We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Minnesota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Inn has been updated recently and has new bedding and furniture.
We were welcomed very well at the check in desk. Kiefer I believe is how
his name was spelled was very helpful. He gave us coupons to use at
the hospitality bar cart and a choice of rooms. The heating unit in our
room was so quiet we could barely hear it. This is a huge plus for us.
The lobby was spacious,clean and decorated for Christmas.
He also gave us a great tip for dinner. The GBSchneider bar and grill
on Grand ave. gbschneider.com.
The breakfast was clean well attended and supplied with fresh food.
The workers including a young woman named Roberta were very
pleasant and helpful.
We go Duluth every few months to visit family. The Comfort Inn west
is right off of I 35 and very convenient. We will stay there again.
We are Choice Privilege members and this is one of the very best
comfort inns.

Room Tip: Make a reservation and ask for the room you prefer. Quieter on second floor or near the pool. What...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    79
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
62
65
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

From the outside, this place did not appear appealing. Once inside, it was a completely different story. Extremely clean and inviting. The lobby was comfortable with nice couches and chairs. They even have a small "bar" (actually a liquor cart) that is staffed in the evening if you so desire. Did not use the pool but it looked decent. The complimentary hot breakfast was very good and plentiful.
The room was extremely clean. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Easy to adjust temperature inside the room. The bathroom was large and shower had good water pressure. I heard a little traffic noise but not enough to keep any of us awake. The hotel was busy but was not bothered by noise from other guest. I would stay here again for sure.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the last week of July 2013. Staff were friendly and helpful. The pool area is clean so are the rooms. Close to shopping and tourist attractions and the I-35. I would definitely go back and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This was a typical Comfort Inn. The room was okay, quiet. We asked for 2nd floor to be certain we weren't assigned a room that had had pets. Had trouble finding this property using our cell phone GPS and the clerk at the desk could not give adequate directions. Otherwise staff was pleasant. Paid in advance to get lower rate - still seemed a bit expensive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great location. Not far from Canal Park or Superior! The room was clean and updated! They have a happy hour where they offer appetizers, they had meatball sliders one night and build your own nachos another! Very friendly and helpful in finding good places to eat! Easy access to the highway.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Comfort Inn West exceeded our expectations. It is an excellent option if you have your own transportation. The cab fare from the Duluth Airport was just under $40. Otherwise we would highly recommend this establishment.

Everything is clean and tidy. Very helpful staff. Easy access from I-35. We will no doubt use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I love this place. We have stayed there in the summer and fall. The front desk is always friendly and helpful. Such a nice hot breakfast- the gals really keep it stocked. The location is great. Just a few minutes drive from Canal Park. The beds and pillows are so cozy. Great night of sleep! Great pool area. Rooms always clean. This is the only place for us in Duluth!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.