We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but a bit remote” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Chicago
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice but a bit remote”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Liked this place but I would have preferred to be within walking distance of the downtown Duluth area. It is close to the expressway so no problem getting places. If you want to be close to downtown restaurants and attractions you might want to try one of the closer hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    86
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
68
68
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a great stay at this property! The rooms are clean and well-appointed, and the beds were very comfortable. The staff is professional and friendly. The kids had fun in the pool and I loved the hot tub. Breakfast in the morning was very good, and they have a nightly happy hour (didnt get to take advantage since we were out sightseeing.) I would stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Interstate but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a place! A true gem! From the minute we walked in to the time we left we couldn't been made more welcome! As we walked in we were cheerfully greeted by an awesome front desk staff. We were in town for a wedding which we mentioned when we checked in. When we returned at almost midnight one of the staff inquired as how the wedding was as he took out the trash. Never had that kind of personal attention. Morning breakfast was done very well with the staff keeping up with the demand despite a full hotel including a teenage sports team that all seemed to come down to eat at once. They had the best cinnamon raisin bread I've ever had at a hotel including some B&B's that we stayed at.
Less than 5 min. from downtown right of of 35.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It's a shame that hotels increase their rates on a long weekend, just imagine if all establishments did that?
Well, we found a great deal by paying up front at the Comfort Inn West in Duluth. The added bonus was a hot breakfast included in the price and "happy hour" offered. The staff was so friendly and I even noticed unbrellas at the entry if it rained. This hotel is central to Canal Park, Menards and down Haines Rd. from Miller Hill Mall. Olive Garden, you did it again....great martini's and food. Thanks for the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room thsat was not a previous smoking room, 2nd floor is great...they have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This motel is AWESOME. We've have traveled from WA to PA and this is one of the best places we have stayed. Breakfast is great, staff is friendly and extremely accomadating. Bus stop is not far and if you have a vehicle it's easy to navigate as staff will print out map and highlight the routes to take. Lots of towels, huge bathroom counter, beds are so comfortable. I have a horrible back and I could actually get comfy and sleep. Pool area is nice and big, big pool, big hot tub. The King Suite is worth the price. We couldn't find anything wrong with it. If we come back this way will definitely stay here. They have plenty of parking, whole place is attractive and clean. On M-T you get supper for free. Small bar by eating area. Plenty of hot water. Wish they were pet friendly so I guess that's the only thing wrong. Blow dryers in room work very well

Room Tip: Personally I would get King Suite. Was on first level and big enough for 17 year old granddaughter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrow, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This motel has the best pillows ever and you can buy them. We shared our room with another couple and found the room to be very roomy. Comfortable beds and pillows makes for a good nights sleep. Would recommend this motel and would stay here again. Breakfast had a variety of items. The desk staff was very accommodating. They could not find our reservation when we arrived but went the distance to get us a very nice room at the last minute. The breakfast attendants were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: This motel has elevators so doesn't matter what floor you are on. Everything is very convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Top Contributor
404 reviews 404 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a very nice Comfort Inn. I ended up upgrading for only $10 per day (2 day stay). The room was larger and there was a wet bar w/ a frig and mwave.The beds were very comfy, as well as the pillows. Very nice bath with large fluffy towels and a good shower. Very friendly staff. There is a happy hour each night with free food of somekind but we never made it back in time for it. Free in-room wifi. Get a rebate back from eBates.com.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.