We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with beautiful view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Va Bene Caffe

Va Bene Caffe
734 East Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802
218-722-1518
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 199 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Becker, Minnesota
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food with beautiful view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in on a Tuesday at 5 on the way back from Lutsen after checking out reviews on tripadvisor. We sat in the grotto with 3 kids. Food was excellent and so was the view. One kid was feeling a little car sick and the manager gave him some sprite as soon as we walked in the door. Will go again next time I'm in Duluth!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    74
    24
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moose Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome martinis, good food, and great desserts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very cute-- but small-- place! We were here on a weeknight, and we did make a reservation, but we still did not get onto the lower deck with the views. But that, and difficult parking (we had to walk a ways), were my only complaints. We had awesome service and began by trying four different martinis, all of which were outstanding. The bruschetta was fine, as were our meals, but then came the Madame Navaronne cake for dessert-- oh my! If you love a decadent dessert (as I do!), you will not be disappointed. The cheesecake and gelato were also raved about by others, but I would return for the cake alone-- don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, awesome location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Make a reservation, as this place is always busy, but for good reason. Ask for a table outside -- and, if possible, in the "Grotto" lower deck. There one has 180-degree views of Lake Superior in a quiet setting. The cuisine is fresh, healthy, and of "big-city" quality. Service is superb. You cannot do better in Duluth, and this place would compete anywhere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Off night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended by our B&B. went there for our 1st anniversary dinner. Major disappointment. Our server was also the bartender who was making milk shakes instead of getting us the wine we ordered. After seeking out someone to help us our wine was finally delivered and our order taken. Food was great but the tables were crowded together and ambiance was lacking. Will not return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasson
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We sat on the porch which was wonderful on a warm summer evening. Our waitress was very knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive. My SO had the specialty pizza, a chicken Alfredo pizza, which he very much enjoyed. I had pasta with basil pesto, roasted potatoes, and asparagus. It was fantastic! I had heard wonderful things about the gelato, so I had to sample one- it was also wonderful! We truly enjoyed our experience at Va Bene!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Va Bene Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Va Bene Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Va Bene Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.