We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2211 East 3rd Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Des Moines, IA
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A nice weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This is quite possibly the best B&B I've ever stayed at (sorry Veronica). The wife picked this as a birthday present for a relaxing weekend getaway. Once we got past all the construction on I-35 (which added almost 2 hours of driving from Iowa) we found this amazing century-old mansion in the eastern district of Duluth which is full of amazing architecture.

The entryway and main parlor are impressive with their space and desing. Jim and Joy were very accomodating and a plesure to get aquainted with. We stayed in the Northwoods Room that had a view of the lake. Binoculars were provided so we could watch ships go by. The bed was very comfortable and the jacuzi tub fit two nicely. It was clean and the decorations were very nice. Also the gas fireplace was a nice touch. I use a fan at home to help sleepingand when I asked for one they were happy to provide.

Breakfast was dropped of at our door at 9 AM, in a picnic basket. Every bite was simply amazing. Fruits, rolls, coffee, different entrees each day. We kept the daiy flyer so we could try to duplicate the recipies at home. 9 AM gives enough time to get up early to get some sunrise photos of the bay and bridges/lighthouses.

Duluth and The Firelight are true gems of the Midwest.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    3
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
136
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

What a perfect place to stay for any occassion. The rooms are excellent with all the amenities that you want. The breakfast is the best you can get anywhere. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Great location, beautiful room and excellent service!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed only one night. We may go back sometime in the future to give it another chance. Postives are the house is lovely, the rooms wonderfully decorated and clean, the location of the house, great. What didn't go so well is attitude. We arrived at the same time as other guests, so to not overwhelm the owner, we waited for 10 mins or so. The first thing he said was a bit of a scold - if we would have come at the same time, he could have showed us all around at the same time. Ok, fair enough, I didn't think of that. We are rather new to the whole B&B scene. But they seemed rather short with us during showing us the house and at other times, like we may have been a bother. I also have a medical condition that requires me to bring things, so it appeared we had a lot of luggage for one night. As we were checking out, I overheard one of them comment how much stuff we had. I didn't think that was polite and I am sure it was not intended for us to hear, but we did. Everyone else raves about the couple in other reviews so we can only shrug it off as perhaps we caught them on an off-day. No-one can be warm and inviting all the time

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J&JFischer, Owner at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
As Innkeepers it can be challenging when guests arrive at the same time. We strive to do our best and make each guest feel like they are our only guest. We apologized to these guests and never scolded for their wait. Our joke about a lot of luggage was truly in jest and we are so sorry if it was taken any other way. We were very happy to accommodate this guests' request for a special diet and as they checked out they told us we exceeded their expectations. We hope they return to The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast for a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The Firelight Inn is a beautifully restored home with gracious hosts and amazing breakfasts! We expect more stays in Duluth in the future and will definitely look to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We spent our 10th anniversary here and had am amazing weekend. Joy and Jim are gracious hosts who were available when we needed them but also left us to ourselves. The house is beautifully maintained and we loved the isle royale room we were in.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We love the Firelight Inn. Jim and Joy are great innkeepers and the home is amazing. Breakfast is delicious and plentiful. We will not wait so long to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2211 East 3rd Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 1910 traditional-style brick mansion on a secluded dead-end street adjoining Oregon Creek in Duluth Minnesota's historic mansion district. Just minutes from Canal Park, Lake Superior and the Aerial Lift Bridge. Glass-enclosed front porch, 12 fireplaces, whirlpools for two, outdoor decks, luxurious amenities. Featured in Better Homes & Gardens Magazine, Coastal Living Magazine, Country Almanac Magazine, Minneapolis Star Tribune Newspaper and more. Our specialty is delivering your gourmet breakfast to the privacy of your suite where it can be enjoyed by the firelight. Honeymoon, anniversary and romantic special packages, soup suppers, on site relaxation massage therapy. Let the warmth of the Firelight surround you! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.