We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay at this hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn West

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Brooklyn Park
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We loved our stay at this hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed for three nights and were always greeted in a friendly manner by all staff. Our room was very clean and the hotel was quiet. Towels and other items were replenished in a timely manner and housekeeping was most gracious.

The complimentary breakfast was fabulous with scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles, and many other offerings. Coffee available 24/7 and to top all of this, a free evening appetizer with bar available for individual purchase of wine or beer.

Easy to locate, parking always available, and and easy ride to all that Duluth offers.

We will stay here again and recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    73
    6
    9
    5
See reviews for
56
60
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our whole group was happy staying here. Very good breakfast. I didn't look at the bill to see if there was a safe charge. I hope not I opened it up to look inside and there were no batteries to run the lock. I don't know where the folks who said the place was old stayed. We all thought the place smelled new.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and had an enjoyable stay the staff were pleasant and helpful.
The bedroom and bathroom were clean with plenty of pillows and towels. The breakfast had a good selection from cereals to hot items, with hot drinks being available all day in the reception area and cookies were also available during most of the day. During our stay there was also free hot sandwiches available in the evening from 17:00 to 19:00 and a half price drink which we enjoyed.
The only problem was with trying to find the hotel as the freeway was under reconstruction, not really the hotels fault.
P.S. I was also charged for the safe but when I said that I had not used it I was immediately given a replacement bill without the charge.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We booked a room for business for Monday through Thursday for two weeks. We were then charge the weekend rate for Friday through Sunday even though we didn't stay there and didn't reserve the rooms. We were then told that our employees extended the stay and signed for it. When asked for documentation of this, none was provided. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Get the issue out of the way first. They add a $1.50 charge every day for the safe in the room. They don't tell you or include on the rate confirmation you sign on check-in, nor do you have the option to not have the safe. If they need to charge for that, it should be part of the rate.

Very nice hotel. Clean, comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast great... had bacon or sausage and scrambled eggs along with the usual (but very nice) selection of danish/donuts, bread/bagels, waffle maker, yogurt, etc. Indoor pool, free wireless. Really couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

I just felt it needed to be said that the bed was very very comfortable...the mattress had the perfect enough amount of firmness without being hard, the sheets were so so soft and the pillows were perfect. Not too hard and not too soft. The pool/whirlpool were clean and well-maintained (I only wish the pool had gone a bit deeper than the 5') Honestly everything else was just pretty average, nothing special. Just your usual hotel room. Clean and functional. (Not that that is a bad thing.)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northernholly
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

My family of 32 people stayed at the Comfort Inn for our Christmas gathering on December 18. The hotel was nicely decorated. Staff exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Room was nice -very clean and not to mention affordable. We were able to use the breakfast/kitchen area to gather and visit. Nice little bar for cocktail hour. Kids played in the pool. Location is so easy- right off the highway and close to everything. Parking is easy and free. Breakfast was wonderful- waffles, eggs, sausage, doughnuts, bread, cereal, juice/coffee, yogurt, etc. Would recommend to anyone!!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn West

Address: 3900 W. Superior St., Duluth, MN 55807
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#10 Family Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn West 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn West is located off I-35 at 40th Avenue West Exit, minutes from downtown Duluth, Canal Park and Spirit Mountain. Business travelers will appreciate free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms. Guests will enjoy, indoor pool, hot tub/sauna and deluxe continental breakfast featuring scrambled eggs and bacon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Duluth
Comfort Inn Duluth
Duluth Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.