We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Va Bene Caffe

Va Bene Caffe
734 East Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802
218-722-1518
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 229 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visit the folks at Va Bene each time we visit Duluth. We were able to sit on the balcony in the sunshine and enjoy wonderful views of the lake and the Lift Bridge while we had a fabulous lunch. The service was great and the food did not disappoint.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    67
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Becker, Minnesota
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food with beautiful view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped in on a Tuesday at 5 on the way back from Lutsen after checking out reviews on tripadvisor. We sat in the grotto with 3 kids. Food was excellent and so was the view. One kid was feeling a little car sick and the manager gave him some sprite as soon as we walked in the door. Will go again next time I'm in Duluth!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome martinis, good food, and great desserts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very cute-- but small-- place! We were here on a weeknight, and we did make a reservation, but we still did not get onto the lower deck with the views. But that, and difficult parking (we had to walk a ways), were my only complaints. We had awesome service and began by trying four different martinis, all of which were outstanding. The bruschetta was fine, as were our meals, but then came the Madame Navaronne cake for dessert-- oh my! If you love a decadent dessert (as I do!), you will not be disappointed. The cheesecake and gelato were also raved about by others, but I would return for the cake alone-- don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, awesome location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Make a reservation, as this place is always busy, but for good reason. Ask for a table outside -- and, if possible, in the "Grotto" lower deck. There one has 180-degree views of Lake Superior in a quiet setting. The cuisine is fresh, healthy, and of "big-city" quality. Service is superb. You cannot do better in Duluth, and this place would compete anywhere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Off night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended by our B&B. went there for our 1st anniversary dinner. Major disappointment. Our server was also the bartender who was making milk shakes instead of getting us the wine we ordered. After seeking out someone to help us our wine was finally delivered and our order taken. Food was great but the tables were crowded together and ambiance was lacking. Will not return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Va Bene Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Va Bene Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.