We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible salads” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Va Bene Caffe

Va Bene Caffe
734 East Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802
218-722-1518
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 228 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible salads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went for a walk on the Lake Walk and were tempted by the signs for soup and bread, so we went back for lunch. We ended up with salads, and they were incredible. The Pesto Verdura was amazing! Warm pesto mixed with kalamata olives, tomatoes, asparagus, and artichoke over fresh spinach. My husband was equally impressed with his Nicoise salad. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    120
    65
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“European bistro in Duluth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I have lived in Duluth for almost 20 years, and have seen several restaurants come and go in that time. The Berarducci's Va Bene is our favorite place. The restaurant literally hangs out over the lakewalk, and the views in the evening are spectacular - especially when there is a full moon rising over Lake Superior. There is a small bar in the main room with a mostly young crowd. The decor has a modern European feel. There is a Gelato case with a huge assortment of flavors, and European foodstuffs like pasta and candy are for sale.
The food is always great. Most dishes are pasta based and include very fresh seafood as well as more traditional fare (meatballs, Italian sausage etc.). The salads are excellent (Nicoise with salmon, beef tenderloin tips on romaine are my favorites). Mary Kay Berarducci makes the best cakes in the world. Don't miss the Italian cream cake.
I just wish the place wasn't quite so popular, and that they had some parking available, but that's the price of success.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Italian and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A little eclectic but the food and service was good. Sat in the sun room overlooking Lake Superior which was nice. Both of us had pasta dishes. I liked the meatball dish best spouse liked my sun dried tomato dish best. Would eat here again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Meet Us Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stop in at VaBene to enjoy a fine meal with good wine at the perfect pace. Bonus if we can get seated in the enclosed deck overlooking Lake Superior. Make a reservation if you don't want to be disappointed. It's not a big place and can be busy. My only small complaint is the noise level in the main dining area. There are no soft textures so sound bounces everywhere - it gets hard to hear conversations without nearly shouting and that only makes the problem worse. Even so, it's such a great place to spend an hour or so, it's worth it.
The salads are fresh, creative and perfectly dressed (meaning, not swamped in dressing as is so common in NE MN). We usually split a salad but here we can each choose from a short list of half portions and get different plates.
I could comment on the many dishes each of us has enjoyed but it's enough to say that every one of them has been nothing short of excellent. The menu descriptions are accurate and the servers are well trained to answer questions.
The wine list is just long enough to offer a fine choice for any price range and taste. Again, the servers are trained to know enough to offer suggestions to anyone who is undecided. Bonus - one night per week there is a 1/2 off the price of a bottle option.
We rarely order dessert but the times we have, they have been perfect and in a portion size large enough to share.
I must mention the gelato. This is a great place to stop during a bicycle ride around town or walk along the Lakewalk to "refuel" with a treat. Many flavor choices and as fresh as you could wish for if you were cycling around an Italian village.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Va Bene Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Loved it!!! We loved it!!! The Alaskan Salmon was DEE-licious! The gelato was fantastic. God, we can't wait to get back to this place. The cuisine was an exceptional experience and spectacular ambience and service. FYI: My husband loved the Italian style bathroom ingenious design.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Va Bene Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Va Bene Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.