We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wonderful pizza, good service, but very busy when we went.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Luce

Pizza Luce
11 E Superior St, Ste 100, Duluth, MN 55802-3011
218-727-7400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 225 restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really wonderful pizza, good service, but very busy when we went.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I went for a going away party. Staff was really nice, they were busy so we didn't get as much service as we'd prefer, but when we got it, it was above average personality from staff that actually cared about our experience. We ordered the seasonal Creole Pizza, and it was actually one of the best pizzas I've ever had. The crust was just right, the sauce was spicy enough for me (can't get too much), but not too spicy for others. There were lots of big toppings. Also, I tried one of their loose leaf teas, it was really good. I prefer the atmosphere of the Minneapolis warehouse district location, but it was fun to watch the team make the pizzas here which lets them cook with pride and shows the kitchen is clean and professional from a guest perspective. I plan to return here again, hopefully on a quieter night to savor the experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    95
    66
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bad pizza, served with a bad attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Okay, so a lot of reviewers believe that this place has good pizza and is a good venue. I suppose they like canned tomatoes and minced garlic from a jar, because that is the basis for most of the dishes on the menu. You can taste the metal from the cans in the tomatoes. Pizza Luce' started in Minneapolis quite some time ago and has been in its Duluth location for under 10 years. Early in its incarnation in Minneapolis, it was a "hip" pizza place with good food. The food quality in Duluth was always less than that down south, and I have never met more surly wait people anywhere, even in New York. Our server felt she was doing us a favor by waiting on us. When the food finally came, it was close to inedible -- cold and gluey. When I commented on that, there was no attempt to rectify the situation -- the waiter said that they were really busy. Period. There are much better places to order pizza in Duluth, including wood fired Neopolitan pizzas about three blocks away at Vitta Pizza. Go there instead.

Oh, by the way, the tables and chairs at Pizza Luce' are sticky with grime. I didn't get a chance to see the kitchen, but looking at the staff, hygiene isn't #1.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneaoplis, MN
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Luce is always a good hit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Pizza Luce is a standard in the twin cities and this Duluth installation is no different. Their pizza is all handmade, with vegan and gluten free options and a nice spicy sauce. They have pastas and hoagies and my personal favorite, the spinach salad, with blue cheese, cranberries, and pecans, it's just so dang good! They also have an awesome Sunday brunch, and good beers. A definite winner.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupaca, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Vegan options!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We ordered delivery not only was it quick, it was also delicious! I loved the vegan options! Highly recommended.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place, good menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

nice place, great pizza, keep in mind this is a college town and they are the best pizza place, but the crowd is from all ages. full bar if you care for it and they have night shows as well. the menu have really good choices for every taste ( gluten free, veg, etc), go for luch so you dont have to wait.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Luce also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Luce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Luce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.