We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls shopping trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Girls shopping trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

A friend and I travelled to Duluth for a girl's shopping trip and stayed here for the night after getting a good deal on Hotwire. Nice clean rooms, very convenient location to shopping. Area is a little sketchy but we didn't hang around outside. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool. Continental breakfast was perfect for us in the morning as we were both content with yogurt, fruit and toast. You could hear people up and laughing and talking quite late into the night which wad annoying but overall good place to rest for a night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    90
    9
    11
    5
See reviews for
69
70
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We fly in night and usually stay the night here when coming in before we head North. This hotel is consistently great and the staff is always helpful and pleasant. We have actually come in when we were not able to get a car and the hotel has arranged to have someone come get us even after 11 at night. The rooms are always clean and there are cookies in the lobby, breakfasts are very good and we have never had any issues. There are families that use this hotel as it has a great pool and it is nice to get out in the winter. We would really recommend this hotel as a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

A quick unplanned overnighter turned into a pleasant evening. The hotel was clean and comfortable with amazing staff. The pool area was just prefect with the sauna, hot tub and pool area. The area left a little to be desired but was only a short drive to Miller Hill Mall. Would definatlety stayy again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was the best I have had yet, with a lot of choices (and it was very popular both mornings we were there). I give the hotel itself a great score, BUT if you want a quiet stay this might not be the best choice. The first night a drunken few women who were apparently staying in the room next to ours graduated from knocking, to pounding, to kicking the door to try to get the person inside the room to let them in (all the while the person inside kept calling out "Come in" - which repeatedly put these women into fits of giggles and encouraged them to try harder/louder). I called the front desk when the kicking started at midnight (our whole family was awakened by this ruckus) and the staff member was apologetic and extremely kind. The noise stopped within a few moments of my call. The next morning the staff were more than willing to move us to another room, though our neighbors weren't staying on, so it wasn't necessary. The second night there was a lot of door slamming and kids running up and down the halls until a while after ten. This isn't the staffs' fault, and I'm aware of this. The only complaint I can actually pin on the hotel is that the window must not have sealed well, because it was windy the first night and we were treated to a kazoo festival in our room. We tried opening and shutting the window a few times, but nothing helped. That was the same night as the door kickers, so we were all pretty tired the next morning. Would we stay there again? Not sure just yet, we will have to wait and see. Getting a good night's sleep is nice, and knowing there's a good chance that might not happen I would be inclined to say it would not be our very first choice. Great work on the breakfast and awesome staff though!!

Room Tip: The end of the hall might be a quieter choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
689 reviews 689 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
836 helpful votes 836 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel itself is run very well. The staff is very friendly and things are well maintained. We were given a room at the very end of hall near the stairwell and window on the second floor. When we approached our room after 10pm for the first time 2 teenage girls were sitting on the floor chatting next to our room near the stairs and window. We told them we would appreciate no noise because we were tired. They politely moved. The second night we went out and returned for the evening around 10pm AGAIN the 2 girls were sitting on the floor outside our door talking. Again they politely moved after telling them we could hear their conversation in our room and perhaps a more public place with chairs would be better for all of us. These were nice girls in a remote spot at night near a stairwell with an outside door in a hotel on the weekend. As a parent I can't imagine this being a safe scenario for the girls. Also being next to this stairwell you could hear the outside door and people clomping up the stairs. Half the time when it disturbed me it was the security guard. The room was not as quiet as I had hoped. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The towels were not plush, but not horrible. Pool area was very nice, so bring a swimsuit. The hot tub felt nice after hiking all day to the ice caves. Free coffee all day is very nice. The breakfast was substantial. Overall a well run facility. I still prefer to stay in Canal Park, but this is a decent alternative.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were fortunate to find a room available in this hotel on the Saturday of the start of Spring Break. As usual, the room was adequate for our needs, the bed and pillows were comfortable and the bathroom well appointed with lots of linens and toiletries. We find the staff at this hotel very friendly and welcoming, even though the hotel was at capacity. We would suggest if you wish to have a quieter stay, to ask for a room on the upper floor, on the parking lot side of the building. Because there were so many families staying here, the kids running up and down the halls, and particularly in the room above ours, were very noisy. Fortunately, the noise quieted down around midnight, but we could hear the vacuum going over the carpets at 8 in the morning. That is not the hotel's fault, but I mention it in case you are wanting to have more peace and quiet than we got on this stay. Overall we love this hotel and do not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Upper floor on the parking lot side for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here during the heart of winter and it was still a beautiful view of Lake Superior. The cost was affordable and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were very spacious and clean. We were only there for one night but am looking forward to going back in the summer months to enjoy the shopping and eats at canal park!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.