We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast
2211 East 3rd Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grand Forks, North Dakota
1 review
“A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were looking for a romantic place to spend our honeymoon in Duluth. What we experienced at the Firelight Inn B & B was above and beyond either my wife's or my own expectations! It all started with the innkeepers, Jim and Joy. They greeted us at the door upon our arrival, answered any questions we had about the city and the Tall Ships Festival, and even recommended good parking spots to catch the best glimpses of the ships entering the harbor. We stayed in the Isle Royale Suite, which was luxurious and romantic. However, Joy showed us around the house, and every bedroom in the house is artfully decorated and beautifully appointed. My wife and I loved coming back to the Firelight Inn after a long day of exploration and adventure to find complimentary treats and beverages readily available, including the most scrumptious sugar cookies we have ever had. We loved the breakfasts so much that we ended up buying a cookbook! The Canadian Bacon & Brie Quiche was especially delicious! The in-room jacuzzi was wonderful, and the peace and privacy we enjoyed was second to none. After our 3 nights here, we are confidently recommending the Firelight Inn to all of our friends and family, and are definitely looking forward to coming back sometime soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    3
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
128
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Firelight Inn is a wonderful place for a romantic escape. The rooms are huge and our suite included a jacuzzi tub, a porch overlooking the creek, and a big comfy bed. The breakfast was decadent, and we also had the champagne package with delicious cheese, fruit and crackers. It's nice to be at a B&B where you aren't obligated to socialize with the other guests - not that it isn't nice to meet other folk, but this one is set up so that the guests have complete privacy (breakfast in the bedroom!). It's worth a trip to Duluth just to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The couple who greeted us were so sweet and hospitable. We stayed in the superior suite which has the finest decor, a luxurious hot tub, and a wonderful feather covered bed. The breakfast was by far the best I have ever tasted. We were served a cinnamon apple muffin, fresh orange juice, coffee, fresh fruit and a delicious lemon spice cake. If that isnt perfect. The hostess was kind enough to provide us with a booklet on local recommendations for activities and restaurants. Great service and great relaxation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J&JFischer, Owner at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
It was such a pleasure having these guests from Germany with us. We want to add that we also serve a delicious savory breakfast entrée with or without meat along with all that was mentioned! We prepare a different breakfast each morning of your stay. We hope to greet you on your next trip to Duluth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Definitely the plushest, loveliest, quietest, most peaceful, elegant and romantic place I've ever been privileged to stay at. We've stayed in two different rooms at the Inn so far and each was luxurious and romantic. The carpets are deep enough to sleep on, breakfast is extensive and delicious and personal "extra" touches such as a filled cookie jar and cold water and soda always available in the butler's pantry, a personalized welcome note, lamps on and music playing when you arrive, the friendliness and competence of Jim and Joy, all make a stay at the Firelight Inn a highlight of the whole year. It is the only place we will stay in Duluth, and every time we leave, I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have been to the firelight inn multiple times over the years and it is wonderful every time! The inn is very quiet and romantic. The inn keepers are so friendly! the rooms are gorgeous and the beds are awesome! I would definitely recommend the firelight inn to anyone who stays in Duluth!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Firelight on 2 different occasions. Both times the service and rooms have been excellent. The breakfasts they bring up to your room are a great bonus. Definitely worth staying at if you are in the Duluth area and are looking for a B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

After deciding we needed some time away from our routines, my girlfriend and I chose Duluth (and the Firelight Inn) as our destination. I have never been to a B&B before, so I really didn't know what to expect. We were both impressed by the warmth of every single room in the house, and the attentiveness of the owners, who made our stay unforgettable. When we woke up the first day, right before our 9am breakfast was brought to us (in a really cute wicker basket, arranged very neatly), we peeked out from the skylight and saw 4 whitetail deer walking along the stream. It almost seemed like a scene from a Disney movie. I would highly recommend the Firelight Inn to anyone looking to forget, if only for a moment, the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2211 East 3rd Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 1910 traditional-style brick mansion on a secluded dead-end street adjoining Oregon Creek in Duluth Minnesota's historic mansion district. Just minutes from Canal Park, Lake Superior and the Aerial Lift Bridge. Glass-enclosed front porch, 12 fireplaces, whirlpools for two, outdoor decks, luxurious amenities. Featured in Better Homes & Gardens Magazine, Coastal Living Magazine, Country Almanac Magazine, Minneapolis Star Tribune Newspaper and more. Our specialty is delivering your gourmet breakfast to the privacy of your suite where it can be enjoyed by the firelight. Honeymoon, anniversary and romantic special packages, soup suppers, on site relaxation massage therapy. Let the warmth of the Firelight surround you! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list