We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Savories Catering

Savories Catering
2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55805
218-728-6036
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #56 of 225 restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Fort Frances, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

They provided the edgewater breakfast. as far as service goes they were great, the food was not consistent. day one was good, day two not so much

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    10
    0
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible selections”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Terrible breakfast. everything covered in fat. Who needs gravy for breakfast? No cold cereal as advertised. Apparently it was a "problem at the printers" not their fault. Even though it is plastered all over the hotel that they offer a 'cold cereal bar'. false advertising. Manager is rude and terribly not helpful. don't waste your time

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Savories Catering, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear YoungFamilyB,

As we stated in our response to your other review, we are very sorry you were disappointed with us this time, especially since you have enjoyed your many other visits here in the past.

Since her review doesn't mention the service issues like she did in the email, lets put this:

"Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. I am truly sorry about the experience you had with us recently.

We're sad to hear that you did not enjoy our new breakfast. We're working hard to change our breakfast and satisfy the greatest number of people based on the feedback we received the last few years. Our goal is to offer better food with a bigger room to in turn give a better experience. Cereal has been added to the breakfast as of late last week to match our advertising and I hope that it will offer an additional alternative to those looking for non hot food. You're absolutely right that this should have been on there and matched what we advertised. We had an equipment problem which prevented this and which has since been remedied, and our offerings do match our advertising. I'm happy that we were able to get you over to Perkins but apologize that this took away from your swim time.

We truly value your business and your feedback with we will use to make improvements to our operation. I hope we can welcome you back and that you will again be as pleased with us in the future as you have been on your many past visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esko, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't look at their kitchen! GROSS!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

So Savories Catering is a popular choice in the Twinports area. We used their services for a wedding. Of course it was expensive but most are. The food was great. Worth the money. However we choose the option to bring back the vessels and containers that the food came in so that we would save money... that wasnt the problem... It was the kitchen inwhich in delivered them too via the back door. It was disgusting!!! The floor was so nasty and you could tell it had not been cleaned in a very very long time. There were dirty pots and pans and misc items around. Yuck! Definitely not a place I'd want my food to be prepared and cooked in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Savories Catering, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Sweetmurry,

Thank you for choosing Savories to provide the fool for your wonderful celebration. I'm sorry if you unhappy with our loading dock/shipping and receiving area, and offer my apologies. This area is no where near our food prep, kitchens or storage areas, and we are sorry if you got the wrong impression. We are proud of our exemplary history of food and health inspection scores, which are available for your review. We'd be happy to give you a complete tour of our facilities the next time you are in the area. I hope we can serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Business meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Food and service was excellent. They served right on time and it was very good. The wait staff moved very quickly in and out of room keeping the serving line moving.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Savories Catering did all the catering for our conference. Absolutely the BEST food! The waiters are very professional, the desserts were amazing and the mashed potatoes were heavenly!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savories Catering also viewed

 

Been to Savories Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savories Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.