. -Amanda Kasie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
3.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#4 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.