We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views even in the upper lots, great space” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Villas
Save
You added Mountain Villas to your Saves list
9525 W Skyline Pkwy, Duluth, MN 55810   |  
Hotel amenities
White Bear Lake, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful views even in the upper lots, great space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed in #14, next door to the office. The view was beautiful. The villa was just perfect for our family of four -- first time our kids have slept well throughout a trip. The space wasn't too big or too small. The villa had all the things we needed without having so much we felt we were in someone else's place. Skiing on Spirit Mountain was fun, as was a couple jaunts to Canal Park. Book with confidence. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great experience all around! The office staff was very helpful and responsive -- from booking to check-in to check--out. Great service! The villa itself is nice but no dishwasher like unit no. 1. We loved the view from no. 6 and prioritized ski in/ski out access in our choice. The unit is very cozy and the gas fireplace makes it. My only complaint about this unit is that the twin beds in the second bedroom should be replaced -- they're old and not functioning well anymore. Otherwise, this place was great. Would rent it again, no question.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A great experience for family. Gas fireplace and whirl pool tub made it comfy and cozy. The pillow top mattress on the master bed was also comfy. Having a kitchenette that actually had utensils made meals cheaper. The only recommendation as this is a ski/snowboard destination is to have boot dryers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseau
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family spent 3 nights at #12 the Fox Den right before Christmas. The self service after hours check in worked great - just key in your phone number and a small mailbox opens with your keys. Our villa was amazing - wonderful gas fireplace, comfy furnture, books, board games, a well appointed kitchen and room to sleep 8. We stocked up on food before we came and never moved our cars after we arrived until it was time to check out. We were there with our 2 married kids and their spouses as well as our younger son and his girlfriend. The kids just walked across the road and hit the slopes of Spirit Mountain, then walked back for a lunch break and a nap, then back over to the slopes for the afternoon. We also recieved 4 complementary 5 hour lift tickets so made our stay even more affordable. Duluth is a fairly expensive city for hotels and to get a rental like this with room for 8 people was truly affordable. Summer would also be great but our next trip will be planned for the fall to enjoy North Shore Drive. Great view of the city right from some villas. Villa was very nicely decorated and had plenty of bedding, clean sheets and extra pillows. The only thing we wished they would add is a Hot Tub, although there was a whirlpool tub in one of the 2 bathrooms.

Room Tip: We stayed at #12 Fox Den and that was on the South side of the road. Villas on the North side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I had stayed at the Villas a couple years ago, and because we had such a great time the first time we convinced several couples to come up with us and we ended up renting a total of 3 villas this time. After inspecting all three of the villas, it was an unanmous decision to use Villa # 1, (The Treehouse) as our main gathering space. We had been under the assumption that each Villa was identical, but once you get to compare a few side by side you realize that they are privately owned and some owners have really made an effort to make your stay enjoyable.

The Treehouse had a newly remodeled kitchen that included a new full size stove (handled a large frozen pizza) and best of all included a small dishwasher which was really the deciding factor. Because of this there were fewer cabinets than the other two Villas, but we kept most of our dry goods in totes so we had no problem with cabinet space. We ran the dishwasher several times a day, but it was so much nicer than washing dishes by hand or using paper plates.

The bedrooms have a full size bed and a king size bed, and the master bedroom had a Jacuzzi tub that two people can fit in. We go up in the late fall, and it was nice enough one day to actually spend some time out on the large deck where you have a great view of the harbor.

We don't ski, so cannot give you any advice on what they are like during the ski season. But for a late fall weekend getaway they are great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have stayed in the Mountain Villas since 1998, and have thoroughly enjoyed each of our stays. The cozy, cabin-like quality to the accomodations has always been a definite advantage when compared to hotel stays. The "local" atmosphere is also a welcome change. It is best to treat each stay like a "home away from home" vacation, bringing along plenty of food to cook and games to play. The location to downtown Duluth is definitely less convenient then, say, Canal Park, but you can be in Canal Park in 10-12 minutes from the time you leave the Villa! All amenities are within 5 minutes as well. Each unique villa has its own personality. Truly a relaxing getaway. We have stayed in all 4 seasons and have not been disappointed yet!(Note: last trip in November, 2011, staying again in two weeks!)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My family of four stayed in the Superior View villa. The location was perfect. We could ski in and out which allowed our family to rest and take meals in the villa throughout the day. The staff were sincere, pleasant and helpful. It felt very much like staying in a friend's well loved cottage. The ski hill was good for those in our group who where beginners and intermediate. Even our better skiers who had skied in Banff enjoyed it but said it really didn't compare.

Room Tip: All the villas are the same layout but each is decorated differently. If skiing request a villa on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Villas

Address: 9525 W Skyline Pkwy, Duluth, MN 55810
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the only lodging on top of beautiful Spirit Mountain, in a private wooded setting overlooking the city of Duluth. Each villa has a living room with fireplace and sofa sleeper, full kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, central air, satellite TV, DVD player, deck, free wireless internet, and comfortable sleeping for six. Dog friendly villas available for a small cost with prior approval. Nine villas are available with 2 person jacuzzi tubs. Picnic tables and grills on grounds. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.