We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, comfy rooms; Not in city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
McMinnville, TN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Big, comfy rooms; Not in city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Both the bedroom and the bathroom (especially the bathroom) was big for an economy-priced hotel. The hotel's location was outside of Canal Park and downtown Duluth, so we did have to drive everywhere we wanted to go. If I was coming back, though, I would definitely spend my Choice Hotel points here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaP1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel wins the gold award for a reason. They are very good at everything. From the front desk to the maids. Rooms are very clean and well worth the money. They do not have a fitness center but the give you a pass to fitness center a mile away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

When we checked in we saw two school buses unloading young boys and thought ,'oh, no'. But we never heard a sound. The room was big and very comfy. The breakfast was wonderful and well staffed. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The bed was very comfortable, I hated to wake up. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Nice looking pool area (didn't use). Free breakfast with an array of offerings. I will definitely be returning to this hotel whenever I'm in Duluth.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Candice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for my daughter's dance competition and were very happy with the accommodations. Great location, easy on/off the freeway. The hotel is clean. The staff was friendly and professional. The pool area is clean. They offer a cash bar "happy hour" in the lobby and have a nice place to sit with tables& chairs/couches just outside the pool. There is a wall of glass separating you from the pool so parents can sit back and relax while watching the kids in the pool...minus the loud sounds typical of a pool area
The only thing I didn't like was that the continental breakfast didn't open up until 7a.m. and that was a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbk7801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went to Duluth for a little weekend trip. i had planned for flowers to be there when i got to the hotel for the girlfriend and they were nice enough to put it in the room! everything was clean, breakfast was also very good, although i feel that it could use a bigger seating area. we ended up having to eat in our room, which wasn't that much of a problem being that we were on the first floor. but if you aren't in the mood for a quick breakfast and want something more filling, Perkins is literally right across the street. Overall, this is quite the gem and will absolutely be booking here the next time i head into town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasony92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branch, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I stay in Duluth at least once a month when we visit a family member in a nursing home. We had never stayed here until last weekend. Frankly we had read some reviews where people wrote that their non-smoking room smelled of smoke. We decided to give it a try and were very pleasantly surprised about the cleanliness and comfort of our room (and absolutely no smell of smoke).The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of seating. Our room had a whirlpool that we didn't but it was very clean. The bathroom was large. The only negative thing is that there were no grab bars in the shower and the floor got very slippery when wet. We will absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: We prefer the main floor because I have trouble doing stairs due to a knee replacement. I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNGrandma55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
3.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#10 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing