We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get any better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doesn't get any better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is probably the best Comfort Inn we have stayed in. We were warmly greeted by the front desk personnel upon arrival and they were very pleasant and helpful throughout our two night stay. The pool was clean and refreshing. The room was extra large, nicely furnished and the beds were adorned with lovely bedding. The mini kitchenette was a delightful surprise and the extra long bathroom counter was most useful. The shower pressure and stream were most invigorating and the water was hot. While we did not have the opportunity to sample the complimentary pulled BBQ sandwiches, we did stop at the cash bar and enjoy a cocktail before returning to our room. The bartender was a polite and efficient young man (of age) who provided us with some pleasant conversation. We ate breakfast at the hotel on both mornings of our stay. The selection was ample and the food was hot, tasty and abundant. There is a nice, economical family restaurant and bar a few blocks from the hotel. The hotel is very conveniently located right off of 35W.

Room Tip: We believe that most all of the rooms would be a good selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimareeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
IL
Level Contributor
216 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Based on reviews by Trip Advisor, we choose this location while in Duluth for the North Shore Scenic Drive. The lady at check-in was very helpful with making suggestions on restaurants and attractions. She gave us a discount booklet and show us where we could find additional information on the area. The hotel has a courtesy snack from 5-7pm - the 1st night was chili and the 2nd night we stayed was pulled pork sandwiches. They have a little side bar where you can purchase drinks and have nightly specials. They also provided coffee & hot water for tea 24 hours a day. We had 2 queen size beds in a very clean room. Both bed had 2 soft pillows and 2 hard pillows for your choice. The bathroom had a vanity mirror, full size door mirror and a swivel magnified mirror which made it nice for getting ready in the morning. The pool area offer a nice size pool and whirl pool – we did not try the sauna room. The pool is open from 8am to 11pm (10pm for kids). Breakfast provided the usual food but also bacon (sausage the next day) scramble eggs, several types of yogurt, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, different flavor waffles and even a cappuccino maker.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KC4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is one of the best Comfort Inns I've stayed in. The beds are comfortable and rooms are clean. Considering the high cost of other hotels in Duluth this was the best value. It is located in an more industrial neighborhood but it's not far to drive downtown. There is an Perkin's across the street if you don't have other transportation or prefer not driving but I advise venturing out to some of the local restaurants and brewerys since there are a lot of choices. The staff is friendly and helpfu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpartner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The room was very clean which is our main concern in hotels in this price range. Bed was comfortable. The only complaint was the room was right by the lobby which based on previos stays we new wiuld be noisy. We checked in at 4:30 so we figured it wouldn't be a problem to get a room change but front desk said no other rooms were available. We did get a letter a few days later with some choice rewards points. Apparently there were other rooms available just not at our room rate. It would appear the lowest cost rooms at comfort inns are in the worst locations. All the front desk had to do was explain this and we eould have paid more for a quiet location.

Room Tip: If you want quiet stay away from rooms near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallyg318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Manchester, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. We had thought we wanted to stay at a downtown motel but most of them were already booked. We ended up thankful we found this motel. The price was very reasonable and our room was very nice, clean and quiet. The desk staff was very helpful and gave us good information on where to eat and how to get around the city. The complimentary breakfast was the usual and the only downside was they didn't have enough seating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at this motel on a recent business trip. I had thought about staying at a downtown motel on the water, but their rates were about twice as much. (by the way, Comfort Inn offers a small discount for AAA members.) This motel is right off the interstate but the room was surprisingly quiet.
The room was large and well appointed. It has a refrigerator, microwave, coffee make and even a safe. Wide screen TV with good channel selection. Free Wi-Fi was easy to access. They offered free snacks during happy hour with a pay for drinks bar. The breakfast was more than reasonable with lots of choices. They have a large pool area.
The staff was very friendly and quite helpful with directions and recommendations. There is a Perkins right across the street but not much else in the way of restaurants very close by.
I was very glad I stayed here the night I visited because the fog was really heavy and if I had stayed on the water front the view would have been non-existent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonkabayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent a night at this Comfort Inn, the first night on a three-day road trip. We booked a king room on the main floor and were advised that the only one available was an accessible room with no fridge. That was not a big deal to us so we took it. Unfortunately the room was noted as a non-smoking room, although it smelled otherwise. We advised the front desk staff, who were very apologetic and offered to put some type of machine in there but we were tired from the drive so didn't want to be bothered with this. The staff advised the next morning that our window is right near the the smoking area so I am sure this was the problem. Very disappointing for a room that ended up costing about $180 with tax!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't book Room 115!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#10 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing