We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay & Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Stay & Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Front desk staff very friendly pleasant & helpful.Great place to stay and with a short drive you are anywhere-Bentley ville,Canal Park,DECC,downtown Duluth ,Miller hill Mall etc. A clean comfortable atmosphere with some great amenities.One of my favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    83
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
66
67
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Arrived to hot apple cider and cookies at check in. Very helpful, friendly front desk staff. Comfy king size room. Large pool area. Happy Hour from 4-6 with adult beverages and hot soup. Will definitely stay here again. Reasonable rates, hot breakfast. Can't beat that!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slough
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice clean hotel, great location, big size rooms , fast free internet, quick efficent check in & out,
complementry breakfast , nice powerfull shower. really had nothing to complain about. wold stay again.recently refurbuished rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Thankyou so much every thing was great !! the girls loved having there name on marquee! the beds and pillows were great!! will pass the word on to other teams in our area. we had 18 familys that were very happy. breakfast was great. service over the top .
thankyou!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

took t/a reviews and stayed last eve. everything positive from prior reviews and would stay again and recommend others. easy to find. lots of parking on premis(free) staff proficient. attentive and had the customers needs in mind. had an upbeat attitude. lobby inviting and rooms/bed immaculate and had no trouble resting. free breakfast above the standard served most places as we had scrambled eggs/bacon amoung other choices. internet free and laundry facilities on premises, charge of $2 for each wash load and $2 for each dryer load. laundry needs available to purchase. indoor pool also availabe but we did not utilize. great place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Inn West while attending Gales of November at the DECC. The hotel, staff, rooms and everything under control of the hotel were excellent. Location and groups staying at the hotel were a little less that excellent, but as that's beyond the control of the hotel staff I'm not dinging them for that.

The hotel is very modern, clean, and rooms are extremely quiet. Every staff person that we encountered was very friendly and helpful. I think the staff at the Comfort Inn was the best that we've encounted during our stays in Duluth. Although the hotel is non-smoking, the room we had our first night had clearly been recently smoked in, including a cigarette burn on the bed spread. At first we were going to tough it out, but after the first night requested to be moved. The front desk was very understanding and even arranged to have our luggage moved to our new room while we were out during the day.

Pool area is nice and kid friendly. Breakfast was excellent as well with scrambled eggs, sausages, waffles and lots of other options available.

The only unfortunate thing is the location. In Duluth half of the reason to stay somewhere is the view and location. At the Comfort Inn if you have a north facing room you have an excellent view of a BP station. South facing room you see the freeway and a scrap yard. The area seems safe, just not scenic.

Only other issue was sharing the hotel with a high school hockey team. THis is not unique to the Comfort Inn. Most hotels in Duluth, Fargo, or other up north cities host hockey teams every weekend in the winter. And I understand the economics involved - these teams bring a LOT more money into hotels in the off-season than casual travellers. I just wish hotels would find a way to cater to these groups other than at the expense of other guests, especially those of us with young children. It's a little annoying to not be able to use the pool area because it's been taken over by a hockey team to go to breakfast and have no space available in the dining area because it's full of loud teenagers consuming everything in sight.

But in the grand scheme of things the location and hockey teams were minor annoyances in what was an overall excellent weekend at a very nice hotel. We really enjoyed the time at the Comfort Inn and appreciated all the efforts of the staff to be helpful and welcoming. We'll be back again!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are on the North side and probably have a little better view. Southside faces th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here will touring Glensheen it was the best hotel around in my eyes. Nice staff, great room service. right off 35 so you can take avantage of all the great attactions and shopping around. Great continential breakfast also. I give it a A+++++++++

Room Tip: Call ahead though this hotel fills up fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.