We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 31 hotels in Duluth
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hard to find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This was a typical Comfort Inn. The room was okay, quiet. We asked for 2nd floor to be certain we weren't assigned a room that had had pets. Had trouble finding this property using our cell phone GPS and the clerk at the desk could not give adequate directions. Otherwise staff was pleasant. Paid in advance to get lower rate - still seemed a bit expensive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    62
    5
    7
    4
See reviews for
48
54
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great location. Not far from Canal Park or Superior! The room was clean and updated! They have a happy hour where they offer appetizers, they had meatball sliders one night and build your own nachos another! Very friendly and helpful in finding good places to eat! Easy access to the highway.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Comfort Inn West exceeded our expectations. It is an excellent option if you have your own transportation. The cab fare from the Duluth Airport was just under $40. Otherwise we would highly recommend this establishment.

Everything is clean and tidy. Very helpful staff. Easy access from I-35. We will no doubt use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I love this place. We have stayed there in the summer and fall. The front desk is always friendly and helpful. Such a nice hot breakfast- the gals really keep it stocked. The location is great. Just a few minutes drive from Canal Park. The beds and pillows are so cozy. Great night of sleep! Great pool area. Rooms always clean. This is the only place for us in Duluth!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is probably the best Comfort Inn we have stayed in. We were warmly greeted by the front desk personnel upon arrival and they were very pleasant and helpful throughout our two night stay. The pool was clean and refreshing. The room was extra large, nicely furnished and the beds were adorned with lovely bedding. The mini kitchenette was a delightful surprise and the extra long bathroom counter was most useful. The shower pressure and stream were most invigorating and the water was hot. While we did not have the opportunity to sample the complimentary pulled BBQ sandwiches, we did stop at the cash bar and enjoy a cocktail before returning to our room. The bartender was a polite and efficient young man (of age) who provided us with some pleasant conversation. We ate breakfast at the hotel on both mornings of our stay. The selection was ample and the food was hot, tasty and abundant. There is a nice, economical family restaurant and bar a few blocks from the hotel. The hotel is very conveniently located right off of 35W.

Room Tip: We believe that most all of the rooms would be a good selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Based on reviews by Trip Advisor, we choose this location while in Duluth for the North Shore Scenic Drive. The lady at check-in was very helpful with making suggestions on restaurants and attractions. She gave us a discount booklet and show us where we could find additional information on the area. The hotel has a courtesy snack from 5-7pm - the 1st night was chili and the 2nd night we stayed was pulled pork sandwiches. They have a little side bar where you can purchase drinks and have nightly specials. They also provided coffee & hot water for tea 24 hours a day. We had 2 queen size beds in a very clean room. Both bed had 2 soft pillows and 2 hard pillows for your choice. The bathroom had a vanity mirror, full size door mirror and a swivel magnified mirror which made it nice for getting ready in the morning. The pool area offer a nice size pool and whirl pool – we did not try the sauna room. The pool is open from 8am to 11pm (10pm for kids). Breakfast provided the usual food but also bacon (sausage the next day) scramble eggs, several types of yogurt, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, different flavor waffles and even a cappuccino maker.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is one of the best Comfort Inns I've stayed in. The beds are comfortable and rooms are clean. Considering the high cost of other hotels in Duluth this was the best value. It is located in an more industrial neighborhood but it's not far to drive downtown. There is an Perkin's across the street if you don't have other transportation or prefer not driving but I advise venturing out to some of the local restaurants and brewerys since there are a lot of choices. The staff is friendly and helpfu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn West Hotel
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn
Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.