We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, comfy rooms; Not in city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
McMinnville, TN
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Big, comfy rooms; Not in city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Both the bedroom and the bathroom (especially the bathroom) was big for an economy-priced hotel. The hotel's location was outside of Canal Park and downtown Duluth, so we did have to drive everywhere we wanted to go. If I was coming back, though, I would definitely spend my Choice Hotel points here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    92
    9
    11
    5
See reviews for
70
71
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel wins the gold award for a reason. They are very good at everything. From the front desk to the maids. Rooms are very clean and well worth the money. They do not have a fitness center but the give you a pass to fitness center a mile away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

When we checked in we saw two school buses unloading young boys and thought ,'oh, no'. But we never heard a sound. The room was big and very comfy. The breakfast was wonderful and well staffed. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The bed was very comfortable, I hated to wake up. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Nice looking pool area (didn't use). Free breakfast with an array of offerings. I will definitely be returning to this hotel whenever I'm in Duluth.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for my daughter's dance competition and were very happy with the accommodations. Great location, easy on/off the freeway. The hotel is clean. The staff was friendly and professional. The pool area is clean. They offer a cash bar "happy hour" in the lobby and have a nice place to sit with tables& chairs/couches just outside the pool. There is a wall of glass separating you from the pool so parents can sit back and relax while watching the kids in the pool...minus the loud sounds typical of a pool area
The only thing I didn't like was that the continental breakfast didn't open up until 7a.m. and that was a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went to Duluth for a little weekend trip. i had planned for flowers to be there when i got to the hotel for the girlfriend and they were nice enough to put it in the room! everything was clean, breakfast was also very good, although i feel that it could use a bigger seating area. we ended up having to eat in our room, which wasn't that much of a problem being that we were on the first floor. but if you aren't in the mood for a quick breakfast and want something more filling, Perkins is literally right across the street. Overall, this is quite the gem and will absolutely be booking here the next time i head into town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branch, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I stay in Duluth at least once a month when we visit a family member in a nursing home. We had never stayed here until last weekend. Frankly we had read some reviews where people wrote that their non-smoking room smelled of smoke. We decided to give it a try and were very pleasantly surprised about the cleanliness and comfort of our room (and absolutely no smell of smoke).The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of seating. Our room had a whirlpool that we didn't but it was very clean. The bathroom was large. The only negative thing is that there were no grab bars in the shower and the floor got very slippery when wet. We will absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: We prefer the main floor because I have trouble doing stairs due to a knee replacement. I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.