We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with beautiful view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Va Bene Caffe

Va Bene Caffe
734 East Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802
218-722-1518
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 226 restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Becker, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food with beautiful view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped in on a Tuesday at 5 on the way back from Lutsen after checking out reviews on tripadvisor. We sat in the grotto with 3 kids. Food was excellent and so was the view. One kid was feeling a little car sick and the manager gave him some sprite as soon as we walked in the door. Will go again next time I'm in Duluth!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    112
    61
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moose Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome martinis, good food, and great desserts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very cute-- but small-- place! We were here on a weeknight, and we did make a reservation, but we still did not get onto the lower deck with the views. But that, and difficult parking (we had to walk a ways), were my only complaints. We had awesome service and began by trying four different martinis, all of which were outstanding. The bruschetta was fine, as were our meals, but then came the Madame Navaronne cake for dessert-- oh my! If you love a decadent dessert (as I do!), you will not be disappointed. The cheesecake and gelato were also raved about by others, but I would return for the cake alone-- don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, awesome location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Make a reservation, as this place is always busy, but for good reason. Ask for a table outside -- and, if possible, in the "Grotto" lower deck. There one has 180-degree views of Lake Superior in a quiet setting. The cuisine is fresh, healthy, and of "big-city" quality. Service is superb. You cannot do better in Duluth, and this place would compete anywhere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Off night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended by our B&B. went there for our 1st anniversary dinner. Major disappointment. Our server was also the bartender who was making milk shakes instead of getting us the wine we ordered. After seeking out someone to help us our wine was finally delivered and our order taken. Food was great but the tables were crowded together and ambiance was lacking. Will not return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasson
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We sat on the porch which was wonderful on a warm summer evening. Our waitress was very knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive. My SO had the specialty pizza, a chicken Alfredo pizza, which he very much enjoyed. I had pasta with basil pesto, roasted potatoes, and asparagus. It was fantastic! I had heard wonderful things about the gelato, so I had to sample one- it was also wonderful! We truly enjoyed our experience at Va Bene!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Va Bene Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Va Bene Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Va Bene Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.