We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, close to the Highway and not too far from Downtown.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Mlps, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice, close to the Highway and not too far from Downtown.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Very Pleasant and affordable place to stay in Duluth. Easy on/off from Hwy 35 and about 3 to 4 exits south of the main downtown area. They are in the process of remodeling this hotel, so everything is new and fresh. The breakfast is okay, better than most of the lower chains, typical fare of scrambled eggs, waffles and sausage, with muffins, toast friut, etc. The capaccino maker was a nice surprise (gas station quality). Very clean hotel, with inviting pool/spa area. Safe part of town (not attractive, more industrial, but safe). If you are passing through Duluth, or want a clean, inexpensive place to stay during your visit, this would be my choice. My only disappointment was that the beds were a little on the hard side for my taste, so the first night was not my best nights sleep.

Room Tip: We went for the slightly upgraded room with the fridge and microwave and it is slightly larger too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    68
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
54
57
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I booked this hotel because everything on Canal Park was booked. It was a pleasant surprise, the rooms were large and clean. Looks like they were remodeling some of the 2nd floor rooms. We booked a room with a microwave, mini fridge and have only one minor compliant and that was the noise in the hallway travels easily into your room. Don't know if that is something that they can fix. Breakfast was good-hot sausage, scrambled eggs, bagels, waffles, etc. Coffee was weak though, I couldn't drink it, had to get caffeine elsewhere. Staff was very courteous, we got a call before we left home, explaining that there was road construction at their exit and to call if we needed different directions to get to their hotel. I was glad for the 'heads up' from the other reviewers here that mentioned the safe charge. I did get charged for using the safe (which we never touched) and they took it off when I mentioned it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babbitt, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

After reading reviews from some other hotels in West Duluth, we settled on the Comfort Inn even though we were uncomfortable with the high price of over $160 with taxes. It was very comfortable and quiet. I was happy to see a security guard making the rounds at night and a key was required for entrance after 10:30 pm. The hot breakfast was great. The room was a little worn, but very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I booked the last available room (#100), which of course was a smoking room. They cautioned me ahead of time that the room would be in a smoking wing and therefore I could smell smoke, but since I needed to stay on the West End, I booked it. I was not disappointed. Yes, the room had a smoky smell, but after 30 minutes with the window open and the bathroom fan running, the smokiness was completely gone and I had a fresh, clean, and airy room! The beds were very comfortable with soft linens, the bathroom was exceptionally clean and roomy, and the room itself was very nice. The service at the front desk was friendly, helpful, and everyone had a "No Problem" attitude. The continental breakfast was on the generous side, with waffles pastries, fruit, eggs, meat, etc. The location of the hotel is great - right by the interstate, but out of sight and sound of the traffic. I would recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you aren't a smoker, and have to stay in a smoking room, the staff is very helpful about prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, ND
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed for four nights and were very pleased with the amenities. The hot breakfast had many selections including scrambled eggs, bacon, two flavors of Belgium waffles, pastries, fruit, breads, cappucino and three coffee choices. The beds were very comfortable, the room and bathroom were spotless as was the lobby area. Although we didn't use the pool and hot tub I could see they were also very clean. I would definitely stay again when in Duluth and have recommended it to friends. The location was close to I-35 without having the noise and only 5 minutes from Park Canal.

Room Tip: This hotel is only two floors and I think any of the rooms would have been fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed for three nights and were always greeted in a friendly manner by all staff. Our room was very clean and the hotel was quiet. Towels and other items were replenished in a timely manner and housekeeping was most gracious.

The complimentary breakfast was fabulous with scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles, and many other offerings. Coffee available 24/7 and to top all of this, a free evening appetizer with bar available for individual purchase of wine or beer.

Easy to locate, parking always available, and and easy ride to all that Duluth offers.

We will stay here again and recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our whole group was happy staying here. Very good breakfast. I didn't look at the bill to see if there was a safe charge. I hope not I opened it up to look inside and there were no batteries to run the lock. I don't know where the folks who said the place was old stayed. We all thought the place smelled new.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.