We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We planned to stay at the Super 8 next door, but they were fully booked and send us over to the Comfort Inn. Room prices pretty steep due to labor day weekend, but rooms clean and large.

Good Wifi coverage even at the end of the corridor.

Bar closes at nine, but at least they have a bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    99
    10
    11
    5
See reviews for
83
76
6
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the second time we stayed at this hotel. While the hotel does not appear that large or impressive from the road, it is very spacious and offers a very nice pool area, including a hot tub, pool and sauna. The main entry is roomy and inviting and the check-in is always pleasant. On week days they offer a reasonably priced happy hour in the main lobby. The breadkfast is good and hot, and the rooms are always clean. They also have a deal with a local Anytime Fitness, so you can work out during your stay. This hotel is very solid and offers a lot for both the business and pleasure traveler.

Room Tip: I like the rooms upstairs and to the south. Less people walking up and down the hall. I like it qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Based on other reviews, my wife and I decided to stay here for 3 days while on a motorcycle trip. As it turned out it was a awesome choice. We arrived prior to check in, but the front desk clerk (who was in training) managed to find us a room that was ready where we could park our bike outside the window to keep an eye on it. The hotel managed to fulfill any requests we had, even allowing us to use the hose and supplying a cloth for us to wash the bugs off of our bike. The room was clean and comfortable, we had a decent breakfast and in the eve they had a meet and greet with appetizers and a bar. Any staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful, even the housekeeping staff smiled and said good morning when we passed them in the hallway. Our only regret is that we didn't stay another day to enjoy another ride and the great scenery around Duluth\Superior. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here Saturday August 17 thru the 19th. The hotel is located about 3 minuets drive from canal park where all the attractions are. Staff is friendly and will help you any way they can. Rooms were clean. Beds are comfortable. Came back thru on the 21st and stayed an additional night. Bathroom had an adjustable side mirror for people who are short in stature (like my wife who realy appreciated that). Would recommend this hotel. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

It was a hot muggy weekend in Duluth but Comfort Inn was cool, clean and had friendly staff to make it a great weekend anyway. Thanks, Room was nice, Breakfast was Great, easy check in and checkout. Overall a great weekend with family.

Room Tip: Close in with easy access via interstate 35. Much better value than other nearby hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband, son (10-years-old) and I stayed here on a Saturday night in August. I made the reservation at the last moment and was reluctant since we typically stay at Hampton Inns. This hotel was a nice surprise! The neighborhood isn't great, but if you are just there for sleeping, it's fine. Don't expect to walk to any restaurants though. The first room that we were given had a VERY strong smoke odor, even though it was a non-smoking room. My husband called down right away and they quickly gave us a different room that was much better. The rooms were cramped, but clean. The bathroom looked a lot like a Hampton Inn bathroom - nice!
The pool area was clean and nice. My son enjoyed it.
The free breakfast was very good. Everything was well-stocked and there was a nice variety of food.
The beds were comfortable and we all slept well.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Liked this place but I would have preferred to be within walking distance of the downtown Duluth area. It is close to the expressway so no problem getting places. If you want to be close to downtown restaurants and attractions you might want to try one of the closer hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
3.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#4 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.