We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Clean Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Service, Clean Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the last week of July 2013. Staff were friendly and helpful. The pool area is clean so are the rooms. Close to shopping and tourist attractions and the I-35. I would definitely go back and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leimars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This was a typical Comfort Inn. The room was okay, quiet. We asked for 2nd floor to be certain we weren't assigned a room that had had pets. Had trouble finding this property using our cell phone GPS and the clerk at the desk could not give adequate directions. Otherwise staff was pleasant. Paid in advance to get lower rate - still seemed a bit expensive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Retired06x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Not far from Canal Park or Superior! The room was clean and updated! They have a happy hour where they offer appetizers, they had meatball sliders one night and build your own nachos another! Very friendly and helpful in finding good places to eat! Easy access to the highway.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kagtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Comfort Inn West exceeded our expectations. It is an excellent option if you have your own transportation. The cab fare from the Duluth Airport was just under $40. Otherwise we would highly recommend this establishment.

Everything is clean and tidy. Very helpful staff. Easy access from I-35. We will no doubt use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willyum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I love this place. We have stayed there in the summer and fall. The front desk is always friendly and helpful. Such a nice hot breakfast- the gals really keep it stocked. The location is great. Just a few minutes drive from Canal Park. The beds and pillows are so cozy. Great night of sleep! Great pool area. Rooms always clean. This is the only place for us in Duluth!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim38EdenPrairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is probably the best Comfort Inn we have stayed in. We were warmly greeted by the front desk personnel upon arrival and they were very pleasant and helpful throughout our two night stay. The pool was clean and refreshing. The room was extra large, nicely furnished and the beds were adorned with lovely bedding. The mini kitchenette was a delightful surprise and the extra long bathroom counter was most useful. The shower pressure and stream were most invigorating and the water was hot. While we did not have the opportunity to sample the complimentary pulled BBQ sandwiches, we did stop at the cash bar and enjoy a cocktail before returning to our room. The bartender was a polite and efficient young man (of age) who provided us with some pleasant conversation. We ate breakfast at the hotel on both mornings of our stay. The selection was ample and the food was hot, tasty and abundant. There is a nice, economical family restaurant and bar a few blocks from the hotel. The hotel is very conveniently located right off of 35W.

Room Tip: We believe that most all of the rooms would be a good selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimareeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
216 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Based on reviews by Trip Advisor, we choose this location while in Duluth for the North Shore Scenic Drive. The lady at check-in was very helpful with making suggestions on restaurants and attractions. She gave us a discount booklet and show us where we could find additional information on the area. The hotel has a courtesy snack from 5-7pm - the 1st night was chili and the 2nd night we stayed was pulled pork sandwiches. They have a little side bar where you can purchase drinks and have nightly specials. They also provided coffee & hot water for tea 24 hours a day. We had 2 queen size beds in a very clean room. Both bed had 2 soft pillows and 2 hard pillows for your choice. The bathroom had a vanity mirror, full size door mirror and a swivel magnified mirror which made it nice for getting ready in the morning. The pool area offer a nice size pool and whirl pool – we did not try the sauna room. The pool is open from 8am to 11pm (10pm for kids). Breakfast provided the usual food but also bacon (sausage the next day) scramble eggs, several types of yogurt, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, different flavor waffles and even a cappuccino maker.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KC4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#10 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing