We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
De Pere, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very nice hotel. We went with another couple and the room my husband I got first was a non smoking room, but smelled of smoke bad. I called the desk right away and informed them and they switched rooms for us right away. Next room did not smell of smoke. The bathrooms were very nice...had a granite looking counter top with a shelf underneath...nice for storing things such as clothing or amenities. We got there about the supper hour and they had free food in the lobby...pulled pork sandwiches and chips. We did not have to buy supper...so pleasant surprise. They also offered a buy one get one free drink at the cash bar that is in the lobby. Did not swim in the pool, but it looked like a very nice pool and hot tub. The hotel desk staff were very friendly and helpful with directions to areas of interest and even asked if my second room was good and if it did not smell like smoke the next day when we checked out. Very happy and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    83
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
66
67
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Came in too late to enjoy the evening freebies but staff were friendly and welcoming, great beds, good room with blackouts, very clean and plenty of space for 3 adults and luggage! Bathrooms good sized and great water pressure. Excellent breakfast included. Full wifi. Too hot or too cold air conditioner, noisy, but it was impossibly hot/humid weather for any machine to deal with! Definite recommendation for overnight, not the best part of Duluth for longer stay but this property really did a great job.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This motel is without doubt the best I have ever stayed in. Check in and out was quick and efficient. All staff were helpful,courteous and friendly. The modern spacious rooms were quiet, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The complimentary breakfast was first class with ample selections for both hearty and light morning eaters. All areas of the motel were immaculate and the grandchildren even commented on how clean and refreshing the pool water was. Because we were travelling with young children we couldn't take advantage of the hospitality hour, but we witnessed others enjoying the food and atmosphere. If you stay in Duluth, don't miss this motel - it's comfort with a capital "C".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We were in Duluth to visit our daughter at the university and see the fireworks, booked hotel based on reviews and were not disappointed. ver warm and inviting from the moment you walked in the door, Room was spotless and felt very modern. Bathroom was also modern and very clean, with granite counters. Did not eat the free breakfast but looked very well stocked and laid out with plenty of seating. ( we walked next door and met our daughter for Perkins ). liked the cooler of cold water bottles for $1 at the front desk, great for heading out for the day. Probably would've given it 5 stars except for the automatic charge add without explanation of a safe fee.Not sure why?

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a room here with a king size bed and a nice hot tub and were very impressed. Mon-Thurs they have hospitality hour where they serve a small meal like hamburgers, hot dogs, chips and cookies. We didn't eat these meals, but thought it was really nice that they offered it. The customer service was excellent and they also have a cute little bar and give you tickets to get BOGO drink. The continental breakfast was also much more than I expected. They served scrambled eggs and bacon in addition to the usual waffles, donut holes, donuts, pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee and juice. I also enjoyed their cappucinno machine as I do not care for coffee(I highly recommend the chocolate hazelnut!). The only downside was that our room said it was non-smoking, but I could definitely smell small traces of smoke. Also- you do have to drive about 5 minutes to get to Canal Park, which is where all the hubub is. All in all though--its a great affordable option to stay in Duluth. Great value!

Room Tip: King Size bed w/jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff at this motel could not have been nicer or more helpful. They got us discount tickets to attractions. Motel is right off the Interstate and easy to find. Short drive to the harbor area. We liked this motel so much the first night, that we stayed two nights. Upon check-in, we were surprised to find complimentary pulled pork BBQ sandwiches, Chex Mix and cheese. The breakfast was hot and lots of choices--scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries and bread. The hot tub, pool and sauna were refreshing and very clean. The bathrooms had granite counter tops and the free WiFi gave a strong signal. Wonderful motel and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, TN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Both the bedroom and the bathroom (especially the bathroom) was big for an economy-priced hotel. The hotel's location was outside of Canal Park and downtown Duluth, so we did have to drive everywhere we wanted to go. If I was coming back, though, I would definitely spend my Choice Hotel points here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.