We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2211 East 3rd Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Firelight Inn a few times now. There are many wonderful qualities of the inn such as room decor, attention to details, and wonderful meals. The one thing that has always been disappointing is the water pressure and the water temperature. We know this is an old house, but we have stayed at other inns just as old, and the water pressure and temperature has never been an issue. One other item that bothers us, is upon checkout, we feel uncomfortable when the innkeeper makes sure, out loud, if his spouse has collected remaining monies. This does not happen at other inns, and makes us feel like we are trying to run out. This is a beautiful inn, but will not be staying here in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are look really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J&JFischer, Owner at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We will always strive to improve and be better in every way. As each of our suites has a two-person Jacuzzi whirlpool our water pressure may be lower when everyone decides to get in that last bubble bath before checkout. Most everyone is patient as it recovers very quickly. We would have loved the opportunity to fix this issue with this returning guest and make it right had they discussed it in person with us. We are sorry this guest felt uncomfortable with our checkout process. Please read on for more than 100+ excellent reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    3
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
129
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmen, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We wanted a historic B&B that offered a friendly smile and close attractions. However, what we received was so much more. Our room was romantic and quiet. The food, coffee and desserts were amazing. The close attractions were just enough and very handy in our snow storm. What more can we say but "Thank you!" Joy and Jim are truly the best in the business! They provide an atmosphere that offers laughter in sharing life experiences or a quiet environment for anyone who just wants to take it all in and absorb the surroundings. We look forward to exchanging more stories the next time! Thank you for a wonderful weekend. Mary & Robert

Room Tip: Superior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just spent two nights at the Firelight Inn as a mini honeymoon! It was the perfect relaxing getaway! We stayed in the Northwoods room. It was clean, cozy, and comfortable. The bed was great - we both slept super well! (This can not be said of all lodges!!) Breakfast was delivered to our door at 9:30am. We were pleasantly surprised each morning with how delicious everything was. The coffee was amazing, the muffins were warm and the egg bake was cooked to perfection. They were also happy to work with my dietary restrictions. Cookies and coffee are available in a butler's pantry all day long, which was a nice treat. As 20-somethings, we were slightly wary of going to a B&B (we feared doilies and flower explosions) but we were blown away with how wonderful our experience turned out to be! We plan to return to the Firelight again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 nights at the Firelight Inn and Jim & Joy were amazing! They made our stay over the top special while we relaxed for a few days before our secret elopement. We couldn't have asked for a better place to get married. The breakfasts were awesome to wake up to and having it our room was great, we could just go back to bed on our lazy days. Jim & Joy went above and beyond to make our wedding day perfect. We can't thank you enough!!!

Michael & Britney Lallier

Room Tip: We stayed in the Brookside suite and it seemed to have it all! Access to a deck, in room fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had every bed and breakfasters dream, we were the only guests all weekend! This was our first experience with B&B's and we are hooked. Joy and Jim were great. They greeted us at the door, Joy gave us the grand tour while Jim brought our bags to our room. The house has such character and history.
Our room was great, our whirlpool tub was across from the fireplace. Very cozy. And we can't forget breakfast. It was brought right to the room, we were able to enjoy it wrapped in the plush robes provided. Since we were the only guest, we got to suggest what we would like for breakfast, SaturdayApple pancakes were on the menu and Sunday morning brought Strawberry stuffed french toast...and a marriage proposal!
We plan on coming back for years to come!

Room Tip: We stayed in the red room, but I don't htink it would matter, all of the rooms looked amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was our third stay at the Firelight Inn and it was as delightful and relaxing as our other stays. The Inn was decorated for Christmas and the decor was beautiful and reflected the historical feel of the Inn perfectly. The warmth and charm of the Inn made for a relaxing evening topped off with a warm fire to end the day before returning to our room for the night. Our stay in the Barnum suite was lovely, not to mention the plush carpet that felt so nice on our feet! As always it was nice to see Jim and Joy again. They always are so courteous and accommodating; they make any stay at the Firelight Inn a great one. We can't wait to come back again, each stay keeps getting better than the last.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

What a fairy tale weekend! Everything was wonderful. Good weather, fun time, excellent food, and great host/hostess. So much to do in Duluth. We did not get to do every thing on our list, so we will be back. Thank you for a memorable time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2211 East 3rd Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 1910 traditional-style brick mansion on a secluded dead-end street adjoining Oregon Creek in Duluth Minnesota's historic mansion district. Just minutes from Canal Park, Lake Superior and the Aerial Lift Bridge. Glass-enclosed front porch, 12 fireplaces, whirlpools for two, outdoor decks, luxurious amenities. Featured in Better Homes & Gardens Magazine, Coastal Living Magazine, Country Almanac Magazine, Minneapolis Star Tribune Newspaper and more. Our specialty is delivering your gourmet breakfast to the privacy of your suite where it can be enjoyed by the firelight. Honeymoon, anniversary and romantic special packages, soup suppers, on site relaxation massage therapy. Let the warmth of the Firelight surround you! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.