We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Indian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of India Palace

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
India Palace
319 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-1608
(218) 727-8767
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 226 restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Decent Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The restaurant is looking a little dated and tired, like much of the down town. But the food is very good, and the staff were nice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    8
    8
    3
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I am very sad to see all the negative reviews! I have eaten at this restaurant many times and love it! We have always had good, friendly service! The food has always been outstanding (ok I am a northern Minnesotan who doesn't like spicy food, s I can see why some might think its bland), however, anything you order off the menu can be made as spicy as you like! The buffet has always been hot, good, and tasty when I have been there. Things we love there: chicken curry, naan, chai tea, vegetable curry, rice pudding, and mango pudding. Great food! I will say buffet is reasonably priced, regular menu too expensive for us! Atmosphere: small space, tables a little too close together which doesn't make it a great choice for small children. Have always been comfortable going there with my husband though!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing that India palace is the only Indian food option in Duluth and is less than mediocre.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Brought out of town guests to India Palace for lunch buffet. Choices were limited and very little in each warming pan. We waited for refills--nothing. There was little left but gravy, no meat. This was an hour before lunch time ended, we spent waaaaaay too much money on lunch--over $40 for nothing. If you go for the buffet and there are limited options both in choice and quantity--Leave! We will never return. If you want good Indian food, go to Minneapolis.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisade, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Good place for a quick lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The India Palace is located in the heart of downtown Duluth. It is handy to the Holiday Inn and Suites for a quick lunch, and is also close to the skyway that leads over to the DECC and Canal Park. Prices are moderate and the food was very good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice meal, good menu, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Good choice of dishes on this menu and service was very prompt and generally with a smile. Food was good quality overall, though we would have liked a bit more spice to the curry sauces which were a little bland. Otherwise a good meal though and would be fine to go back to again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to India Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage India Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.