We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planning next visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2211 East 3rd Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Augusta, MN
1 review
“Planning next visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed thus fall for a baby-moon. We had never stayed at a B&B and this was the most amazing experience. We are planning our next visit for this summer. I would choose this experience hands down over a hotel any day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    3
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
129
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I have never been to a bed and breakfast before so we thought we would give one a try. Upon stumbling on Firelight Inn in Duluth, we were hopeful it would be a great stay. We were definitely not disappointed. We stayed in the Isle Royale room and it was beautiful. We were greeted at the door by Jim and were welcomed in warmly. Joy gave us a tour of the house with interesting historical facts. Throughout the weekend, Joy and Jim were so gracious and were helpful with any questions we had regarding where to eat and what to do. In addition, the breakfast was divine and we enjoyed being able to eat in our bedroom. Needless to say, my husband and I will be back to stay here and will recommend this bed and breakfast to all of our friends. Joy and Jim, you have done a wonderful job with this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Firelight Inn three times now and have loved every minute of each stay! We stayed in the Brookside Suite, the Barnum suite, and most recently in Isle Royale. Each room is spacious and comfortable. Joy and Jim are welcoming from the moment they meet you at the door on arrival to departure. We feel like old friends even after just a few visits. The details are remarkable. We asked for extra towels and they arrived wrapped with a beautiful ribbon. There are too many extras to list. You need to stay here to experience it for yourself. Breakfast is brought to your room in the morning. It is a full breakfast and truly amazing! It is always the freshest fruit and most delicious homemade baked goods along with a main dish. My husband and I have not been able to finish one yet. We ususally snack on the extra muffins or sweet bread later in the day. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.
Joy and Jim have put their heart into their bed and breakfast and it does not go unnoticed!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I try to "get away" 1 x a year. Our school aged children stay with their grandparents to we try to select a location that is convenient for the grandparents--Duluth is one such location. We searched for a B&B that would serve "breakfast in your room" and we stumbled upon this one (as we prefer private dining). An enormous basket was brought to our room with a quaint knock at the door promptly at 9 AM. It was lovely, filling and delicious. Portions were generous. Taste was fabulous. The room was clean, comfortable and plenty of blankets and pillows to be comfy and warm. We appreciated the initial tour when we arrived and look forward to staying there again in the future. Having many options to choose from and having been to others, this one tops all that we have been at so far. Nice job Jim and Joy!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Brookside Suite. Decorated in deep purple. Plush carpet. Double bath-no shower cur...
See more room tips
Green Features: Each morning a news printout was provided regarding the local weather, attractions and menu of the breakfast meal. Included on this letter was a mini-survey asking if we would like room service (for clean linens), replacement towels, or no room service (re-use the towels we already had).
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

The Firelight Inn has it all! Great food, congenial hosts and a romantic vibe! We spent our 40th anniversary under the care of Joy and Jim. Everything is taken care of for you here so you can spend your time concentrating on each other. From breakfast in your room to the availability of that midnight raid on the butlers pantry, (complete with Joys famous sugar cookies!). The only thing that upsets us is that we waited 40 years to experience it! Go now so you can go again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Whether you are a veteran of many B&B stays or new to the B&B experience, the Firelight Inn will soothe and relax your mind and soul, nourish your body with fabulous breakfast delights, and leave you craving a return trip as soon as possible. The Duluth area boasts many gems of scenery and exploration as well as entertainment and restaurants, but staying at the Firelight Inn will be the highlight of your visit. We have spent a few nights with Jim and Joy and enjoyed two different suites on our anniversary visits and cannot wait to return. Beautiful and completely functional rooms with every detail attended to from the plush carpets to the handmade soap petals and oh-so-yummy cookies making you feel pampered like royalty. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

For our first trip away since our daughter was born, we wanted a relaxing, romantic vacation. The Firelight Inn proved to be the perfect choice. The Superior Suite is stunning and cozy. Joy and Jim were so welcoming. Best of all, the breakfasts delivered to the room were out of this world! Perfect escape from the hectic daily grind. I can say without a doubt, this is the best B&B we've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2211 East 3rd Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 1910 traditional-style brick mansion on a secluded dead-end street adjoining Oregon Creek in Duluth Minnesota's historic mansion district. Just minutes from Canal Park, Lake Superior and the Aerial Lift Bridge. Glass-enclosed front porch, 12 fireplaces, whirlpools for two, outdoor decks, luxurious amenities. Featured in Better Homes & Gardens Magazine, Coastal Living Magazine, Country Almanac Magazine, Minneapolis Star Tribune Newspaper and more. Our specialty is delivering your gourmet breakfast to the privacy of your suite where it can be enjoyed by the firelight. Honeymoon, anniversary and romantic special packages, soup suppers, on site relaxation massage therapy. Let the warmth of the Firelight surround you! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.