We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a room here with a king size bed and a nice hot tub and were very impressed. Mon-Thurs they have hospitality hour where they serve a small meal like hamburgers, hot dogs, chips and cookies. We didn't eat these meals, but thought it was really nice that they offered it. The customer service was excellent and they also have a cute little bar and give you tickets to get BOGO drink. The continental breakfast was also much more than I expected. They served scrambled eggs and bacon in addition to the usual waffles, donut holes, donuts, pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee and juice. I also enjoyed their cappucinno machine as I do not care for coffee(I highly recommend the chocolate hazelnut!). The only downside was that our room said it was non-smoking, but I could definitely smell small traces of smoke. Also- you do have to drive about 5 minutes to get to Canal Park, which is where all the hubub is. All in all though--its a great affordable option to stay in Duluth. Great value!

Room Tip: King Size bed w/jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    71
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
55
59
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warner Robins, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff at this motel could not have been nicer or more helpful. They got us discount tickets to attractions. Motel is right off the Interstate and easy to find. Short drive to the harbor area. We liked this motel so much the first night, that we stayed two nights. Upon check-in, we were surprised to find complimentary pulled pork BBQ sandwiches, Chex Mix and cheese. The breakfast was hot and lots of choices--scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries and bread. The hot tub, pool and sauna were refreshing and very clean. The bathrooms had granite counter tops and the free WiFi gave a strong signal. Wonderful motel and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, TN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Both the bedroom and the bathroom (especially the bathroom) was big for an economy-priced hotel. The hotel's location was outside of Canal Park and downtown Duluth, so we did have to drive everywhere we wanted to go. If I was coming back, though, I would definitely spend my Choice Hotel points here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel wins the gold award for a reason. They are very good at everything. From the front desk to the maids. Rooms are very clean and well worth the money. They do not have a fitness center but the give you a pass to fitness center a mile away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

When we checked in we saw two school buses unloading young boys and thought ,'oh, no'. But we never heard a sound. The room was big and very comfy. The breakfast was wonderful and well staffed. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Portage, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

It was our 2nd stay; the 1st had been the week before Christmas...we had to drop off a rented Penske truck and pick up one size smaller truck in order to get to mom's on the "sunnyside of Louisville"...A truck? Coming down from northern-most MN we learned there were no rental cars available. Penske to the rescue! On a cold, very cold night with a wind-chill whipping off Lake Superior to add to the late hour and learning how to use a friend's GPS...which got us royally lost for awhile...Penske was not far actually! The owners (and the whole family) waited for us so as to pick up the one size smaller truck and indicated a Comfort Inn was near-by; which we sure were happy to hear.
Very nice people, good night's sleep, with choices for breakfast in the morning...a pleasant stay, convenient. Definitely coming back to this one!!!
This 2nd trip 10 weeks later...staying ahead of more stormy winter weather...came into Duluth (on that awe-some hill in the quiet of midnight) easily finding The Comfort Inn at the 40th Ave W. Exit. They are conveniently located to the highway to/from both directions! Different crew but same great service, same great comfort, great coffee & tea, always...a cash bar at "happy hour", that evening soup was avail...the fine breakfast is pleasantly located in the main front lobby, a large area, "comfort"-ably appointed.They even have very nice, affordable postcards-of-all-things-Duluth and stamps and a mailbox...

Room Tip: Near large comfortable front lobby for ease with coffee and breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The bed was very comfortable, I hated to wake up. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Nice looking pool area (didn't use). Free breakfast with an array of offerings. I will definitely be returning to this hotel whenever I'm in Duluth.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.