We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonnie B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Downtown Duluth Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Downtown Duluth Motel to your Saves list
The Downtown Duluth Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
“Bonnie B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Came to Duluth for overnight sightseeing getaway and to see the band play. I was nervous as to what I would get but the hotel was clean and well kept. My room was very acceptable and clean. The only thing that would have been nice was a mini refrigerator. Parking was off street and I could have walked to First Street easily and comfortably. Common sense said steer clear of the dark alleys. Overall a very nice place and it will be my choice of stay over the Holiday Inn for parking with a trailer. No complaints. Thanks for a good stay.

Room Tip: It is a two level on a hillside. If you don't want steps please tell them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Bonnie B,

Thanks so much for sharing your nice comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and that you found us to be a good value. We look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    43
    22
    22
See reviews for
31
46
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't stay here if you want a no smoking room or want to get work done online. My room was a "non smoking" room that smelled like a frat party was in there the night before. Bed were good. TV channel listing not current. WiFi worked about a quarter of the time. 100 bucks and I've had better at motel sixes for half the price.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear David S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of your guest room and poor WiFi service you received. Please accept my apologies for the discomfort and frustration we caused. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here after our flight from Vegas.It was a cold night and we were freezing.The lady at the front desk told us to let her know if we need extra blankets or anything else.The room was small but very warm.They had continental breakfast which included cereals,fruits,yogurt,toast,pastries and drinks.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sally155017,

Thanks so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your compliments. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came to Duluth for an overnight visit on a steam train. This hotel was pretty close to the depot and was priced the best out of the other bigger (and presumably nicer) hotels nearby. This place is a few streets up the hill on the edge of a semi-burnt out section of downtown Duluth. Everything generally looked run down once we got to the street this place was on, and encountered a few shady folks on the way.

When waiting to check in at the hotel, the guy ahead of me had his reservation printed out but was told that he wasn't in the system (this didn't affect me, but it definitely made me worry that I might have the same fate - all the hotels in town were booked solid so no clue what this guy ended up having to do).

Our room was clean and relatively modern (I state this very generally, the place seems to have been here a long time - it must have had a remodeling in the last few decades). The shower was really small and generic, and the showerhead had this funny rig with multiple members connected with wingnuts...not a huge deal but still kinda weird to me. I went to turn on the water and the knob fell off in my hand. It didn't even have a screw securing it to the fixture. Tried to call the front desk to report it and the phone was all static. I could tell I was talking to someone, but the static was so loud there was no way I could make out what they were saying.

Stay was uneventful, but this place is definitely WAY overpriced for the generic semi-crappy motel that it is, including all the crap that was busted. $170+ would get a way nicer room in way nicer towns...they must have known the excursion was coming because all hotel prices in the area were really high.

I'll probably stay in Canal Park next time to avoid having to dodge bums on the way here and having to pay lots of money for stuff in my room that generally works in most civilized areas....but didn't at this place.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Brad L,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your comments. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet expectations, and I am truly sorry for the disappointment and discomfort you experienced here. Please accept my sincere apologies that we didn't do a better job of demonstrating our commitment to guest satisfaction. I hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your trust on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014 via mobile

My wife and her friend each booked a room here for a marathon but ended up backing out. For whatever reason her friend was able to cancel it she was not (?) so she rebooked a later date and we tried to make a weekend trip out of it. We checked in and the clerk gave us directions to our room where we ended up being the longest route (there weren't any carts that we were made aware of). We get to the room, which is freezing (hey staff I know your making peanuts but could you go turn the heat on prior to your guests arrival) finally, and it's uncleanliness unfolds. I go to wash my hands and there is a hair on the soap bar. I went on to find not only multiple random hairs (not ours) but also a coffee cup and broken hair clip (most certainly not ours) under the side of the bed. All this for $140-for one night! Yet her friend was able to simply cancel and get a refund? On top of that one of the lamps was missing a bulb and the parking lot is a mess. If it weren't for the lack of cleanliness the room itself wasn't bad. Anyway until compensated we will not recommend.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear racerx8410712,

I am truly sorry for the disappointment and discomfort you experienced here and offer my sincere apologies that we didn't do a better job of demonstrating our commitment to guest satisfaction. Timely feedback from you and other valued guests is very important to us, and it is used in discussions and training to improve our operation. We do want to learn more details about your visit and hope you will contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com at your convenience so we can discuss this further and make amends. I hope we can regain your confidence.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, ND
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

A friend and I planned a girls' weekend in Duluth and were on a budget. The BWDT was the most affordable to downtown and port proximity. We were a little apprehensive based on some of the other reviews, but our room was updated, comfortable and clean. There was plenty of hot water--something I really prize and the towels were new. The staff was helpful. I would stay here again if I visited Duluth again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear laurels10,

Thank you very much for writing and posting your nice review. Everyone here enjoys delivering a higher quality guest experience than our competitors and I'm glad you were happy with our performance. I'll share your comments with our team so they know their efforts are appreciated. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

The shower was 2 feet square, good thing I'm a thin guy. Table was uncomfortably tall, wish I was a tall man. Heater ran loudly or not at all. Cleaning was sub-par, found hair and lots of dust. TV remote wouldn't channel up. New carpet and drapes, but kept some of the old furniture, ie. chairs. Only Ice machine is on the top floor, not easy for disabled to access. Breakfast was disappointing, toaster pancakes and cereal with skim or 1% milk (what's the difference).

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2014
Dear Daniel M,

I am truly sorry for all the frustration and hassle we caused you and offer my sincere apologies that we didn't do a better job of delivering an excellent guest experience. Timely feedback from you and other valued guests is very important to us, and it is used in discussions and training to improve our operation. I hope you will reconsider and give us another chance to demonstrate our dedication to guest satisfaction on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Downtown Duluth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Motel

Address: 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Downtown Duluth Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.