We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I was expecting ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Downtown Duluth Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Downtown Duluth Motel to your Saves list
The Downtown Duluth Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
1 review
“Not what I was expecting ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Rooms were nice and clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Wifi didn't work any of the three nights we stayed there. Parking sucks. Not much room and it's on a hill. Had to park around back a couple of nights. Located in a sketchy neighborhood, so I wouldn't walk around there too late at night. Nonetheless, it's only about a 15 minute walk from the lake and all its attractions.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Jacob L,

I am truly sorry to learn of your disappointment with us during your recent stay and apologize for any discomfort you experienced here. Our goal is to provide all guests with excellent service and accommodations and we take it very seriously when find that we have fallen short. We value all guest feedback and appreciate that you included positive comments in your review. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    55
    49
    27
    24
See reviews for
37
64
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Me and my family stayed here the night of the 12th and the 13th. I booked my room through Expedia.com. I thought my rate was going to be $201.00 total. It came out to $213.00 and I got a little frustrated. The front desk staff was amazing. The two ladies working the desk took that tax off that Expedia didn't tell me about. They were so nice. The parking lot was really strange. Parking on a hill sucked. We had to drive around the corner behind the hotel to park and to be honest with you it was pretty scary as the area the hotel is in is bad. There are a lot of shady people walking around in the area. Not a good place to be walking around at night. The room was very nice. No stains, no bad smells, no nasty hair, no bed bugs. It was awesome. The bed's were nice. The tv was nice. Me and my family were very satisfied. The breakfast was actually good. It was no 5 star breakfast but it was good. Overall this stay was awesome. The front desk rocks. The housekeepers were so good my mother left them a nice tip. If anyone can get past the fact that the area is bad and the parking sucks then you will like this place. I will be staying at the Best Western again when I make my next trip to Duluth.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Lonnie J,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your detailed review about your recent stay with us. It’s guests like you that make our jobs of providing excellent service and accommodations very rewarding. We really appreciate your compliments which I will share with our team so they know their efforts are recognized and appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Musty, smelly, small room which is barely accessible because it's little hallway is a little wider than the aisle boarding aircraft and you have to carry your luggage in front of you the same way. Didn't realize that the "double" was a small hard bed ( sore and tired the next day from rock hard mattress) and I can't recall staying anywhere with double bed in recent history so my bad for not paying attention to that but to totally unsuitable for anything but newlyweds or singles. Meanwhile, sink held up by bare 2x4 with "leg" scribbled on it, sink is also the location for toilet paper which is admittedly handier than on the top of the toilet tank.

Very proud to have paid the handsome fee of $179 plus tax for a night at this gem because if you own any motel in any condition a couple days before Bluesfest, you could probably get even more if you held out til Friday.

I have no idea if internet worked or not as we left as soon as we saw the room and stayed out as late as we could to avoid spending any time there. I haven't stayed at a Best Western in quite some time, hate to think I've become a hotel snob, but clearly the positive reviews on this place must've been enjoying the view at the pool under the palm trees that staff forgot to tell me about.

Room Tip: Not the SE 2nd floor comer. Worst room I've seen in years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Dan B,

I am sorry you were unhappy with your recent stay with us and apologize for the disappointment, discomfort and inconvenience you experienced here. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. . If you would like to discuss this further and give us an opportunity to make amends, please contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com. I hope you will consider giving us a chance to regain your respect on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hotel was just OK. Pillows were tiny. We had five of them but all tiny. Very old motel! Trip advisor didn't include the tax for the second day so I wasn't happy about that. So it was 14$ more than we were quoted and I thought it was 2 much $ to start with.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear quentinlj,

Thank you for posting comments about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the pillows in your room and apologize for the discomfort you experienced. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet expectations, and for that I am truly sorry. Please consider staying with us again so we can demonstrate our dedication to delivering a great guest experience. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Traveled to Duluth for Howling Moon Music Fest and stayed here for 2 nights. This is a great motel for the price, within walking distance of so many great places. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. I stay here again in a heartbeat and recommend to anyone traveling to Duluth on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Jenna K,

Thanks for posting your wonderful comments about our hotel. We value all guest feedback, and it's especially gratifying when it is as positive as yours. We value your business and appreciate your compliments and recommendation. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

It was a mother/daughter trip to the North Shore and we decided to stop in Duluth to go to Canal Park. This hotel is located in a bad area of the city and we felt unsafe as soon as we pulled in. We were given a room on the 2nd floor and was told the 2nd floor parking is located behind the hotel in an alley. The streets near the alley were filled with unsavory men and young men loitering about. Even though I knew I would not get a refund from this hotel myself and my daughter decided not to even go to our room and returned our keys to the office telling the receptionist we didn't feel safe, especially since we would be returning after dark from Canal Park. This hotel is not for families or women.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear KansasCityMissouri,

I am very sorry you were uncomfortable here and decided not to stay with us during your recent visit to Duluth. Guest safety and comfort are top priorities for us and we take these responsibilities very seriously. We value all guest feedback and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. I hope you and your daughter were able to enjoy the rest of your time in our area.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass Lake, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Service is good, however the breakfast area is small with limited seating. The location of the hotel is convenient to downtown Duluth. Coffee and fruit is available 24 hours, however there are no snack vending machines, only beverage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Priscilla F,

Thanks for posting comments about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry you were unhappy with our breakfast area and lack of snack vending machines, and offer my apologies for any discomfort or inconvenience you experienced. I'm glad you were happy with our service and appreciate that you mentioned it in your review. I hope you will be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Downtown Duluth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Motel

Address: 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Downtown Duluth Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.