We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oldie and a Goodie!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnson's Bakery & Coffee Shop

Johnson's Bakery & Coffee Shop
2230 W 3rd St, Duluth, MN 55806
(218) 727-1889
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 229 Restaurants in Duluth
Restaurant details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An Oldie and a Goodie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have childhood memories of this place, so...about 25 years ago...and during a recent visit to Duluth I stopped by and was pleased to see it was still open and still making great baked goods! You cannot find bakeries like this in the suburbs big cities, I know, because Ihave looked! If you do find one in the big city, it will cost you an arm and a leg for a single pastry. My husband and I popped in to this place and bought a dozen of my favorite frosted cookie cutouts, which are amazing at this place! I was shocked when we paid and it was less than $8! I pay more than that for a typical quick stop at Starbucks! Gotta love small town pricing.

The place itself definitely feels small town, nothing fancy interior or exterior-wise. The neighborhood is your typical old Duluth with a huge church on the corner of every other block, a mix of shuffling old people and young gangster wannabe looking kids wandering along the tree-lined streets.

This is a great place to go at both the start of your trip to Duluth. You get into the old, small town mentality, and get a tasty baked good as well. The cream puffs are phenomenal as well.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Two locations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

A really great family owned and run corner bakery in Lincoln Park on 3rd St. and 23rd Ave. W. (open Mon-Sat) and in Lakeside on Superior Street approx. 43-44th Avenue East(this one is not open on Mon). The doughnut holes are great as are the assorted fruit breads. They make a great muffin and our absolute favorite thing is their Strawberry Torte. It is the best. They only make the torte from late Spring into the Fall, so pick it up if you can.
You can also get homemade sandwiches and soup to pick up and take with you and they have great coffee.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron River, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Family Run Goodies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I worked in Duluth up until July of 2011. One of the things I miss most about working in Duluth is swinging by (or a co-worker) swinging by Johnson's Bakery and bringing some goodies to work. Our favorite--the donut holes. Too die for! I absolutely love them. The service was always genuinely friendly. Not over the top concerned about your experience but rather just nice, caring people. The bakery isn't polished. But it is comfortable. And, these folks clearly know the bakery business. Overall, you wouldn't expect this bakery to make the centerfold spread of "baking today" but like your favorite slippers you wear everyday, this bakery delivers piece of comfort heaven every time!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hometown bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Not many of these left but this is a true family run hometown bakery. It's like stepping back into time and well worth the trip. Our favorite are the date filled cookies which can't be beat.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnson's Bakery & Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Johnson's Bakery & Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnson's Bakery & Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.